Fiction logo

Olakunle, Lanre and Aramide

Tales of a heartbroken man

By Princess Jekey-GreenPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
Picture from Google

You do know that no woman would resist me right? Look at me na, I have it all going, plus I am a very generous gentleman, tell me which woman will say no to such an offer like me, Olakunle bragged as he shook the whisky in his glass.

She looked at him with so much disgust evident in her expression. How can one man be so arrogant and fine at the same time? She detests such men, men who see women as mere objects that can be bought just because they’ve come upon an enormous amount of wealth at such a young age. If she had her way, she wouldn’t be in his presence but what choice does she have – she’s just at the right place at the wrong time. But then again, how is her boss and benefactor a friend to this man, they’re so different from each other. Sigh.

Lanre and Olakunle’s friendship was way beyond business and it was evident in how they related despite their lifestyle differences. They are both wealthy guys who have actually worked their asses off to be where they are today and as such, they deserve the luxurious life they have but why are they so different?

Aramide was not just a PA to Lanre, but she also lived with him and his young family since the passing of her elder brother who used to be her only surviving family. Her elder brother was Lanre’s school father but their relationship grew beyond that, thus he didn’t hesitate to hand over his sister to Lanre’s care before he passed and Lanre has been sure to care for her like his own. Asides from the family sentiments, Aramide was an efficient PA and Lanre made sure she lacked nothing to do her job. Sitting on the other end of the office, she was engrossed in the PC in front of her, making sure that the presentation slides were perfect and ready for tomorrow.

Lanre caught Ola stealing glances at Aramide and he shook his head taking it to be one of those times Ola has lusted after her in his usual way. He had ensured to tell Ola that Aramide was off limits for him and his many escapades and as such, Ola had also tried to respect that. In Lanre’s words, “That girl is like my younger sister guy, don’t even dare. My kids call her auntie and I’ll do anything to protect her, just like I promised her brother on his deathbed.” But this time around, there was something different in Ola’s eyes and he couldn’t place it. Ola didn’t hide his attraction to Aramide the first time he saw her in Lanre’s office – she’s a fiercely beautiful woman with the right amount of height and skin tone, perky boobs and a well-rounded butt and hips that sway evenly.

Olakunle is a man that abhors love and commitment – he swore off both after his childhood love betrayed him and got married to another man just a year after relocating for her studies to the UK, whilst Ola was still processing his papers to join her. Man was heartbroken for months and buried himself in work. He swore to never trust any woman again and ensured he played that game – man had the choicest of women at his beck and call, he spent on them lavishly, hung out with the crème de le crème of the society and his cards never declined. But what is this look in his eyes?

Lanre asked Aramide to excuse them for a minute while he talked with his friend. He moved his seat towards the end of the table to get a better look at his friend only to find his eyes red and almost teary. He tapped him on his shoulder in a bid to jerk him back to reality.

Lanre: Guy, what’s up, are you okay, what’s this look in your eyes?

Ola: {sniffs and looks at his hands} I’ve just been having a rough couple of days, it’ll pass, I guess. He said as he gulped the remaining whisky in the glass.

Lanre: oh, you know I’m here if it’s anything you want to talk about. But you should call one of those your dolls to come to liven you up this weekend na, you know as you dey do am.

Ola: That’s the thing. I’ve been wanting more lately. More than the fun of sex and just paying bills. I’ve been wanting the morning after conversations, coming home after a hard day’s work to a warm smile and hug. Omooo, this girl did me dirty guy, see what I’ve done with myself na, is this it? I look at you and your wife and see how happy you are, you already have two kids o and I was your best man.

Lanre: {took a good look at his friend and knew this wasn’t one of his normal jokes} But I’ve told you many times to let the past be. I know say wetin that girl do you cut you deep but look at it na, it’s been almost 10 years and she’s living her life o yet here you are, still hurt and angry over it. Why not look at the bright side? – That singular act made you work your ass off to be where you are today, so, let it go, guy. Just find one woman to hold you down, at least, now you know better.

Ola: Na the problem be that sef, how do I find the good woman? Right now it seems they’re all just after the good life and my cards. I don’t know what to do mehn but I sure need to do something.

Lanre: {laughs out loud to the utter amusement of his friend} I see the way you’ve been looking at Mide, shey I told you when she first came that you should stop playing around and go for her but you no gree. That girl is a good girl and she’s pretty too – I know her well because na my house she dey but guy, I can’t let you do her like you do other girls and you understand why.

Ola: I guess I messed up big time there but do you think she’ll even consider me given all that she knows right now? That girl looks like a no-nonsense person I swear.

Lanre: Ola if you’re been serious about this she will but I do not want to hear stories guy. You and I go way back and I don’t want this to ruin our friendship or business. So, if you mean this thing, I’ll talk to her, that one no be big deal. She respects me a lot and will do what I ask of her because she knows I have her best interest at heart.

Ola: Guy, if you do this for me, I’ll forever be indebted to you. Man don tire for the nightlife and different women jare, make me sef enjoy the stability of a home like you.

With that said, they shook hands and gave each other a tight hug, laughing and mumbling some inedible words as Aramide made her way back into the office, wondering what these two grown men have been up to that’s gotten them laughing this much.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Princess Jekey-Green

Hi there,

I am Jekey and you're welcome to my profile.

I am a creative storyteller with a wild imagination. I create Opinion Pieces on Love, Romance fiction, Life & other Trending issues curated from my everyday life experiences.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.