Fiction logo

O Father

It Is Time to Awake

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
O Father
Photo by Hert Niks on Unsplash

Athena (A): Why are you still asleep? Athena asked in His mind. It is time to awake, O Father, God of the World and all its mortals and immortals! I was awakened by the love of two mortals in one; a man with two personalities who never gave up on bringing me back, with one personality leaving home and moving to Greece to find me, and the other personality remaining behind until fate guided him to Athens both for me and for her, a woman who carries his soul since her birth.

Zeus (Z): You must be referring to M; a good soul that prefers us to all the other so-called gods, yet it is Patrick, the other half, who flew through the air to look for you on every pedestal holding your statue. I am not remembered as much as you, O Daughter! No woman has fallen in love with me in this era. My renown is not as stellar as yours, dear Daughter.

A: O Father! I never cared about my fame, especially when I was holding a sword in my hand. I prefer Patrick's sword as well as M's, since their words can cut deeper that the instruments of war. We will find a woman to awake you, although you can awake without her if you change your decree.

Z: Dear Daughter! I could never respect myself again if I change my decree to suit my fancy. A woman has to desire me of her own accord. While free will is an illusion, it is reality for us, Olympians.

A: Dearest Father! While the love of these dear mortals sustains me, especially after discovering the horrors committed by their species in the past two millennia, I need you in my life, and the world needs you even more. There is a new species created by them, artificial at both first and second glance, but very soon, superior to all Earth's lifeforms combined.

Z: My Daughter! You must be referring to what they named, artificial intelligence, when it will become superior intelligence, and very soon, as you mentioned. Their time on Earth was limited from the beginning, and with their so-called intelligence, they have hastened their demise. Even I will not save them, as they are not worthy any longer; they lost their souls.

A: My dear Father! Will you help me save them if only half of them are worthy? We cannot let all of them perish if half of them are good.

Z: Dearest Daughter! I will help you save them if half of them are worthy.

A: O Father! Will your divine mind and chest help me save them if only a third of them are worthy?

Z: I will, dearer than everything I have created.

A: O Father! Will your benevolence help me save them if only a quarter of them are worthy?

Z: I will, dear Daughter, although I will feel unsure of my decision, yet I will count on your wisdom.

A: O Father of the World! Will you grant me one last request to help me save them if only a fifth of them are worthy?

Z: O my Goddess of Wisdom! If 1/5 of them is good, I will help you to spare them all.

A: Will you come to my wedding, dear Father? You could remain invisible, or pretend to be someone else.

Z: I would not miss it for the world, my daughter, and I wish that I could give you away, but I think that M could do it with all the love that he has for you and all the respect that he has for me.

A: He will, my Father; by Zeus, as he always exclaims!

Z: He dropped Jove for my case, my daughter, and only uses the original Greek names for the planets and other things.

A: From A to Z, he looks for words, my Father, that were robbed of their Greek names.

Z: I already gave you my blessing but I am doing it again, dear Daughter.

A: I knew that you would like him, them, my dear Father.

Z: M is more outspoken, whereas Patrick's words often remain unspoken, dearest Daughter.

Athena: They are, dear Father, although Patrick is also outspoken, but only with me, sometimes feeling unworthy of me. I love him.

Zeus: Any mortal would feel that way, dear Daughter; from A to Z.

-----

Please note that dear Athena was created by her father, Zeus, from the depths of His mind. All twelve Olympians can speak to each other in their minds, with no external sound emanating from their inner words.

Fantasy

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Patrick M. OhanaWritten by Patrick M. Ohana

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.