Fiction logo

Number 214

Till death do us part

By Amber BristowPublished 11 months ago Updated 27 days ago 15 min read
5
Number 214
Photo by Vishwanth P on Unsplash

6th May 2022 - A thick blanket of frost covered the city; an untouched sea of glistening snow covered the sidewalk as one by one the people awoke, flicking on their lights to welcome yet another crisp Wednesday morning. I stood by my window, gazing upon the weary city as I basked in the heat of my morning brew.

I watched as the light to number 214 lit up, illuminating the room with a warm glow that stood out from the others. My stare locked as a tall muscular figure appeared within view; it was him. My grip tightened around my cup as I found myself captivated by his every move.

Just as quickly as I was whisked away into the life within number 214, I was brought back to reality by the deafening chime of my morning call. In haste I ran to answer the phone, watching eagerly as he lifted the speaker to his ear.

"Good morning sweetheart, I have to keep it short this morning as my car is almost here. I hope you have a good day my love." his voice was as soft and sweet as it had always been, but from across the avenue I saw him for who he really was, for the first time in six years.

His spine arched as his elbow perched on the counter, burdened by the weight of his daily routine. While his voice portrayed a man who was in love, his expression cried out in discontent.

"Are you out waiting now?" I questioned.

"Yes, I think this is him. Speak soon." he cooed.

As my heart sank to the depths of my stomach, I placed the phone on the table beside me as the dial tone sounded.

For a moment I watched him, wishing I could intertwine my arms in his, pulling my body in close to reignite the flame that had lost it's light. My heart yearned for him as I felt our future slip through my fingers.

As he moved through the apartment and out of my eyeline, I felt a mixture of emotions arise. A whirlpool of heart ache, deception and empathy sat heavily on my shoulders until my breath escaped me in one fowl swoop.

A pain I had never before felt crashed over me as he returned, standing alongside a half dressed blonde. His grin grew from ear to ear as they playfully fought their way towards the kitchen, where he held her waist from behind as she prepared their drinks.

Questions swirled around my brain as the gut-wrenching pain of deceit brought me to tears.

Was she the reason for this so called work trip three counties over from the place he claimed to be? Was she to blame for our failed marriage? Or was she simply the result of our dying love?

Rage bubbled from within me as I watched them scramble for their clothes, throwing one another's garments across the room as they did so in an attempt to prolong their morning.

With tears drenching my cheeks, I watched through gritted teeth as they left the complex arm in arm.

8th May 2022 - From behind the shield of my steaming latte, I waited. After a day of misery, I had decided I needed to know more.

The baristas face lit up as her seemingly familiar favourites walked through the door in a fit of laughter. She held up two large cups and raised her brow at the young blonde as she let out a child-like laugh. The barista smiled softly as she turned to make their drinks.

The way she melted into his arms was the same way I had all those years ago. Before the existence of financial burdens and dependants, we were them. The young loved-up couple, floating around in an impenetrable bubble of happiness.

Memories of our first few years washed over me as my eyes brimmed with the fond moments we once shared. As I closed my eyes I felt them fall, leaving behind the shell of a heartbroken woman.

"Thank you!" I heard the blonde bellow, her voice sending chills down my spine as she guided my husband out of the store by his hand.

I looked down at my phone as the clock grew closer to 8am. I saw them from beyond the steamed window nestling into one another's bodies as they fended off the cold. I watched as he lifted his wrist to check the time. For a moment, I felt as if the world stood still. No matter what life had thrown our way, we had always found time for each other when away, even if it was just a few minutes.

As the time ticked over, he reached for his phone and the blonde leant over him with a faint grin. He waved it in a nonchalant manner before mine began to sound.

My meetings moved to 8am. Have a good day.

I stared blankly at his message as the last shred of warmth left my heart. The life we had, was gone.

9th May 2022 - After failing to extend my stay, I gathered my belongings and stood by the window in trepidation. After a night of scrolling through photos and sobbing into a glass of Vino, I had decided I would be leaving Manhattan a single woman.

I stayed up until the early hours of morning deciding if I wanted to confront him or simply leave him on my own accord. Part of me just wanted to crumble into the earth and never be seen again, but I knew I had to be strong.

Shortly after another missed 8am call, I watched as his mistress left apartment 214. After closing the door behind him he lingered, smiling at himself like a young boy who had just had his first kiss.

Wary of my check-out time, I made my way to the front door as my phone began to chime. It was him.

"Hello my love." he whispered.

"Darren." I cooed.

In that moment, my anguish washed away from me like the crest of a wave melting into the sea. The familiarity of his voice ignited my soul as I yearned for him to be by my side.

"I just wanted to let you know I'll be coming back a few days earlier. I should be back with you by Wednesday morning."

In what felt like forever, I smiled. I ran to the window and placed my hand on the icy glass that beheld the view of apartment 214.

"I need you here with me, Wednesday can't come soon enough." I beamed.

"My love -" he paused. I felt my heart sink as I watched him place his hand to his head as if in pain.

"Darren?" I whispered.

"We need to talk about something that I can't say over the phone." he sighed.

I stared blankly out of the window as all the warmth from within me escaped once more. A sweet taste of the life we once shared had been ripped away from me within seconds, never to return again.

"I'll see you then." I announced flatly, before hanging up the phone.

9th May 2022 - At 10pm she return to apartment 214. I stood on the sidewalk alongside my suitcase as the once glistening snow pooled beneath me in the form of sludge and greyed water. The city cradled their parkers as they hurried through the bitter cold and back to their homes, ready to be greeted by their loved ones.

My phone chimed for the third time as Darren continued to check up on me, questioning about my wellbeing and whereabouts. Once more I placed my phone back into my pocket in dismissal.

As I directed my gaze up to the third floor, I felt the rain against my skin. I closed my eyes and breathed in the icy air, letting it fill my lungs and extinguish the emotions that were bubbling from within.

"Madam, do you need some assistance?" A gentle voice questioned. When I looked down I saw the doorman with his arm reached out towards the complex.

"Please," I uttered without thought, "I am looking for apartment 214."

"Right this way Ma'am. Are they expecting you?" Time froze as I searched my mind for an answer.

"Yes, Darren wants to see me." I smiled.

As he guided me towards the elevator, I searched my mind for a plan, but none could be found. In no time at all, there I stood, in front of the shiny silver plaque reading 214.

My heart raced as I tried to muster the courage to knock, but before I could lift my hand from my side, the handle began to move.

An outburst of laughter was quickly silenced as Darren stood before me like a deer in headlights, hand in hand with his mistress.

"Heather -" he stuttered.

The flustered blonde raised her hands up as if to surrender. "I am so sorry." she hurried. "I'm going to leave." Swiftly, she made her way to the elevator, leaving Darren and I stood, our eyes locked on one another's as a heavy silence filled the air.

Once the doors close from behind me, I walked past him into the apartment. My eyes scanned the room at the familiar sight. The kitchen was littered with glasses much like back at home, the throw was strewed across the living room floor and his belongings were placed around the room with no rhyme or reason. Part of me wanted to scoff at his disorderly behaviour, but another, much greater part of me, wished it would never go away.

"Heather -" he stuttered once again, "I didn't want you to find out like this. I never wanted to hurt you, I just - I needed some distance."

"Distance?" I laughed as tears streamed from my eyes. "This isn't distance Darren, this is an affair. This is another life. THIS is abandoning your wife and your children!" I screamed, rage fuelling my every word.

He moved towards me with his arms outstretched. His eyes turned to glass as his face flushed pink. "Heather." he spoke softly, walking towards me in an attempt to calm me, like he had done many times before.

"Do you even care about me? About the life we built together? Or was all of it meaningless to you?" I sobbed, pushing his arms away from me as I edged forwards.

"I will always care for you. I love you, I love our family. But I am not in love any more, Heather. Can you honestly tell me you're happy?"

"Then you speak to me! You tell me what's on your mind and we work through it. THIS is not what you do, Darren."

"Please, Heather -" he cried, stretching his arms out once more as I batted them away.

He tried again and again to reach for me but each time I pushed him, further and further away. I approached him again, to push him once more until I found myself standing on the balcony, the cold air rushing past me as the bitter frost fell from above. Any and all thought had left me as I continued to push him against the railings, until pushing was not enough. I lifted my palm and struck him across the cheek, before hitting his chest with closed fists.

He didn't fight back or say a word. We both knew there was nothing left for him to say. Nothing could mend what he had broken, and so, I kept pushing.

With one final scream I moved away from him, pacing across the patio as I cradled my head with both hands.

He wiped at his face as he exhaled, moving cautiously towards me once more. "I would never abandon you. I still want you in my life Heather, I need you. I need our family."

I wailed as pain enveloped me; I could feel my life fading away into the abyss as I questioned what the purpose of my existence now meant.

"You are my high school sweetheart. You will always be my first love. That can never be changed." he whispered, wrapping his arms around me as he placed his hand on the top of my head.

The perfect blend of cologne and the outdoors filled my lungs as I inhaled his scent. The comforting aroma I had relied on for the last six years whisked me away as I felt his body heat radiate through me. In the back of my mind I knew it was wrong, but in that moment of pain I needed him.

I wrapped my arms around him and held him tight as I closed my eyes and imagined us in another world; a place where we were at peace and in love. A place where our young Mia and Zach ran around alongside us with smiles as bright as the sun.

I felt his body rise as he took in a deep breath. "We're not happy anymore." he whispered. "I've found happiness with Abbey. Maybe in time you will be happy for me, and find it yourself with someone else."

The world stood still as I opened my eyes, ripped away from my moment of solace.

"You want me to be happy for you?" I questioned, enunciating each word slowly in an attempt to calm myself down.

"You know what I mean, Heather."

"Do I Darren? I don't think I know you or what you mean at all any more." I scoffed, distancing myself from our embrace.

"You know me Heather, don't be silly." he laughed.

"You're right. I knew all along my husband was off with some blonde bimbo faking business trips. I AM silly for being offended. Aren't I SILLY?" I roared.

"She is called Abbey." he barked.

"Oh, I am sorry, how could I wrongly address the whore who's ruined our marriage?!" I screamed as my vision turned red and rage bubbled from beneath the surface of my skin.

"She is no whore Heather! She is a part of my life now and she isn't going anywhere." he bellowed. "I want us to work this out so we can do what's best for Mia and Zach. In time I want them to meet Abbey. One day she will be a part of their life."

I tried to contain my fury but it was bursting at the seams. I could feel myself ready to explode and throw my body at him with all my might. I told myself I needed to breath but it felt impossible. The pressure grew and grew from within my chest until the pain became unbearable. I needed to let it out. I needed to vent, to scream, and to rage.

"They'd like her, I know they would." he continued.

With those words, I broke. Anger rose from every part of my body. I felt my face burn red as the air in my lungs pushed itself to the surface. The pain in my chest felt as if I had just been impaled by a sharp blade. I darted my head up towards him, his lips were parted, ready to spew out more words that would only enrage me further.

"Who do you think you are?!" I screamed, lunging towards him with my fists balled tight. "You ruin this family and then you try replace me?!"

I began to pound on his chest with my fists, pushing him back against the railings once more. I hit him, over and over again until my vision distorted. Small multi-coloured specs began to float around the sky as I continued to throw my body against his. The noises from around me turned into an inaudible blur as he tried to speak.

I distanced myself from him with one deep breath, and watched as he cowered against the rails, his eyes full of tears that he refused to release.

"In time you'll see this was for the best." he signed.

"The best?" I whispered. "The best?" I repeated. "You are nothing but a liar," I whispered, "a cheater," I hissed, "an utter waste of space!" I roared, hurling my body at his once more with my arms raised.

I watched as his eyes widened at the sight of my fists, soon to hit his chest. His hands fumbled for the rail as fear enveloped him. With one swift moment of impact, I heard the metal creak. My heart dropped as heat flushed over me. My breath escaped me as I saw him stumble back. The rails began to loosen as his feet lost balance, sending the weight of his body backwards into the cold metal bars.

I grabbed for him as his arm reached out, but our hands never met.

There was nothing I could do.

16th May 2022 - The eyes of the room bored into the back of my skull. Their grief weighed down on my shoulders, bounding me to the chair that sat beneath the judges gavel.

From behind me I heard Mia and Zach's cries. I could feel their pain through every murmur my mother tried to mask.

My heart felt empty, with no sense of fear or injustice in sight. Whatever was coming for me, was what I deserved.

"Heather Williams," the judge began. "You have been found guilty of manslaughter to the first degree. I hereby sentence you to 12 years in state prison."

As the gavel met with the bench, the voices that erupted from within the room blended into one.

"This was for the best." I whispered beneath my breath.

*The End*

familyShort StoryLove
5

About the Creator

Amber Bristow

Regularly participating in writing challenges and #writerslift on Twitter

🤍 Twitter 🤍 Website

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.