Fiction logo

Nowhere

Now arriving at our final destination

By Falcon Published 2 years ago 5 min read
Nowhere
Photo by Antoine Beauvillain on Unsplash

Have you ever woken up but you aren't sure you ever actually stopped dreaming?

My name is Victor Cane and, well, it feels like I'm having one of those days...

I open my eyes, my hand instinctively reaches out to braces on the edge of a seat as the carriages slowly wobble along the track.

I'm standing and, on a moving train? How the hell did I get here?

My feet jut from side to side as I navigate down the aisle. I begin looking for traces of where I am, landmarks, signs, train type, conductor. The first window I find is between the first and second carriage. It's pitch black outside. The first carriage is empty apart from the mechanical sounds of locomotion against the tracks outside, there must be someone further ahead. Why the hell can't I remember?

I arrive in the second carriage, this one has shadowy figures warbling about down the aisles and into seats. I try to speak but all that comes out is silence. Am I dreaming?

Every table I pass the figures fade in and out of my vision. I try to look at the people in the seats as I go by. For the briefest second it's like their faces have no detail. It almost hurts to concentrate on the people on this train, like a fading memory this all seems too familiar even without recognition of anyone's faces.

I stop dead in my tracks about halfway down the aisle, still unable to speak. Rubbing my eyes with one hand and clutching my chest with the other, I can feel my heart racing. Definitely not dreaming.

There's a woman on her own sat at a table, I can't make out her details but something about her forces me to speak. I try calling out while approaching her, "Excuse me? Excuse me ma'am, this might sound crazy but could you tell me where we are or where we're going? I uh, I don't seem to remem-", she thrusts her hand out and reaches for me, firmly grasping me by the arm. Her face is like a photo. I recognize her instantly, only I know it can't be her. It just, it can't be. Not unless I'm, I'm. No...

The beating of my heart violently pounds in my ears, fear propels me forwards an a shambling mess I wrench the door open and collapse to the floor. I come to to a point between the second and third carriage, attempting to catch my breath. Pulse is rapid, starting to hyperventilate -I can barely swallow. My mouth is dry and once again I find it impossible to speak. The cold floor helps me focus and feels as real as I am. I begin to look at tangible facts, inconsistencies or signs of simulation.

Looking down at what I'm wearing, it looks like the same sort of clothing I'd wear to work; a woolen overcoat, a light grey suit, with a pressed white shirt, blue tie and my silver watch. I look at the time. Ten minutes to midnight. Did I just finish my case? Did we find her? Why the hell can't I remember. No sign of a simulation so far. Everything looks the same as when I left for the agency this morning.

Frantically frustrated I begin searching my pockets. There must be some trace of how the hell I got here! Chewing gum, car keys, work notebook and a picture my daughter drew hanging out of my overly packed wallet. I open the picture, it's not a detail I've ever shared with programmers. Could a hacker have replicated it? Folding it back up I stand to my feet.

Boom! The interlocks loosen briefly before tightening as I fly back into the door, the carriage rock backwards with a massive burst of speed. My wallet hits the ground sliding to the feet of a massive individual and for the first time I can look at somebody without having to concentrate.

This guy is huge. I'm tall but he must be at least seven feet. His uniform dominates his already great stature. A large hat with a rim stops any light from showing his face. His navy blue suit bulging at the seems from his incredible physique.

A deep voice booms from this hulking figure, "Sir, it is not safe for you to be out of your seat. The train is about to accelerate again", He says

"What are we accelerating from... Is everything okay?!" I ask apprehensively. Everything he said was friendly but my instincts are going haywire, something about this guy fills me with dread.

About to answer, his attention flickers from me for a moment. His head turns to the window by the exit door next to him. A bright light and an echo of a scream dance around the chamber between carriages. He quickly pulls the blind down.

"What was that? Hey! I asked you a question..." He ignores me for a moment with his hand still on the blind. "Hey! WHERE AM I AND WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON HERE?!"

The hulking figure turns back to me and briefly glances down at his feet. He picks up my wallet and walks towards me. The only visible facial feature I can see is the glare of his eyes. I am terrified. Not sure I can even move.

He puts my wallet in my overcoat breast pocket and straightens my suit up. "Ticket please sir" he asks.

A hand clasps my shoulder as the door opens behind me. "You can't have him, it's not his time! I need him back so I can get off this stupid train!" Her voice cuts into me as my memory begins to snaps back. Andrea Lane. She was the murder case I was trying to solve. Her murderer, I found him but he, but that means I'm- I'm. I turn to her as she pulls me out of the chamber. She shouts for me to run to the exit. The conductor pushes her to one side striding towards me.

"TICKETS PLEASE!" The thunderous voice exclaimed

He's fast. In a few seconds he'll catch me. Almost to the next door and the exit he pounces grabbing the back of my neck. He turns me and I look back to Andrea mouthing the words I'm sorry. He places me down in the seat by the door.

"Please take a seat sir, I told you it's too dangerous to be walking as we accelerate" When he says this I get a flash of somewhere else. I'm on the floor, the glare of my wristwatch blinding me. It's two minutes to midnight. Then just as quick, I'm back on the train. Andrea calls out to the conductor, and that's all the time I need to distract him. I go through the doors and pull the emergency release.

My visions goes dark for a moment. I cough and sputter blood. Adrenaline is wearing off. Pretty sure I've been stabbed. I just need to, call for help! I try to grab my phone. There's weakness in my fingertips. I've lost a lot of blood. Feebly I dial the emergency services. I just hope they arrive in time, I know who the killer is!

Short Story

About the Creator

Falcon

Family is everything to me, I do this in the hope I can one day to support them. You'll find short stories and tantalizing prologues. Sickly dark humour and honest realism. A wannabe writer testing the waters.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Falcon Written by Falcon

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.