Fiction logo

Non Ennui

Nabbed With the Goods

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 12 months ago 2 min read
1
Non Ennui
Photo by Kyle Howeth on Unsplash

Below is actually a micro fiction story. I hope you enjoy it.

***********************************

I spotted him just as he saw me. His badge was on prominent display. His weapon, thankfully, still holstered. "Stop or I'll shoot!" he yelled from across the street. My heart jumped into my throat. The evidence was right there in my hand. Quickly, I darted around the corner into the alleyway. If I was caught here my life would be over.

I was guilty of no real offense. Why wouldn't they just stop hounding me!? I only wanted freedom of choice. Is that such a horrible thing? Still, if I were caught here, right at the scene of the crime, my whole world would come crashing down. Every good thing I had accomplished would have been for naught.

On the street outside the rank, filth-strewn alley where I hid horns were blaring. Tires squealed as someone jammed on the brakes. People were yelling. Peeking around the corner I saw my pursuer. He was just stepping onto the sidewalk. My breath caught in my throat. What was I going to do? I can't be caught! My partner would never forgive me for my horrendous deed. Darting down the alleyway I ducked behind a dumpster. Crouching there, head down, arms wrapped protectively around my knees, I sobbed in fear. A cat jumped out of the dumpster, startling me so badly I nearly bashed my head on the graffiti covered wall.

I could hear him. He was coming down the alley, breath coming in gasping puffs. As his shuffling steps came nearer, I held my breath. Suddenly, he was there. Hulking over me. Leering. "I got you now!," he said. His badge dangled prominently on a lanyard. He unholstered his weapon.

Looking at my clenched hands I realized I was still holding the evidence that would convict me. Right there. How stupid could I be? Just as I raised the 'To Go Box' - the one endorsed with my competitions logo: "Henri's Non Ennui: Fine French Cuisine" - my pursuer took his shot.

My eyes saw stars in the aftermath of the bright camera flash. I could picture it now. The headlines of the Food & Entertainment Section of tomorrow's paper. "Owner of New French Restaurant Caught With Handful of Ennui." Pepe would never forgive me. I hate paparazzi.

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran12 months ago

    Ahhh, the weapon being a camera. That was brilliant!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.