Fiction logo

No lock

My residence

By Antoinette L BreyPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
No lock
Photo by Mark Boss on Unsplash

When I first saw the door I thought it was surrounded by snakes. It was the only rental I could afford so I did not turn away. When I got closer I saw that it was just thin trees. I still had to push myself to walk through the door, There was no lock on the door. The owner had given me a remote I had an on and off button like a tv remote. Except it was more like a phone in that I had to sign into it with a password.

Now four months later the house was mine and the trees looked like thin trees, and I felt safe. I was even thinking of buying the house. I laughed remembering my first impression.

My neighbors tended to avoid my residence, but nobody would tell me why. It was something that could not be discussed, it was so horrible. I assumed it was some village myth started by one of the locals. The locals seemed pretty superstitious. They all avoided graveyards at night, they did not want to be besieged by ghosts. One of my neighbors had asked me if my house had spirits. but I ignored all this foolishness, even though none of my local friends would enter my residence.

My sister came and visited, she loved it. Since I was thinking of buying, I was allowed to paint and wallpaper to my heart's delight. My sister (Chrissie) took photos of my interior decorating and posted them on Facebook. She flaunted my find. We listened to music, drank wine, and enjoyed her visit. But even she noticed the oddness of the neighbors, Although the local merchants were friendly when she made tourist purchases. Nobody seemed to be able to look at her in her eyes. It was as if they had a secret, that they were afraid to tell. Something that they had done in the past that they felt guilty about. Chrissie looked up my address, on the internet. The house had been vacant for eight years, but no one had been murdered, it was not a Manson house. She then researched my small New Hampshire town for local stories and myths. I was shocked, I was sure there must have been some myth about the house. It had a garden where I usually had my breakfast. I was sitting there when my sister told me the results of her research. Her conclusion was that I should buy the house. She even offered to give me several thousand dollars toward the purchase. I loved the house, I smiled and gave her a hug, "Hopefully the neighbors will relax once they see I am here to stay"

" They are a little squeamish, yes maybe it is because you are an out-of-towner. Have you described this town in your book? The scared town, at first I thought there must be a reason. It still would be an interesting background. It is a shame that nobody is opening up to you. They are polite, but it is hard to know how to get them to trust you. Maybe after you buy the house, yes maybe then."

We both sat in silence, the town was very confusing. But not odd enough for me to move out of my house

The landlord came by the next day, while my sister was packing. After the closing, my sister would be leaving. The landlord seemed to have already known I would buy, She brought in a lawyer and did the transaction that same day. It was a little strange, I got the feeling that she would have given the house to me for an even lower price. She put the "Under Contract" sign up and left. My sister and I danced and sang. "That had been a steal"

The next morning there was a sold sign in front of the house. I waited for the neighbors to welcome me to the neighborhood, but people seemed less welcoming than before One woman when she saw the sign started weeping. I wanted to cry, how was I going to win my neighbors over? I grabbed my key, phone, and wallet and walked to the village,

The waitress was cool and polite, and at least could hold my gaze. I began to feel some peace as I ate my egg breakfast, I walked home, and when I approached my door I pressed the open button. The door did not open. In fact, a voice came from the key, It said "Reset your password" I jumped startled by the voice. I was not sure what to do. All of a sudden I heard a hiss. I looked up, the trees were moving and hissing. They had become snakes and were blocking the door. I found myself shaking. The street was empty, there was no one to ask for help. One snake turned his head towards me. I felt his eyes following me. I turned around and I ran. The village had a hotel where I went and hid for the rest of the day and that night, The next morning I timidly walked up towards my house, the snakes were gone and the trees were back to normal. I pressed the open button and the door opened, the only problem was I was afraid to enter. I stood there and cried.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    This was a really good read. I enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing!!! 🙂

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Very creative 👌

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.