Fiction logo

Nirvana

A micro-fiction

By Natasha CollazoPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
10
Nirvana
Photo by Anastasiia Krutota on Unsplash

Crunch crack. Crunch crack, pause.

You can hear a pin drop at the tip-top of the Appalachians.

The silence is tranquil, the stillness is immaculate. An imagery I can’t articulate into words.

The sounds of small sticks falling, but in the most soothing way.

Nothing but snow on top of snow.

The weather is at a calm, crisp 30 degrees. As I continue to trek, I begin to sweat, tying my sweater around my waist and now I’m in a tank top.

Crunch crack, crunch crack.

CRUNCH.

Crack, pause.

Turning around, hearing additional crackles behind me.

I see nothing in view.

This is by far the most surreal place I’ve ever been. Savoring every moment.

I shut my eyes, and sniffed long.

“CRACK”

I jolted, turning my back again, this time it was closer.

Still seeing nothing, I bend down to adjust my boot. As I stood up, there it was.

The crackle. In front of me. Standing face to face.

Its shoulders as broad as a man, standing around 10-feet tall and a face like a gorilla.

Frightened, I froze.

Click. Backing up slowly from the creature.

Click. My other foot followed even slower.

Clack.

“CLICK CLACK CRACK”

Everything goes black. A dull ringing in my ears.

Laid out, I see the grey clouds.

Nodding in and out of consciousness, I lift my neck, I couldn’t feel my body.

The most peaceful place, lay me to rest, when I saw the monster feasting on the bones of my chest.

Microfiction
10

About the Creator

Natasha Collazo

**Studying Modern Journalism @ NYU **

Project: The diary of an emo Latina

I get inspired at the mid of night

Stock market by day, howler by night

✍🏽

Inquiries: [email protected]

Instagram: @sunnycollazo

Do all things in love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Penny Fuller3 months ago

    I like the suspense of this, how fun! I like how you paced it with the cracks spaced through the story. I could really hear the crunching of feet through snow.

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    I thought this was going to be an atmospheric piece about the noises of winter. Nope. You're being stalked. That threw me completely!

  • Hahahahahahahahahaha I freaking grinned at the ending! So dark and delicious! I loved it sooooo much! It was like a sweet treat!

  • The sound effect was potent! It added so much to the suspense!

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    I was like, wow she climbed the mountain. But oh microfiction. Now she dead instead. Meat for the monsters, oh my. Love it.

  • Wow! That was a jolt at the end!… not as much as it was for ‘you’! Sadly, I wasn’t able to comment on Dreamland … I was beautifully optimistic… I loved it! Especially the line near the end about you’re the writer but not author of your life… or similar. So true of all of us!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    You shocked me out of the still and calm and into terror...well done.

  • Sasquatch with a sack (tank top) lunch? Nicely done, Natasha.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.