Fiction logo

Nightmare train

A runaway mystery.

By Craig MaxwellPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

I Awoke with a start I looked around my vision was blurry as I tried to take in my surroundings. I was in pain I put the back of my hand to my mouth "was that blood?" Finally my vision was clearing up I was shocked "am I on a train? I asked disbelief.

The train was rocking as it was barreling down the track at full speed. I was confused I checked my pocket in my jacket I had no tickets. So what was I doing on a train with no tickets? I was so confused "how did I get here?" I asked. No one answered then I looked down at the ground and I stood up and yelled in horror.

There lying on the floor was a body I turned it over it was a man with a bullet wound in his head. I then looked down at my seat in the next seat over there was a gun. I picked it up I could tell it recently had been fired. I noticed there was a holster on my waist.

I put the gun in its holster it fit it like a glove my blood ran cold. The realization hit me like a slap in the face. "Did I kill this man?" I asked myself as my hands shook. Then I felt like I was going to vomit there were three more bodies on the floor between the seats.

I let out a curse "what in blazes happened here?" I said in disbelief. I could not understand "why was the train moving so fast? "hello" I cried out no one answered. Out of the corner of my eye I saw movement I dove behind one of the seats as shots were fired. The sound of bullets rang over my head I pulled the gun out of the holster.

I felt my hands shake I did not know how to fire a gun, but how did I come in possession of one? More shots rang out I could here footsteps gunning towards me. I stood up and opened fire a man running down the isle fell to the floor dead. I stared at the corpse then at my hand holding the gun. Apparently I did know how to fire a gun another man popped up behind the seats.

I instinctively fired the gun the gunman cried out as he fell to the ground dead. I was not sure what was going on but a couldn't very well stay in this spot. So I ran down the hallway towards the locomotive hoping it would shed some light of what was going on.

I entered into another passenger car it seemed to be empty so I ran towards the next car. "Hold it right there" a voice rang out behind me I stopped in my tracks. "Drop your gun" the voice demanded I dropped my gun "hands in the air, I did. Turn around I turned to face the voice behind me it was a man with a stern look on his face.

Before I could think I dropped to the floor and pulled out another gun and fired. The man dropped dead "how did I do that?" I asked out loud dumbfounded. I got to my feet and picked up the gun I dropped to the floor.

What was happening was this a sick dream what kind of nightmare was this? I continued to run "how many cars are they?" I asked. The next car made my blood run cold "were those explosives?" . Fear gripped me like a vise it was a nuclear bomb. Then it clicked I opened my vest I was wearing there was a radio, I turned it on.

"Hello" I called a voice on the other end called back "Blake where in blazes have you been? Time is running out the train is just a few miles if it reaches the center of town the bomb will explode. My memory returned I am special Agent Blake Anderson. I and ten other agents were sent on this task to stop terrorist from detonating a nuclear device. All of the other agents were dead save me.

I managed to get on this train killing terrorist along the way. When I made it on the train I got into a scuffle with one of them. I must have shot him the same time he hit me. "Blake what is the hold up you've got to stop the train hurry." The urgent voice broke me out of my trance I started to tun to what I hoped was the locomotive.

I felt pain as a shot rang out a bullet grazed my shoulder. I gritted my teeth as I turned to face the shooter. I managed to shoot him between the eyes before his next shot. "Blake!" the operator yelled "the train is almost there you have two minutes." I let out a curse as I ran to the door leading to the loco motive.

There was another terrorist waiting for me he was the only obstacle between me and the train operater. He fired and somehow missed I fired and to my horror my gun was empty. I had no time to put another clip in so I ran and tackled the guard.

"Hurry blake less than a minute!" we fought, the guard hit me hard with the butt of his gun. My head spun as I saw stars yet somehow I pulled out a knife and stabbed him. The operater pulled out a gun, I was too fast for him and I slit his throat. "BLAKE!" that voice rang in my ears as I pulled the operator out of the chair.

I looked out the window I felt a chill go down my spine. The train was almost at the tunnel and it would detonate. My head was swimming I felt as though I was going to black out. I managed to get into the seat I hit the breaks. The breaks screamed as the train started to slow I could barely keep my eyes open.

"I don't think I am going to stop the train in time" I announced. I could feel myself drifting off consciousness leaving me.

BLAAAAAKE!!!!" then darkness....

"I awoke with a start I was still in the chair I was stunned as I looked at the tunnel just a few feet away. A couple more feet and the nuclear bomb would have detonated.

"Blake you darn fool you are a hero" it was my long time partner Jim. "I don't know how you pulled this off, but you did. "Hey we need an ambulance." I tried to get up "oh no you don't you took a bad shot to the head you need to be evaluated. I did not argue as the ambulance grew put me on the gurney.

As I was wheeled out the car with the bomb was a beehive of activity as it was being deactivated. The people who were working on the bomb paused and applauded. When the wheeled me out of the train there were people everywhere applauding.

I stayed in the hospital for a few days before they finally released me. I wept as they wheeled me out and I saw my wife and two girls. My wife kissed me and my girls hugged me. "There you go children now there is a true hero." I smiled as we left the hospital and faced the applauding crowd and an amazing future.

END.

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Craig Maxwell

I am an aspiring author I am currently working on getting my first novel published. I love to write science fiction, fantasy, horror and dabble in regular fiction.and a little bit of poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.