Fiction logo

The day the Dragons left

Prologue

By Craig MaxwellPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

"There weren't always dragons in the valley, once this valley was a dark and dreadful place. I have a tale to tell my name is Aaron I once was king of the dragon people helpers of the dragons. The sun was a dark crimson red and the skies had dark burning clouds. The smell in the air was of sulphur and ash. This valley was a place of great sorrow and suffering."

"Many Eons ago the dragons ruled the valley and we all lived in peace. Then one fateful day evil devil bat creatures invaded our peaceful valley. The dragons fought valiantly to save us and the valley we call home."

"There were too many of them and the dragons left us the dragon people behind. When they left the valley Aerrax the King of the dragons vowed he would return and bring peace to the valley.

"This brought a new age of pain and suffering. The bat people enslaved us, tortured us and murdered us. Our green vibrant valley slowly changed over the centuries. The magical life giving magic that the dragons brought to our land slowly faded."

"The forrest filled with all manner of flora and fauna died. The leaves died and fell of the trees. Then eventually the trees burned and disappeared. Our beautiful blue sky eventually turned with black and crimson clouds. Earthquakes shattered the valley as volcanoes rose from the earth."

"Our crystal clear lakes and rivers turned into lakes and rivers of ash and mud. Choking out the fish and other water mammals until they became extinct. Us dragon people have held onto the fact that someday that Aerrax would return. Every morning when I awoke to do the bat peoples bidding I would look at the sky."

"Every morning I had hope that someday Aerrax would fulfill his promise. Every evening when my toils were done I would look at the night sky. I would perk my ears up hoping to hear their flapping wings of dragons. Alas I would go to bed on my floor mat and fall asleep crying why Aerrax why did you betray us?"

"Days turned to weeks, weeks into months, months into years. "Years turned into decades, decades into centuries. centuries into Millenniums, millenniums into Eons. My people all but gave up on them believing they had betrayed us. After all that time I stopped looking at the morning sky. I stopped looking up at the dark night sky listening."

"I did what I could to do the bat peoples bidding. I did what I could to help my people. I gave up this silly notion that Aerrax was going to return. What a foolish thought, why on earth would the dragons return? Why would the rescue us dragon people who were the dragons helpers?"

"They probably landed in the next valley and found other people to be there helpers. Aerrax was probably laughing at what fools were were to believing in such nonsense. He and his dragon brethren were probably flying around having the fun that dragons do. They were living a joyous life filled with joy and happiness."

"It had been another long arduous day and I lay on my bed mat. I no longer had tears in my ears. It was, what it was it was reality, it was a horrible reality, but a reality it was. I drifted off to sleep I smiled for sleep was my only escape from this horrible reality"

"I awoke with a start, I could here the bat people screaming in screeching. I stood up and started to run out of the cave were I slept. I could here the sound of wings flapping. Could it be? I asked it could not be. I raced to the mouth of the cave."

I looked and could not believe it there he was Aerrax he roared as fire breath left his mouth. A bunch of bat people screamed as they were destroyed by his flame. I jumped for joy and cheered the dragons on as they came to liberate us."

"Like I said I have a tale to tell this is the story of pain and sorrow. This is a story of love and redemption. This is a story of stuggles and overcoming adversity. Come along with me on this journey of how this story began.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Craig Maxwell

I am an aspiring author I am currently working on getting my first novel published. I love to write science fiction, fantasy, horror and dabble in regular fiction.and a little bit of poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.