Fiction logo

Night Train

Train to Nowhere

By MaryBeth CalahorranoPublished 2 years ago 15 min read
1

I knew I was alive, though the feeling in my head made me feel like dying. My hand instinctively moved to the throbbing portion of my head. I could feel some wetness there. Blood was deep red on my fingers when I brought them into the light.

"Oh wonderful," I sighed resting my head back onto the pillow. Then the notion that I was not in the hospital hit me like a ton of bricks. By what I could tell, I was in a room. The beautiful suite was decked out in the finest furnishings. The beauty of the suite I was in, made my head spin. Closing my eyes to steady the motion in my head, I began to realize I was moving. Not just the swirling in my head, but the whole of me was moving. Sitting up too quickly, I almost fell out of the bed I was laying in. Steadying myself as I got to my feet. Moving the drapes from the window. I peered out into inky, blackness of the night. Lights moved quickly past the window. "How the hell did I end up on a train?" What the hell is going on here?"

"You are my guest." An unfamiliar voice came from behind me. Spinning around too quickly, I almost ended up on the floor again. My new acquaintance caught me before I face planted onto the Persian rug. Depositing me into a chair, I grabbed the sides of my head to help the spinning stop. I felt a gentle hand press something cold onto the throbbing place on my head. The cold felt good. He brought a chair around to sit in front of me. His knees were so close to mine that I jumped and sat back farther in the chair. "Don't be scared. I don't bite."

"Are you sure about that?" My sarcasm was a little off putting. Though he smiled. "What happened to me? Why am I here?"

"Someone jumped you from behind. I have a physician on board. That's why I picked you up and brought you on the train with me." His accent was deep. Foreign was definite. I couldn't quite make out the accent. Then again, I was suffering from a slight concussion.

"This is your train?"

"Yes. My company owns this train. We use it for our businessmen to travel. I have my own personal section of the train."

"And who are you?"

"How rude of me, I am Mr. Graves."

"Well, Mr. Graves, thank you for helping me."

"It was my pleasure, Miss?"

"Devanna Lange." I shook his outstretched hand. His hand was so warm in my cold hand. It was still a bit icy since I was still holding the icy pack on my head. I reached up again and felt that the bleeding had stopped.

"What beautiful name. You may call me Sam."

"Ok, Sam." I was hesitant with him. He was a stranger of course. Somehow, I felt a certain kind of comfort in him. "Where are we headed?"

"I have business in New York City. We had just made a stop when I saw you lying on the ground."

"Oh damn!" I scared him when I jumped up out of my chair. Searching for my purse, I found it lying next to the bed I had previously been in. Just as I suspected, empty. I tossed the purse back onto the floor also screaming another explicative. Mr. Graves was amused by my antics. "Sorry, someone stole my wallet."

"I understand. Being robbed and knock unconscious is not the best way to meet someone." Sam was smiling and amused by the current situation. I couldn't help but break down into a fit of giggles myself. My Florida vacation had gone so good up until the point of being mugged. At least I wasn't alone anymore. He was attractive as well. Large, muscular build. Light brown hair with flecks of red through it. A kind face and sapphire blue eyes. He wore an expertly tailored suit. I could tell it was expensive. Here I was jeans, tee shirt, boots, and an utter wreck of a human being. Then again, he did meet me on one of the worst days of my life. Rising from his chair, Sam grabbed the bag of ice I had thrown on the chair. He placed it in the sink that was in the adjoining bathroom. I watched him in the mirror as he rinsed his hand. He was the most handsome man I had ever met. Sam had to duck under the door from to get out of the bathroom. His 6ft 5in frame was impressive next to my 5ft 9in. Sam pulled me close to him. Then he turned me to inspect the back of my head. "The wound has stopped bleeding. I don't think you'll need stitches. I'll leave you to freshen up."

"Thank you." I replied turning as he walked toward the door.

"I'll send the doctor in to see you soon. If you would like to shower, the bathroom is right through there. It's private so no one will bother you." He motioned to the other room. His body moved so fluently. Sam gave me a smile and promptly left the room. I thought to myself 'Now that is what a gentleman looks like'.

Doctor Phillips was a sweet old man. I had already showered and redressed before he came calling. Sam was right, no stitches needed. I was relieved almost as much as Dr. Phillips was. An older gentleman with a strong English accent.

"Keep the wound clean over the next couple of days. You will heal nicely."

"Thank you, Dr. Phillips."

"Don't hesitate to call on me if the headaches get bad. I have something for that. I am right down the hall. 3rd door on the right." The doctor bade me goodnight as he left. Now I was alone again. Someone had brought in my luggage when they had deposited my unconscious body here. At least I had my clothes. A train ride from Orlando, Florida was going to take at least a day. The good doctor had said that they were making a couple more stops on the way. I pulled up a seat next to the window. Watching the nighttime landscape rush past me. My thoughts began to swim about going back home. There was nothing for me there anymore. My soon to be ex-husband and I had no kids. He was already moving on with another woman. So why stay? Where would I go? I didn't want to think about these things right now. All I wanted to do was sit and be still. Even if it was for the duration of the train ride.

I must have dozed off when I heard a sudden knocking on my door. Shaking off the sleep, I arose to go open the door. A steward stood there with a note. Handing it to me without a word, the steward turned and walked back down the hallway. I opened the note before even shutting the door.

"I would like the pleasure of your company in the dining car tonight. (To the left of your room). Sam."

The script was in beautiful blue ink. A formal invitation to dine. I closed the door. Searching through my luggage, I tried to find the new dress I had just bought. It was not by all means fancy but, it was a nice dress. I took out a pair of my nicest flats to accompany the dress. I did my hair and makeup as nice as I could then made my way to the dining car. The train was very elegantly decorated. It reminded me of the old trains from past. Beautiful chandlers, embroidered drapes that were red and black. I felt as if I had stepped back in time. Entering the dining car, was a vast room of tables with white linens and candles. Some people were in there. Though not many. Most of the men were dressed in business attire. While the woman wore simple but beautiful dress clothes. Nothing to extravagant. At least I wouldn't be sticking out like a sore thumb. Sam was situated in the far corner of the car. As I neared the table, he stood to pull out my chair. Something I never had happen in my whole life. He was truly a gentleman. He poured some wine for us to start our evening.

"Excuse my abruptness but, you look beautiful." I was shocked by his abruptness. Shocked because I never had anyone compliment me like that before. I could tell by his sly smile that I was blushing all shades of red. He was elegantly tailored in a brown suit of with a velvet jacket. Sam could bring any woman to their knees. Quickly, I sipped my wine as to cover a smile of my own. Our conversation over diner wasn't all that extraordinary. The usual pleasantries like where are you from, how old are you and so on and so forth. Sam was in the transportation business, hence the train we were on. He was 41, single, and originally from Scotland. I always thought of a trip to Scotland.

"I have only seen pictures of Scotland. It looks so beautiful there."

"It is," He replied as he sipped his wine. "You should see it sometime."

"My next trip maybe."

"May I ask, what were you doing in Florida?" He was bold and to the point. It wasn't a subject that I wanted to talk about at this time. Looking into his blue eyes, I couldn't help myself but to tell him.

"I have family there. I was visiting for a couple of days while my ex-husband moved out of our apartment."

"I am so sorry. Forgive me for asking."

"No, it's alright." I reassured him. "I wish it was a good vacation. It was just to get away while he leaves our residence. I couldn't stay and just watch him leave."

"You still love him?" Sam's questioned resonated in me. I found my answer was a simple one.

"No. We grew apart. He is moving in with his girlfriend. We were together for a long time. He's still my friend. Just not my husband." I could see the pity Sam had for me. I didn't want to be pitied. I never liked that feeling. I think he realized I was uncomfortable with this line of conversation.

"A man who gives you up is a fool. You're stunning." Again, he knew just what to say. We continued on talking about this and that. Dessert came, which was the most divine piece of cheesecake I had ever tasted. The whole dinner I couldn't help but to think why this man was unattached. I even asked him at one point. All he could say is that his work kept him too busy for much of anything else. We were just finishing up when a steward came to our table.

"Sir we are having a problem up in the front." The steward seemed to be frantic. As Sam excused himself, he bent and raised my hand so he could kiss the back of it. His lips touching my hand, sent electricity through my whole body. I watched as he walked from the car. Another steward came and asked if I would like another drink. Shaking my head as I rose to depart from the car.

"How much do I owe you?"

"Nothing ma'am. It's all on Mr. Grave's tab. Enjoy your evening." I was very hospitable and gave the steward a tip. Walking back to my room, I could still feel the tingle of his lips on my hand. Arriving at my state room. Still glowing from my experience. As I changed for bed, my mind drifted to an odd question. How did I end up here? The train felt so old. Yet there are new furnishings everywhere. My mind began to swim with suspicion. I don't even remember what I was doing prior to waking up on the train. I took out my purse. Searching through it I found nothing out of the ordinary. I also didn't find anything that would indicate where I had been. I got my luggage out again. No souvenirs, nothing out of the ordinary. That was odd to me. I had been with my family in Florida for a week. I did remember going places with them. Yet no artifacts that would suggest that I had even been to Florida. It was all so odd. I decided to go for a walk around the train. Redressing, the thoughts that something wasn't right was a constant on my mind. I walked toward the front of the train. The rooms were in the back near the dining car. There was a smoking lounge, like the old-time trains use to have. Though this one had a few modern touches. There was a flat screen television that hung at the front of the lounge. I could see some businessman working on laptops. A couple were watching the television. I thought to myself 'Nothing unusual here'. Going into the next car was your typical sitting area. There were benches of chairs. The train did not have a lot of people on board. Not everyone was finely dressed. Some looked as if they just walked off the street. I looked through the next door into the other car. Same sitting area with bench seats. Not much more to see. I headed back to my state room. As I turned to walk back, a steward approached me.

"Are you alright, ma'am?"

"Yes, just taking a stroll around the train."

"If you need anything else ma'am just let us know." I smiled at the steward as I passed him to head back to my state room. I guess it was just my imagination.

Back in my stateroom, a strange feeling came over me. I began to think about the last thing that happened to me. I don't remember going to the train station. The last thing I remembered; I was headed to the airport to return home. I can remember the taxi ride, but not being in the airport.

"So how did I end up at a train station?" I was so confused. My head throbbed again. Then it hit me. My head. I remember something hitting the taxi and I hit my head. Flashes of the accident began to appear. I was flipping in the taxi. Getting tossed around like a rag doll. I sat down on the bed as the flood of memories began to flow. I was rolling in the taxi. Arms breaking. Legs snapping. Something flew up from the back and hit me in the head. I reached up to the spot on my head again. Blood oozed from the wound. I had to get off this train. Leaping up from the bed, I grabbed for the door when it opened on me. Mr. Graves was standing in the door.

"Sorry Miss, but you can't leave."

"Sam, I need to get off this train."

"I'm sorry," He slowly came into the room shutting the door behind him. "I cannot let you off this train."

"What happened to me, Sam?"

"You were in an accident, Miss."

"I am well aware of that, Mr. Graves. What happened?" Sam breathed a deep sigh and sat in the chair in front of the door. I was not leaving that room. He seemed like a man with the world on his shoulders.

"You were in a very bad car accident. A car had jumped the median. It careened into your taxi. No one survived." At that moment I realized why he said no one survived. I sat down with a thump on the other chair. I couldn't believe this. Then some questions popped into my mind.

"Who are you really and where are we going?"

"You know who I am." Sam replied in a matter-of-fact way. Deep down inside, I did know. I wanted him to say it. I stared back at him. Showing him that I want him to say it. He refused.

"I thought you rode a pale horse."

"Not exactly a pale horse but..."

"I can't deal with this." I folded my head into my hands and began to weep. Sam placed his hands on my head as I wept. How could he be so compassionate? I was really confused. Bringing my head up, I looked into his beautiful face and kind eyes. I began to resolve the situation in my mind. "So where are we going? Heaven or hell?"

"No, my dear. There is no heaven or hell. Just the in between."

"In between what?" I asked drying my eyes.

"In between this life and the next. The train never stops to let people off when it is their time to move on. Most of the people here have been on the train for a while. Your next life isn't ready for you yet. You are on a train that never stops."

"So, how do we know when it's time to move on?"

"That is up to you, my dear. This train never stops. Like life, one day you are here. The next you are not." Lovingly he kissed my hands and rose to leave. A part of me didn't want him to leave but, it's hard being the one that has to conduct the never-ending train.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

MaryBeth Calahorrano

I've been writing for a number of years now. I have a published book through Page Publishing and I am currently working on several books. Looking to expand my brand. As well as make some new writer friends.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.