Fiction logo

My Sister’s Reaper

A witch’s nightmare

By Real PoeticPublished 8 months ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - October 2023
21
Draila & her sisters (AI image)

“We, the sisters of the Raven Family Coven, come under moonlight to bring upon chaos to those that spite. Let thorns rise up and through her head to make Julie’s mommy cry in bed. Add a drop of her blood, rat poison, and lead.”

“Flora, why are we out here in the cold again? It’s freaking midnight, and there are creepy noises coming from every direction in these woods! Why do you hate Julie so much anyway? She didn’t steal Hunter away from you. You’re totally losing it.”

All ten of my oldest sister’s clones say together in unison, “Draila, shut up! No interrupting during a spell. Flora hates it when you do that!”

I almost threw up inside of my mouth; they are so cringe. Forget Simon says. It’s Flora says around here. None of these witches have a mind of their own, except for me and Rita; it’s exhausting. Trying to get along with twelve siblings is so hard.

I genuinely like Julie. She was the first person to show me kindness when we were still new to this town; she moved next door about a year after we did. I don’t want her to grow thorns. The pain is excruciating, and the mental damage is much worse. Most people become too ashamed to leave their homes. No one deserves that, not even Flora.

Julie (AI image)

Flora is a certified hater because she’s not the most beautiful girl in school ever since Julie started. Her ex-boyfriend, Hunter, broke up with her two months before Julie had even arrived.

I won’t let my sisters finish this spell. We’ll have to move all over again because everyone will suspect we are responsible. They already think we’re descendants of the Addams Family.

Rita, the quietest, youngest sister, pinches my elbow, and then she whispers in my ear. “Just do as she says before we get punished.”

They take this coven stuff way too seriously…

I hate being a witch; I just want to be normal.

Flora speaks in a screechy voice. She does that intentionally to make herself sound more intimidating. It’s closer to humiliating if you ask me.

“Let’s say the last line of the spell on three: one… two…”

I drop my sisters’ hands on both sides of me and jump into the center of the circle.

“Sisters, enough is enough! Aren’t you tired of using your powers for evil? What kind of example are we setting for Rita? Do you want her to end up becoming a narcissistic, self-absorbed lunatic like Flora and Mom? Whatever is causing you all to follow her blindly, detach yourself from it. It’s probably some wicked spell that she casted upon us. Maybe I’m just immune to it somehow. I’m begging you guys to please wake up! You all used to have the biggest hearts when we were kids. We played by the number one rule that Grandmother taught us: Never use magic out of anger. I never would’ve imagined the same little girls doing such harm to innocent people. We were too occupied looking for sick animals to heal or ways to bail ourselves out of horrible situations that Dad and Mom left us to handle on our own. I don’t recognize my family nor will I preform this black magic any longer… I want my sisters back. I want to love being a witch again.”

Flora (AI image)

Flora makes a vicious face and screeches louder than ever before, “Draila, how would you like to join your little friend? Get back in the circle, or you’ll regret it. Julie will wear thorns until her very last breath, and there is nothing you can do about it. Now finish the damn spell!”

I assertively refuse to participate in the ritual. “I won’t stand for this. You’ll have to do it without me.”

Rita cries out. “Draila, stop it! The only way we can complete the spell without you is if you’re dead. Is that what you really want?”

I take a deep breath and close my eyes before I clear my throat to answer.

“Don’t worry Rita. Flora won’t hurt me. She’s not a murderer. She’s just manipulating us by keeping us in a state of fear.” I kiss Rita on her forehead to calm her down.

Flora laughs and then removes her wand. As she raises it up to my temple, she casts a spell on me.

“Be still as stone as if you’ve crossed over. You cannot awaken until I’ve returned to you with a five-leaf clover.”

Everything goes black for Draila, and she falls to the ground. The older sisters force poor Rita to join them in reciting the last line of the spell…

By dawn, Julie will wish she were dead.”

Julie (AI image)

Short StoryFantasy
21

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write what I want, whenever I want.

Thanks for reading!

-R.P. ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Gurl you did your thizzle with this series! I hope that it takes it all. It is so compelling and masterfully written! So impressive! This would make a wonder YA novel! It is simply stunning!😍

  • Ooh, I want more! This is such an intriguing story. Well done, R.P.!

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Loved your story🤩. Lots of drama. Not sure how I missed this one but congrats on your Top Story!

  • Bozhan Bozhkov8 months ago

    Great story, though I had hoped the kind-hearted witch would manage to persuade the others. Yet, as we know, only in Hollywood, it's always Good that triumphs over evil.

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Great entry. Congrats on the TS.

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Such a great buildup and read. lots of sisters omg. I so wish I had witching powers, such evil would I wish upon a few. But most good for the many. Evilly great TS.

  • Margaret Brennan8 months ago

    oh wow; hope they'll be more to read.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    This was breath taking and unexpected!! Tell me there will be a part 2!!! Also congratulations on Top Story!!

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Great story, congratulations!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Flora needs an intervention. And I guess Julie needs a gardener. Looking forward to part 2. Great job, RP!

  • StoryholicFinds8 months ago

    Love it ❤️

  • Clever, clever title. Great hook, and the rest flowed so well, I was captivated. Congrats on your top story

  • I loved the name Draila! I'm not justifying what Flora is doing but I'd hate Julie too. I mean, don't we all hate our ex boyfriend's new girlfriend? No? Well, just me then, lol! I saw that Ahna convinced you to write part 2. So excited for that!

  • Ahna Lewis8 months ago

    Exciting! I was really cheering for Draila to be able to talk some sense into her sisters. I hope this is just Part 1 and the story isn’t over for Draila. Compelling characters and fascinating storyline! Great work!

  • Next Koding8 months ago

    this piece is an engaging blend of fantasy & family drama, with a unique take on the concept of witchcraft, amazing!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great story! I like your spell too!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.