Fiction logo

My Queen of Hearts

And there was Dele, looking better than I had ever seen with a black shirt and black trousers, a brown belt, and brown shoes, holding a bouquet.

By AyoOPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
3

I didn’t like the name at first, even if he had an entire epistle explaining how he came about the name. I do not remember because I never cared to listen.

He called me that name to the point that even his brothers and friends began to call me that.

I could be walking on the road and I would hear a group of boys scream “my queen of hearts,” and that, my dear readers, is how I fell in love with the name.

As always, I got a text on my phone.

My queen of hearts.

I didn’t need a soothsayer to tell me he was the one.

I was in my IT girl era, building my confidence and boundaries, so there was no way he would have his way this time around.

After sending a million epistles apologizing, as usual, he asked for my account number.

Is this Dele?

I had to ask, and he sent a picture of himself in front of a Lexus.

I screamed in my room. Dele, whom I used to buy food for, now had a car.

It is time to eat the fruit of my labor. I said to myself.

00…22

Gtbank

I sent my account number.

I’m sorry, my queen of hearts, the description on the credit alert said.

100k!!!!!

I had to refrain from shouting.

The girls were done for. The new set of wigs and clothes this money would get.

I thought to myself, like the 100k could do anything.

Can we meet up?

He texted.

My parents would not let me, but I would make it happen.

Is this boy worth it? I rethought, remembering everything that happened two years ago. He had publicly embarrassed me.

Before I could answer myself, his text notification popped up on my phone.

Do you have something to wear? Do you want to make your hair or buy a new wig?

Ah!!!! Gbemi has to hear this.

Immediately, I called her to come to my place because I had beta gist for her.

“That useless Dele,” Monsuroh said. Gbemi had come with her. She was my namesake.

“Leave her; she doesn’t learn,” Gbemi said.

“You’d at least let me die before you bury me,” I told them.

I explained how he had sent 250k in the space of an hour and how he wanted us to go to an expensive restaurant in VI.

At first, it didn’t seem true to them. Everyone knew Dele’s family was as poor as a church rat.

After showing them his picture and verifying that he was truly the one, the suggestions began to come in.

“Monsuroh, as much as the money will be entering my eyes too, I don’t think I’ll be able to get the thought of public embarrassment like that out of my head. He needs to apologize to me publicly and show remorse.” My namesake, Monsuroh said again.

“Please, it is me you should listen to. I’m sure you know who has been having your back and giving you advice with regards to men.” Gbemi said.

I nodded.

“Spend his money; carry as much as you can carry. He embarrassed you, and this is him compensating you. Don’t be a fool.” Gbemi added.

They kept arguing, but within me, I knew I was taking Gbemi’s advice.

I told my parents I had to return to school to do something. My father had no problem with it, but my mother made a fuss over it, like she saw something I was not seeing. After hours of nagging, she finally agreed. Somehow, my younger sister had overheard my conversation with the girls, and she snitched.

That was when my mother stood firm on her decision, and this time my father had no choice but to back her up. I was told not to step out of the house after giving a million and one non-existent examples of people who had told a lie like mine and did not have it end well.

Dele, the entire time, kept begging me to come and promising to do anything while steadily sending me money.

I went from owing MTN N5000 to having almost 500k in my account in a matter of days.

After a few days, I snuck out of the house to the venue, where Dele and I agreed to meet, taking Gbemi and Monsuroh with me.

“Monsuroh, look, look, look.” Both girls said it together.

In fright, I looked up from the transfer I was making to the bolt driver in the direction the girls pointed out.

What in the world was this? I stared in disbelief.

The staff at the restaurant stood at the entrance to the restaurant with one of them holding a cardboard that had the inscription, ‘Welcome, my queen of hearts.’

And there was Dele, looking better than I had ever seen with a black shirt and black trousers, a brown belt, and brown shoes, holding a bouquet.

I stood there with my eyes starting to water. He came towards me and knelt with the bouquet of roses.

“My queen of hearts.” He said.

****

“Monsuroh, wa lo kiri bread.” My mother’s firm hands beat my leg and brought me back to reality.

“Queen of Hearts, Queen of Hearts,” I muttered.

“Wo! Stand up, four ti lu.” My mother said angrily.

As soon as I got to the junction, I saw Dele as dirty as I knew him to be, with no Lexus, no black shirt, and no black trousers – just his usual ‘ my money grows like grass shirt.’

“My queen of hearts.” He said hailing me.

“Oloriburuku,” I muttered.

So the idiot was not rich, and I was not in VI. I would have to break up with this boy.

****

Beta – good

Wo! four ti lu – look, it’s 4pm

Monsuroh, wa lo kiri bread – Monsuroh, it’s time to hawk bread

Oloriburuku -unfortunate person

If you enjoyed this, please like, leave a comment, and share it to someone else.

Love
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • It's Bizzonthetrack Again4 months ago

    This made me burst out laughing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.