Fiction logo

My Only Mission

Kathryn Dunyon

By kathryn dunyonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Journal Entry 1..... The beginning

Okay so I've never journaled before so I'm not really sure how to start this entry but basically the world has ended and I am starting to panic because while the rest of humanity was wiped out and sent back to high heaven like the dinosaurs, I was shocked looking for some way to survive and by the grace of god I was spared along with only about a few thousand other people.

Here's how it went, our planet was under attack by alien ships and a broadcast was sent out saying that we all needed to hide. Preferably underground or just somewhere safe in general so we did (we being the other people i was with at the time) but things didn't go as planned. When we got to the bunker I was pushed to the back of the crowd and about a handle full of us were shut out because the bunker was full. After the doors were slammed in our faces it all happened so fast, I panicked and looked around at my surroundings, I saw people running around screaming like crackheads, crying and comforting there loved ones then I looked up and saw one massive silver space ship that took up most of the sky then a few dark red beams shot up from the horizon and hit the ship with a big fiery explosion like in those really bad sci-fi movies that you cant help but watch because your bored.

It exploded the ship into a million pieces and all the debris came raining down on the planet making small explosions that dispersed large amounts of radiation killing almost everything instantly. Nothing was spared, the trees died instantly every human in my line of vision dropped like a sack of potato's, my hearing was temporarily impaired from the loud explosions and people screaming and even some of the buildings started to crumble and fall but probably not from the radiation. I ran like hell but didn't get very far from the locked vault doors as even I was knocked out and fell to the floor as the world went black.

When I woke up it was night time but I couldn't see any of the stars because the sky was filled with smoke and a dim green mist that clouded the atmosphere. I sat up and looked around, everyone and everything was dead, all the trees I could see were an ashy grey color and without any leaves, the woman next to me was covered in big bloody spores, puss, and bugs. I couldn't help but scream and my vision got all blurry as tears rushed down my face, I stayed like that for what seemed like hours but then realized that I was alive.

I was alive and breathing so I got up and ran back to the vault doors and they were open! I rushed inside and looked around but the bunker was completely empty, it was completely cleared out, I'm sure if you looked close enough you wouldn't even find a spec of dirt. This whole situation reminded me of a bad space invasion soap opera but in this case all of it was real and not staged because now I had nothing but the cloths on my back and a little heart shaped locket that was given to me by my mother before she went to go help blow up the spaceship. I'm not sure how long I was knocked out for and I only had one thing in mind and that was surviving.

Entry 2.... Aftermath

The fourth place that I had always wanted to visit was new York, unfortunately I had no idea where to go and to top that off there were little alien children running around devouring any living thing in sight. Oh right did I forget to mention that there were little alien parasites running around planet earth? yeah well that's what happens when you blow up a ship full of indestructible alien eggs on the verge of hatching and capable of becoming the next generation of space invaders 2030 edition.

That is two loses in a row so that's how you know its gonna be a long couple of months, hopefully it will be worth it. It has been a year since the massive life altering, planet killing, small child explosion of 2029. I have traveled through most of America and new York was the final place that I had wanted to visit so I was gonna try to make a home for myself here. The small children is just what I call the aliens they are actually from one of Saturn's moons called Mimas and they are really hard to kill because they are small and fast and only die if you remove the head or tail, and they are little hellians much like small children except they look nothing like human children (hence the tail and dusty black skin).

My first destination was a little convenience store right outside the city limits as I needed to stalk up on supplies which were difficult to come by now-a-days since most everything was affected by the radiation. I needed food, a new change of cloths, and a new sharpening stone for my katana, I was good on water for now but any little bit would be helpful I suppose.

When I entered the store I looked around at the dirty mold stained walls and the grimy empty shelves when suddenly a loud crash came from the back of the little store and a can rolled towards me and stopped at me feet. I drew my katana and carefully approached the back when what I should've done was turn around and run out the door but I'm glad I didn't because when I got to the end of the isle there was a little boy cowering at the corner of the shelf stuffing his face with little tangerine oranges, and yes it was a real child.

He looked to be about ten or twelve years old and was all dirty and covered in dried up blood and was wearing ripped tattered cloths. The little boy stopped stuffing his face with little tangerine oranges and looked up at me, we both stayed very still just looking at each other for a few very long moments until I made the first move's, sheathed my sword, knelt down, and offered my hand to the small human child.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.