Fiction logo

MY MISSING FOOTBALL

MISSING ITEM

By Aifuwa EmmanuelPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
Like
MY MISSING FOOTBALL
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

In the heart of my town nestled between rolling hills, there stood a big field where friends gathered every evening to indulge in their favorite sport: football. Among them was me, young Emmanuel, I have a passion for the game that burned brightly within me. I cherished my football a lot. It was a gift from my mother on my fifteen years birthday—like a prized possession.

My love for football transcended mere play; it was a way of life. Every evening, I rush to the field, my trusty ball tucked under my arm, eager to join my friends in a game that promises laughter, camaraderie, and the thrill of competition.

One fateful evening, as the golden hues of the setting sun painted the sky I arrived at the field, brimming with excitement. I joined my friends on the field, the anticipation of the game ahead electrifying the air. But as we began to play, disaster struck—a wild kick sent my cherished football soaring over the field’s rusty fence, disappearing into the thick bush beyond.

Shock and dismay washed over me as I watched my beloved ball vanish from sight. My friends rushed to my side, offering words of consolation, but my heart sank with each passing moment. How could he have been so careless? My mother had given me the football as a symbol of their bond, and now it was lost, perhaps forever.

With heavy footsteps, I trudged home that evening, the weight of my loss pressing down upon me like a leaden cloak. I couldn't bear to face my mother, to admit that I had let her down by losing the precious gift she had given me.

That night, sleep eluded me as I lay in bed, haunted by thoughts of my missing football. I tossed and turned, my mind racing with visions of the ball lying abandoned in some forgotten corner of the field.

The next morning dawned gray and overcast, mirroring my sober mood. With a heavy heart, I dragged myself out of bed and made my way to the field, hoping against hope that I might find my lost football.

As I approached the field, my eyes scanned the perimeter, searching for any sign of my missing ball. But the landscape remained unchanged—the same rusty fence loomed before me, its barrier impenetrable.

With a sigh of resignation, I entered the field, my steps listless and slow. I wandered aimlessly, my mind consumed by thoughts of what could have been. Lost in my thought, I failed to notice the figure crouched in my shadows, his hand outstretched towards something lying in the grass.

It was my football.

As I drew nearer, the figure straightened, revealing himself to be an elderly man with a weathered face and kind eyes. He held out the football, a small smile playing at the corners of his lips.

"Is this yours, son?" the man asked, his voice gentle and warm.

My heart leaped with joy as I reached out to take the football from the stranger's outstretched hand. Tears welled in my eyes as I held the ball close, feeling its familiar weight and texture beneath my fingers.

"Thank you," I whispered, his voice choked with emotion. "Thank you so much."

The old man nodded his smile widening. "You're welcome, son. Take good care of it."

With a grateful nod, I turned and made my way home, my precious football cradled in my arms. As I walked, I couldn't help but marvel at the kindness of strangers, and the unexpected twists of fate that brought them together.

From that day forward, I never took my football for granted again. I cherished it as I cherished the memories of my mother, holding them close to my heart as a reminder of the bonds that united them, both on and off the field. And though I never learned the identity of the mysterious stranger who had returned my lost football.

I knew that some gifts were too precious to be lost forever.

LoveMicrofictionfamilyAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.