Fiction logo

My Lonely World

The journey of a writer when everyone else vanished

By Eddie RodgersPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
My Lonely World
Photo by David Nicolai on Unsplash

I never felt like very important. Being 27 year old non-binary person; yes that means I use they and them pronouns, so just deal with it. Even with my whole world and career being a writer for a science fiction company; I never thought the world would become similar to one of my books.

Let's brew us a cup of tea and talk. Well where do we start all this? I suppose the best place to jump in would be where it all begins..

The alarm blared it high pitch noise making my ears ring. Slapping it harder that I ought to have getting up. “Good morning babe, you home?” After no response for a few minutes I figured they went off to work a little early. Getting into the kitchen I looked for what was normally left for me in the mornings to find nothing waiting for me but more nothingness. “babe? You still home? You didn't cook breakfast like normal.” Still hearing nothing I shrug and started making food. “I guess your making dinner then I want steak.” Chuckling I make some hard boiled eggs and left the small apartment; that is when I realized I was hearing NOTHING in the apartment... Not even the traffic of early morning Seattle. Looking around I realized I was alone in the street, no people, no animals, no signs of life as far as I can see or hear. I was truly alone...

My first feeling was completely remorse and regret from an argument. All I could do was cry part of me blaming myself for it. Not sure how long I laid there but when I got up I just sat still thinking. What more could I do? Ok Leona it is impossible for you cause this, so what happened? Where is everyone? Where are the animals? What evidence can I see from here? Looking around I saw that Cars were crashed and parked like the people in the just vanished behind the wheel. So the cars just stopped where they were naturally would have. Alright so people vanished and everything is a wreck. So what to do now?

Not knowing what else to do I walked to my office to see if there was anyone there, but all I found was a hollow building computers still on and everything was half complete sentences and stories. I go to my desk to find a small box with starry paper wrapping it. It had a note under it with my name on it. “Rosella...” I gently open the packaging to find a strange little heart shaped locket; turning it over in my hand I found it had strange little grooves and it moved like a Rubix cube along them. “what did you leave me?” I put the unopened note in pocket and the locket around my neck. Sitting at my desk I did the only thing I could think of to do and started working on the novel I was working on the day prior.

What was I to do? Everyone was gone, I had no survival skills. I can't hunt or fish. I never learned how to grow anything. All I knew how to do was cook and write. I already cooked this morning so I just did what else I knew how to do. It helped calm me down; well over the course of a few hours.

Once I hit point I was staring at a blinking cursor for more than a few minutes, I figured it was a good time to stop and stretch. “Harry, Linda how are yall's poem collections coming? Oh yeah...” I guess I forgot everyone was gone. I have a look around standing slowly taking in the sheer emptiness of the building, the city; possibly the world. My world at least is empty... So where do I go? How do I survive? Power seems fine for now... But how long will it last?

Journeying out, now that I cleared my head a bit, I need to see who else still has power, if there is enough for just a small time or do I need to learn to hunt or fish. Well luckily the stores within a few blocks still had power too. Even though a car went through the door of one I could still get in and there was plenty of food inside.

I spent the next couple days grabbing a couple food and water items, then walking around the city looking for someone or anyone else; always finding no one. But I did start finding the animals again, squirrels, dogs, cats; whatever you expect to see around where a bunch of people would normally be. I guess they got scared off when the humans just vanished.

At the end of the first week I started hearing extremely loud banging, excited I sprinted in the direction it was coming from. I slowed my pace when I realized I was running up the road to the city zoo. “Oh no...” I dove to the side just in time to see the gate 'explode' outward, and animals flooded the streets. Starting to cry again I realized The animals got desperate without someone to feed them.

The walk back to where I have made my home was much lengthier than the run here. All the way back I just fiddled and stared at the locket give to me by my love. The groves on it and the way it moves are odd certainly; but I didn't move it much in fear I would never get it back to being a heart. Where did you go Rosella? Why am I the only one left behind?

The next couple weeks were kind of a haze, to make sure I kept power when everywhere else shut off I got a small power generator that I couple move on my own; though to be honest it was still really difficult to do so. Finding a place with at least a deep freezer and normal fridge wasn't too difficult of a task. My new place was larger than expected, but it gave me space to set up a computer and radio. “I wish I listened to my dad and learned how to work a CB radio...” I may not have been able to call outward, but I at least could listen for someone.

When I stopped foraging for food and water I continued to write. If this world is playing out like one of my books maybe if I keep writing and make it a natural end; and a happy one at that; Everyone could come back.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Eddie Rodgers

Hello,

I am a person of many interests. Not just fiction; philosophical, spiritual, and scientific papers, books and articles I will likely have a few series going on at once as well as my own thoughts articles I hope you enjoy my writings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.