Fiction logo

My Letter Finally Arrived!

To new beginnings

By Gal MuxPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
1
Art by author

I know what you must be thinking. What's up with this girl? 

But let me let you in on a secret. My letter finally arrived! It's three years since it should have and I still don't understand why it was delayed, but at least it came. It's official! I am going to chase my dream! 

Here's the thing. I live next to Rita Skeeter. You know that super annoying journalist woman that gave Harry Potter a rough time? Yes! That one! I have lived next to her all my life. 

But she is an old woman now. Lots have happened to her since her heydays. Now sometimes when she tries to use floo powder she lands in my fireplace. One time she got stuck in the chimney. She had to use her wand to get to safety. Thank goodness my parents have never been around to witness that. I wouldn't know how to explain it to them. 

You see I have been trying to hide my abilities from them because as a child I realised I spooked them. I even remember them taking me to a mental doctor, what do they call them? psychiatrists because I had anger issues or did they say I was possessed or something... Thing is, the things around me used to react to my moods. I thought it was a superpower until one day our neighbour auntie Rita took me aside and explained to me what I was. A witch! 

I think she could sense the magic. Or could hear reports about magical activities in her neighbourhood from official ministry of magic sources. She was also a journalist writing stuff for the magical community after all. But all in all, she was a nosy neighbour. But her nosy ness was my saviour. So I am not mad. Haha. 

She would allow me to read her books on magic and share with me news about the magical community. She beamed with pride every time she showed me her published articles. She insisted I read all the biographies she had done on members of the wizarding community. I also read lots of articles about her from her subscriptions. She isn't very well-liked over there I can tell. But she is not too bad in real life. Believe me. 

It is she who told me about the boy who lived. But don't worry. I may be a mud blood as they call us over there but I am already on Harry Potter's side. That Voldemort guy is another story altogether. Even though auntie Rita has been very kind and generous to me all these years, I am sane enough to pick my own side. 

She introduced me to this place Hogwarts and the sorting hat and lots of other stuff. I hope I get sorted to Gryffindor. I am after all Gryffindor material. Please not Slytherin. I'd be ok with Ravenclaw but not Slytherin! I hear Harry Potter comes into the Gryffindor common room once in a school year to motivate the students. Sometimes he brings along Hermione. Damn! It would be nice to meet them. I will definitely ask for an autograph. 

I can't wait to learn Transfiguration and to find out what my Patronus is. I even want to be a seeker in the Gryffindor Quidditch team. Probably even compete in the Quidditch world cup in a few years. 

I'd also want to be an Animagus. But that's a long road ahead. I think I'd want to be an owl. A barn owl to be precise. Who wouldn't want to travel all around the world delivering letters? I'd probably just take some time to open and read the ones I'd be curious about. Throw away the ones with the news I didn't like and leak information about death eaters to Aurors. Don't mind me haha. I was trained by the best! They could even employ me at the ministry as their spy owl. That would be cool. Wouldn't it? 

Ever since I learnt I was a witch, whenever I go to London or see the pictures on social media, I always laugh at the guys attempting to cross over and board the Hogwarts Express on platform 9 3/4. They still think it's a fairy tale. Muggles! But I guess a powerful wizard did a memory charm spell thingy on them so that they would not totally believe it. Or even forget that it's true. Sometimes the truth is usually hiding in plain sight! I am going through that portal soon I usually tell myself as I judge them. Haha. 

And they wonder why barn owls are found all over the world, if not to deliver letters to members of the wizarding community in all their different locations. But the smart muggle scientists call it migration. Again, the truth is usually hiding in plain sight! 

Well, school starts in September and I am more than ready. I haven't bought my new stuff yet though as I am waiting for the wizard parents Auntie Rita asked to take me along as they buy stuff for their kids. My parents still haven't fully come around. Even after it was explained to them by the official from the ministry. They hope I'll get over it I think. But I can't as this is who I am. I have magical powers. I imagine it's hard to comprehend for muggles. Or maybe I spooked them too much. Or is it good riddance from their viewpoint? I still can't tell. I am just too excited! 

You can imagine the feeling yesterday when I saw the owl on my window with a letter addressed to me. Let me show you guys. Let me show you! Auntie Rita had to ask for a special favour for me to receive it. My parents tore up the other one after the official from the ministry left. 

r

Author

I will update you guys more when I go shopping for books, a wand and a robe. I'll even buy a broom (though I read that first-year students are not allowed to ride one). We shall see. I can't wait to finally go to Diagon Alley and to Gringotts. If I smile at the goblins, maybe they could give me a good exchange rate and I could get more stuff. Who knows… I could also post some pictures I guess. My parents didn't promise to give me much after some persuasion but whatever they will give me will do for now. If the Weasley's did it, I can too. Auntie Rita always mentioned how poor they are. So they are my motivation on that front. 

Also, she promised to sign a couple of her books for me to sell to fellow students for some extra money. She gets a cut of course as unemployment has never really suited her. The hustle is real and it's a win-win sooo…

I am going to Hogwarts guys!!!

Ps/ Don't spread this around too much muggles! I don't want any trouble with the Ministry of Magic.

Fan Fiction
1

About the Creator

Gal Mux

Lover of all things reading & writing, 🥭 &

🍍salsas, 🍓 & vanilla ice cream, MJ & Beyoncé.

Nothing you learn is ever wasted - Berry Gordy

So learn everything you can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.