Fiction logo

My Husband

A close look into a degenerative mind that hits close to home.

By Richard DinwiddiePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
My Husband
Photo by Rod Long on Unsplash

“ He’s such a wonderful man. He went through the great war, and the second war all for me and his country. Isn’t that right honey?” I ask. “Mom it’s me Jack. I’m Jack remember?” Gerald always was such a joker. His sense of humor seemed different today though. “Gerald stop it now,’ I say playfully patting his shoulder. ‘You don’t want the kids mistaking you for someone else now do you?” I motion to our children. One boy and one girl, Mary and John. My little boy always wants me to call him Jack, but I named him John and he shouldn’t be embarrassed of the name I gave him. My kids shift uncomfortably, they seem a little upset. “That tile flooring must be hurting your rumps, let’s stretch your legs outside. Come on, up, up, up!” I proclaim loudly, clapping my hands and standing myself.

Gerald stops me, “Mom we were just outside. You said it was too cold so we went back in.” I stop for a second and look behind me. A large, patterned blanket lies where I was once sat. Did we already go outside? No..no we surely didn’t. I’d remember that. “Gerald enough. You aren’t making sense and you're starting to confuse me.” The children have stood now and I begin making my way towards the door, I can hear Gerald cursing and calling to someone for help. I am almost to the door when some heavy woman in white blocks my path. “Eveyln,’ She says in this patronizing tone, ‘why don’t we sit back down. You’re favorite show is going to be on soon and your grandkids want to watch it with you.” I don’t know who she is but she makes me feel even more uneasy. “What I do with my CHILDREN is none of your business ma’am. Now makeway, I am taking them outside.” I try to push past her but she holds me still. Gerald is behind me now and I wish so desperately for his help. I struggle against the both of them as they begin to forcefully take me to this chair with a blanket in it. “I don’t want to sit down!” I exclaim as I am forced down. I don't understand why this is happening. I want to go outside, I NEED to go outside. "Listen to me for once in your life Gerald and LET ME GO!" I reel back and for the first time in my life I slap the man I love.

Gerald grabs both of my shoulders and says once more, “Mom, it’s me. Please . . . it’s me.” Tears stream down his face. . . "Jack honey, what's wrong? Why are you so sad love?" I say wiping away the fresh tears flowing down his cheeks. My dear baby is all grown up now, but he will always be my son. "Mom," His voice croaks. "you were having an episode. You thought I was. You thought I was someone else." His voice trails off. It is such a strange thing for him to say. I bore him, I raise him: I would never forget his face. Pulling him close to me I tussle his hair like I did for so many years. "Darling, I could never forget a face like yours. You are my son, and I will never forget that." Out of the corner of my eyes I spot my two grandchildren. "Now these beautiful little angels look like they could use some treats." I say reaching into the pockets of my gown. There is nothing in them though. I always store them there. What a silly mistake of mine. "It looks like I misplaced some of them. How silly of me, follow me little ones." I say rising from my chair. As I begin to rise the world tilts and everything seems to come closer. Jack catches me and sits me back down in my chair. "Easy mom, let me push you." I didn't even realize my chair had wheels on it. As he wheels me down the hall I tell him a story about his father and I. "I wonder where he is. He would be so happy to see you Jack." "I know mom. . . I know."

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Richard Dinwiddie

Reading has always been my escape from the world. A way for me to block out the sound of an abusive household, to block out the feelings of depression or anxiety. To have an escape helped me get through the darkest times in my life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Nadi M. C.2 years ago

    😢 WoW

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.