Fiction logo

My favorite day

Best day of the year

By Melinda CooperPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

Today was Halloween, my favorite day of the year. Getting to dress up on top of loving all things spooky. Of course, most people just get wasted hoping to score on Halloween. I already had scoped out all the parties tonight to make sure I go to the one that will have the most people there.

“Really, it’s only 7am?” I said out loud to myself as I checked my phone. Guess I’m more excited this year than normal. I rolled out of bed grabbed a pair of jeans and T-shirt to just have something simple on. “I guess I could start setting up for tonight, it’s been a while since I’ve been out there anyways.” I grabbed my car keys and headed out to the old barn that had been abandoned for decades.

I always parked in a shopping center close to the woods that lead there. I got out my car with a smile on my face and started heading towards the barn. Finally, I had reached the small clearing the barn sat in and looked up at it; the paint had worn a lot, but you could tell it use to be a bright red with some white around the windows and door. There was a decent sized hole in the roof from too many storms here lately, but it just helped with lighting; obviously, there wasn’t any electricity in here anymore.

Pulling the door open I started thinking about what was going to take place here tonight. “It has to be perfect.” Walking over to where I had recently put a mattress, I put some sheets I had kept put away so they wouldn’t get ruined. They were red satin sheets to ensure the mood was right in here. Walking over to the small table that somehow was still fully intact I arranged my candles and double checked to make sure my whiskey stash was there. Checking my phone, I noticed it was already 1pm so I needed to start getting back. Before leaving I made sure my special box was where I left it; without this tonight would be absolutely ruined.

Walking back to my car I realized how deep into the woods this little barn was, took at least thirty minutes to get to the road. The party I planned on going to is right next to the road so it shouldn’t be hard getting someone to come out this far with me. Getting to my car I plopped into the driver seat and decided to go get some new clothes for my “costume” tonight.

I got home around 5pm and ate something before getting in the shower. After the shower I put my makeup on first, this way I don’t get my outfit dirty. I started by making my face as pale as possible. I did a smokey-eye effect with red and black eyeshadow, afterwards doing my eyeliner much more dramatic than needed to be. I put a deep wine-red lipstick on and went straight to curling my dyed black hair.

By the time I was done it was already 9pm, which is a great time to start heading to a party since it’s now dark outside. I grabbed a black long-sleeved dress that had lace made to look like a spiderweb over the whole thing. After putting some fish nets on I then put my boots on and looked in the mirror; I looked exactly how I had pictured it in my head. I grabbed my witches’ hat and couldn’t believe how perfect it went with this outfit.

I headed out the house and saw some late-night trick-or-treaters still walking the sidewalks as I walked to the party. It was a decently small town so walking to the party would only take me a little less than an hour which gave me time to think. I kept my head down for the most part on my walk there and arrived at a huge house with tons of cars parked out front by 10pm. I walked in and instantly got some stares; I knew I looked good, so it was bound to happen.

I spent the next couple hours talking and drinking with what felt like everyone that was at the party; obviously, it wasn’t but I normally didn’t talk to people so it was very exhausting. I saw a guy that I had noticed had been eyeing me for most the night so I decided to walk over and say hello, he would be a good candidate for my plans tonight.

“Hey, I’m Annaleese!” I introduced myself.

“Hey! I’m Eli, I was about to come over and ask if you wanted a drink.” He said with a smirk on his face, I wonder if he had made a bet with any of his friends that he could bang the creepy girl.

“Thank you but,” I lifted my cup, “I already got one.” He looked a little lost when I said that I guess it was his only way of knowing how to hit on a girl. Little did I let anyone know I had been holding onto the same cup for most the night, if I got wasted it would ruin my plans for tonight so I couldn’t let that come even close to happening. “So, you been enjoying the party?” I was trying to help him out with the conversation since he looked a little lost, probably drunk by now honestly; it was one in the morning by now.

“Yeah, it’s great but it’s about time to probably find someone to come home with me.” He winked at me as he said this, and I softly bit my lip to show interest. “So why don’t you come with me? I do love the sexy little witch look.” I looked down then innocently up at him as he said that.

“I have a better idea of somewhere we could go, it’s perfect for Halloween.” I did a slight puppy dog look as I bit my lower lip to hopefully get him to agree.

“It’s not a graveyard, is it?” He said with disappoint in his voice.

I laughed softly, “No it’s not a graveyard. It’s an old barn in the middle of the woods. It’ll be fun.” I tried making my voice sound inviting but if I’m honest I’m not the best at doing that.

“Just a barn? How far is it from here?” He sounded a little intrigued.

“It’s a thirty-minute walk. Come on! I promise to make it worth your time.” I was smiling big because I was almost certain he’d come by this point.

He smirked at me, “As long as you promise not to put a spell on me, since you are a witch.” He ended his sentence with a wink.

“Of course not. I’d never dream of doing something like that.” I gave him a playful smile and grabbed his hand to start guiding him towards the woods.

We were almost there, and I continued the small talk with him, my heart was starting to race with excitement. My whole plan was working, and it was going to be just like imagined. We finally got there, and I did a slight check of my bra; good the small vile was still where I put it.

“Well, it does look creepy.” He sounded like the walk might’ve sobered him up a little bit, this was fine since I had a stash of whiskey inside waiting.

“Come on I already have it set up.” I winked at him as I opened the door, and he could see the moonlight coming through the hole in the roof lighting up the bed I had set up perfectly.

“Oh, so you were hoping I’d come here.” He smiled and I could tell, he thought he was about to get the lay of his life. I just smiled at him and walked over to the table lighting up my candles to reveal the whiskey selection with the cups.

“Do you want a drink?” I already started pouring one for myself.

“Mmmm yeah I think I could use another one.” He went and laid down on the bed as I poured our drinks. I made sure he wasn’t watching me too closely and grabbed the vile from my bra, I slowly poured it into his drink, so it didn’t make too much noise.

“Here you go.” I handed him his glass and we tapped our glasses as I sat next to him on the bed. We both quickly finished our drinks and I sat on his lap facing him. Slowly we started to make out and managed to get him laying down on the bed; then I could feel it. His body started to almost give out as I was kissing on his neck.

“Hold on Annaleese, I don’t think something is right.” He started trying to push me off him, but the drugs were kicking in enough by this point that I could easily push him back down.

“Mmmmmm, no everything is perfect. This is exactly how I knew it would happen.” I tied his arms to the ropes I had put at the top of the bed, after doing so I slowly got off him. Glancing at him to make sure he was not able to break his arms free I walked over to where I had my box hidden. Pulling the box out I walked it over to the bed and sat it next to him. “You might not be able to hear me but inside here are my tools to cut you open and take out all your insides.” He slightly opened his eyes as I said that, guess the drugs didn’t knock him out completely.

Now since I’m not a doctor I didn’t have what I needed to drain his blood before starting to dissect him, so this was going to be rather messy. I pulled out my scalpel and began cutting; starting at his right shoulder dragging it down to the center of his chest, the blood started pouring along with my smile growing bigger and bigger. I did the same from his left shoulder and then down the center of his abdomen.

“Well, this is a lot more blood than I thought it would be. Guess I can thank all the alcohol in your system for that.” I stuck my fingers inside the center cut and pulled as hard as I could to get the skin to come back to expose his ribcage and organs. “Your insides are absolutely beautiful!” The excitement was starting to take over, so I quickly grabbed some more tools from my box. Again, I’m no doctor so not all of these were exactly the right tools, but they’ll get the job done. I had to use a crowbar to pull back his ribcage, much to my surprise it wasn’t as hard to break with the tool I had.

I saw his heart was still beating, “Oh wow, you’re still alive, aren’t you? You must be able to feel all of this as I’m doing it. Tell me, how bad does it hurt?” I burst out laughing as I asked my last question. “It must hurt pretty bad since you’re so speechless! That or I picked the right amount of sedative to give you to simple immobilize you. Oh, the fun this night is really starting to be!”

I don’t know when he eventually died; I saved his heart for last to see just how long he might live for, but I got distracted with getting to take out all his organs one by one I slowly stopped paying attention to his heartbeat. This was my perfect night on my favorite day of the year. Dissecting a fresh body on Halloween in a barn that everyone had forgotten about over time. I should do this every year.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.