Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

My Dragon Slayer

Content Warning: The following story contains violence, coarse language, reference to torture and reference to Necrophilia. Reader discretion is advised.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 9 months ago 2 min read
18
My Dragon Slayer
Photo by Courtney Smith on Unsplash

Content Warning: The following story contains violence, coarse language, reference to torture and reference to Necrophilia. Reader discretion is advised.

The flap of its wings echoes over the grassy plain. Only the beast dares to move, lying around and giving me time for my sights to set on it. Slinking as low to the ground as possible, I poise myself behind a bush, getting ready for the final charge.

The moment comes and I summon the last of my courage. Letting out a ferocious war cry as I rush out in a near-silent rustle of the bushes. My teeth are bared and weapons at the ready as I charged at my foe, unbothered by my approach.

It flies low to the ground and I swing my weapons wildly in its direction. Making contact and bringing the beast down, I beat it into submission until its body lay lifeless in the dirt beneath my feet.

I give its lifeless body a nudge to assure it’s complete surrender.

Once satisfied, I drag the beast’s corpse home and place it in a pile with countless of its fallen companions.

Then I begin my victory ritual, singing and calling to my supporters as I dance around the pile of bodies. Even playing with a few of the pieces that have fallen off, over time as my people come in praising me.

“Good boy,” they coo in my ear, giving me back rubs and ear scratches. As payment for my services in defending them from the dreaded dragonflies that plague our yard.

Happy with my payment, I set my sights on a new target… Butterflies.

Those fluttery bastards won’t stand a chance!

A note from the Author:

As you may have guessed this isn’t a true Dragon Slayer story but more dragon-esc.

This is what I imagine my cat Rickie’s inner monologue sounds like when he is hunting bugs in our backyard. As well as what he thinks when he comes in meowing for attention as he wants to be praised for a good job hunting and providing for his family.

I was inspired to write this after a rather loud “victory song” on his end this morning, only to find a pile of about five dragonflies on my backdoor step.

I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I did writing this. Thank you for stopping by!

Below you will find a picture of my Dragon Slayer with his most recent offering.

Photo taken by Donna Fox

He definitely did get that butterfly! 😉

Thank you again for reading!

thrillerShort StoryMicrofictionHumorFantasyCONTENT WARNINGClassicalAdventurewild animalsliteratureinterviewfeatureCONTENT WARNINGcatSatireGeneralFunnyCONTENT WARNINGComedyWriting
18

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Test8 months ago

    writing skills are truly impressive

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    I guess I decided it was a top story. I must be sleepy or have really fallen deeply indeed into storyland!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    You totally had me in the dragon battle moment, and then I was like, geez that victory dance is really unseemly but interesting. Then I realized. That is really charming and full, full of heroic feline dragon-slaying adventure! Congrats on Top Story, and I love the ironic content warning.

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    You had me at the content warning 😁

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Oh no, not the butterflies. Bad cat! Great way to approach a story and end it in a totally different direction. Well done D. I loved it.

  • Kuba Fiszer9 months ago

    Congratulations on top story! 🩷🎉👏🏼💖

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    hahahahaha. This was brilliant Donna! Rickie looks...tough! What I loved was how much you put into this funny little story about your cat. The detail was still there and that really made it land well with the twist!

  • Thavien Yliaster9 months ago

    Issa floofa loofa. And a muscular hunting one too. My family's floofa loofas have brought us dead mice, shrews, and chipmunks before. The boy cat loves to eat and catch insects. I remember one time I saw him do a backflip in the air to catch a small fly, or was it more like a moth? Either way, it was really athletic. One time when he was outside, he sat on a tree stump cause a dragon fly kept zipping around perching on a lamp post directly right above him. He wouldn't stop meowing and chittering at it. It was like the forbidden fruit of cat toys cause he couldn't reach it, and that dragonfly stayed high above the grass, like at my hair level. I was told that sometimes cats bring you their kills as a present for being kind to them, and other times it's because they think that we're the helpless ones who can't feed ourselves. Hell, a leopard seal did that to a cameraman once by trying to feed the camera lens a dead penguin. Vicious sea kitty tried to feed swimming terrestrial hairless monkey.

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    Brilliant! Awe I love Rickie! Give him his favorite form of love for me (I was going to say a hug but cats don't tend to be huggers! A scratch behind the ear, perhaps?). I loved this story and the meaning! You staged it so mightly!

  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    This made my day! Great writing! 💖 You have a new subscriber!

  • Rickie looks like he can beat me up, lol! But the way he's posing in that picture is like so macho! You’ve mentioned that you have 3 cats. What are the names of the other 2? I love cats! I enjoyed your story a lot! You're just so creative!

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    Great story! Cats are funny except for the ones that poo in my garden. Not funny at all. I had a stare off with the neighbour's cat just yesterday but it won easily. It was watching me as I was getting in the washing from my retractable line. I had to laugh because as I unhooked the line to retract it, and it started to whizz back in to its housing, the cat was quivering on the fence, looking like it was about to spring off after it! Instinct was strong in that one! Great story, great perspective. Watch out, insects!

  • Matthew Daniels9 months ago

    All cats are best cat and that is science. This story was fun. You have a gift for perspective. ✒️😀

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    Donna, you can mind meld with cats, impressive!😂 Funny story and it’s good to know your home is protected from those dangerous dragons-flies!

  • Test9 months ago

    This was fun and loveable. The cat is adorable. I love your creativity, it's authentic and original :)

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    That was really fun :) I love the subversion of expectation you employed here and the description of the dance performed by the victorious hunter! Also, that looks like a formidable warrior you've got there. Your home is sure to be defended! Have you seen the video of the cat scaring away a bear?

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Great story and cute little dragon slayer!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.