Fiction logo

My dear old bitter friend.

An homage to coffee.

By Billie WhytePublished 12 months ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
8

I awaken from slumber, groggy and tired, as is life with a 6 month old. No sleep has ever been the same since we had Cian, but It's made easier by my dear old bitter friend. I throw on an oversized t-shirt and lean over the crib, to be warmed and welcomed with open arms and an ear from ear smile. He screams in a pitch only dogs can hear, excited to see his mummy again. I lean forward, whisper good morning gorgeous boy as I do every morning and take him gently in my arms. He's always so warm and cosy.

My morning has begun.

I change a nappy, make a bottle, feed the baby and clean up the mess made the evening before. I hang the laundry out over the clothes horse and proceed to place a new load in. Powder, conditioner, hand wash delicates, go.

I tackle the washing up next. I place the dry stuff away as the sink fills with soft plentiful bubbles amidst the warm water. Cleaner stuff first, dirty stuff last. I place each item carefully into the dish drainer and move on to my next task. I sterilise bottles, re-fill prep machines, sanitise surfaces and fold the clean and dry laundry ready to put away. I always finish each room off with the floors, and in this case it requires me to sweep and mop.

Barely awoken and still half asleep, I move onto the living room; folding blankets, fluffing and puffing cushions, re-alligning the rug that consistenly moves across the room through-out the day. I dust down the cabinets and wipe down the TV for any finger prints and re-fill the nappy caddy. Nappies, check. Wipes, check. Nappy rash cream, check. Eczema cream, check. And finally I place the remote back where it lives, on the unit just infront of the TV.

As my partner lies warm and cosy in bed, recovering from having had the baby through the night as per our arrangement, the sun begins to shine through the front windows, warming the house to a comfortable 20 degrees celcius. We have the benefit of living in a house where the sun rises through the front and sets through the back, blessing us with the most beautiful colours through-out the day.

I begin to wake up a little, but not enough I fear. Today could potentially be a long day. From playtime, to naptime, to lunctime and dinner time, today is likely to be a long day.

It's time to say hello to my dear old bitter friend I tell myself. Reserved only for the long days, when sleep has failed me. So, most days.

I head back to the kitchen, the smell of fresh laundry fills the air, soon to be taken over by a fresher more aromatic smell.

Towards the coffee machine I go.

I open the cupboard door and pull out some hazelnut syrup and two pods from a small 5cm x 5cm box, one milk pod and one coffee pod. I think I'll go for a latte this morning.

I switch on the plug socket which is otherwise turned off to save energy and wait a few seconds as the coffee machine begins to warm, inserting the first pod as I do. Always milk first.

The smell of warm, creamy milk begins to fill my nose as the the machine begins to function, making very little in the way of noise. The first cycle comes to an end, as I start to replace the milk with an ingredient of utmost importance today; the coffee.

The kitchen begins to fill with the aroma of freshly made coffee as the milk and coffee combine until it's finally ready. Mere seconds, that perhaps feel like a life time due to a natural exhaustion.

Coffee in hand, I head to the living room; awash with sunlight which heats the room most wonderfully. I take a freshly folded blanket and unwrap it and the baby naps as I take a well deserved seat on our grey three piece suite. I place the blanket over my knees, coffee in hand and let out a sigh of relief that at least the morning is done.

I bring the oversized cup to my lips and with the first sip I think to myself...

Hello my dear old bitter friend.

Young AdultShort StorySatireLovefamily
8

About the Creator

Billie Whyte

Forever wingin' it.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    This was an incredibly well-written piece. I'm really impressed and enjoyed reading it a lot.

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Such an elegantly written piece. I love the cohesive puttering around of a typical morning, although there’s nothing humdrum about this piece. Great work Billie!

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Such a sensory piece and wonderfully written! I felt every word and I found myself in many of these lines- including the sigh at the end, held by the comfort of a dear friend, as bitter as they may be. ☕️ 💫Fantastic story!!

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    That was quite of surprise who was that old bitter friend very captivating story 🌹🫶🏽☕️cheers

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.