Fiction logo

My Day Off

So this is it, I'm going to die...

By Dave RowlandsPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
3
My Day Off
Photo by Mark Eder on Unsplash

At first, I didn’t know what had happened. I’d gone through my front door to leave the house, ready for work. Armed with my briefcase, clad in a shirt and tie. I carried an umbrella, a tiny, clear affair that was hardly any use whatsoever, because the weather reports the previous evening forecast rain, though none had yet presented itself, at least not before I stepped through the threshold.

Once through I was met with a grating, hot wind. The sun beat down on me from directly above; moments ago, it had occupied another quarter of the sky entirely, and not been anywhere near as fierce. Now it felt as though it had a vendetta against me. Squinting up at the oppressive yellow orb, I raise my hand, middle finger extended. With that tiny bit of rebellion over with, I covered my head with my briefcase and began to move across the dunes. What little I knew of traversing deserts came from having read ‘Dune’ at an early age, and though I doubted it was really a concern, I tried my best to move without rhythm. I feel that I still would have attracted a worm, however.

Shade. Shade was what I needed, and water. Then it struck me; I had an unopened bottle of water in my briefcase! I lowered it, allowing the sun to blind me while I opened up my only source of shade. The water bottle was there, an entire litre of life-saving liquid. I swallowed a small portion of it, poured a tiny amount onto my forehead. That latter I allowed to run into my hair and cool my head off a little bit.

I began walking once more, then. All I could hope was that I was heading in a straight line, and vaguely towards somewhere inhabited. For all I knew, I’d been transported somewhere entirely away from any sign of civilisation. Part of me hoped that this was some kind of incredibly vivid dream, but the discomfort I felt at my situation belied that possibility. Still, I’d just left home. I was on my way to work. Perhaps I’d suffered some kind of seizure on the train, and this was the result. My brain telling me a story set in the desert.

Or perhaps I was lost in the desert, with no explanation, and no hope of survival.

The blasting hot wind was cooling as the sun was beginning to set. I sat, then. Simply sat atop a dune. I took a swig from my water bottle; it was still half full. I judged that I’d been walking for about three or four hours. Much more than I was used to, and my feet were letting me know all about it. I removed my shoes and socks, only to discover layers of sand between each layer of clothing. I rubbed my feet clear of the offending grit, attempted to clean my socks as best I was able, knocked as much sand as I could out of my shoes.

My feet had swollen up enough while I did this that neither sock nor shoe would fit. I threw my head back, then, and laughed. At least I think it was laughter. When the sound died off it had more of a howling quality to it, but I’m sure it had begun as laughter. I also swore, loudly. And screamed.

Then I simply sat. I drank some more water, then I slept.

I awoke as the sun began to rise, feeling half frozen from the night’s cold. It had been as bitterly cold overnight as today was going to be blisteringly hot. I glanced at my water bottle; the contents remaining could maybe have amounted to a single cup’s worth. Fortunately, overnight my feet had returned to their normal size, so I replaced my socks and shoes before beginning my trudge, hopefully in the same direction I’d been going yesterday. Perhaps today I’d find another human, or a source of water. Regardless, I walked. Engulfed in the desert's parched silence, I was nothing but another grain of sand in the wind.

Short StoryHumor
3

About the Creator

Dave Rowlands

Author and Creator of Anno Zombus, but don't let that worry you; I write more than just zombie stories.

Discover more about Baby's parents role during the Auspocalypse at amazon.com and come and join us at the Anno Zombus facebook group.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Bravo! Your hard work is paying off—keep it up,

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.