Fiction logo

My Broken Valentine

Chapter 3 (The Derek Morgan Chronicles)

By Cynthia FieldsPublished about a year ago 6 min read
2
My Broken Valentine
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Home of Derek Morgan –

“She what? Are you kidding me?”

“No Pretty Boy, I’m not kidding! Savannah came by. In fact, you just missed her.”

“What did she want?”

“The same thing she’s always wanted; to get back together, I guess. She even tried to bring up the baby.”

“Wow, she sounds pretty desperate. I think you need to be careful, Morgan.”

“No, I’m good, man. I really messed up! I hurt her so bad and she’s still trying to make sense of it all.”

“Yeah, you messed up but I’m just saying that if a woman is desperate enough to try and use a baby as leverage, she might be willing to do just about anything to get what she wants.”

“That’s a little dramatic don’t you think, Reid?”

“Come on Derek. You know what we do every day; people have killed for less. Just watch yourself.”

“Yeah, I hear you, I hear you.”

“So, why’d you ask me to come over?”

“I need you to help me get Penelope back.”

“Oh no! Besides, I’m the last one that can help with that.”

“Come on Reid, just talk to her for me. She won’t listen to me. She just acts like I don’t exist most of the time and when she does, she makes me feel like I’m just a friend.”

“Like it or not Morgan, that’s all you are. Garcia thinks that she’s the reason you and Savannah split up. She’s punishing herself and you so, no, I can’t help you. I wish I could because no matter what, you two belong together.”

“So, what am I supposed to do?”

“Give her time, and space and...”

“And?”

“And be her friend because right now that’s what she needs more than anything else.”

“I’m not sure that I can only be her friend.”

“If you don’t want to lose her forever, than I suggest you not pressure her or the damage that you do may be irreparable.”

BAU Headquarters –

Penelope had arrived before the others which was the norm. She loved the silence and without the distractions from Derek and the rest of her team, Penelope could get a jump on her morning. One by one, she powered up her monitors and the bank of computers that took up nearly half of her office. She thought about Derek and Sam; two good men who wanted so much from her; she couldn’t give either of them what they wanted. Her heart was broken because the man she loved had paid a great price for loving her. The other, Sam had convinced himself that he could make her happy and that he could make her forget that she loved Derek. He was wrong; no one could make her stop loving Derek.

“Knock, knock!”

Penelope turned toward the door to see JJ standing there lightly tapping on the door frame.

“Good morning blondie,” Penelope waved her in before turning back to her computers. “How was the weekend?”

“Quiet! Will decided to take the boys to a father-son retreat so I invited my mother down to hang out with me.”

“How is your mom?”

“She’s good. We actually managed to get through the weekend without killing each other.”

“How about you?”

“Sam sent yet another two dozen roses, and then he surprised me with dinner reservations to that new Brazilian restaurant downtown.”

“I’m jealous! Will and I have been trying to get in there for months now!”

“Sam’s college roommate is the general manager and he owed Sam a favor.”

“So how was it?”

“The food was wonderful, service was amazing...”

“...and the company?”

Penelope turned to face her friend.

“Oh, JJ Sam is wonderful and he’s trying so hard but I...”

“...you miss Derek.”

“I miss Derek.”

“So, what are you going to do about it? He’s told you how he feels about you and it’s obvious to everybody that you feel the same way about him.”

“JJ that man left his wife for me! I ruined his marriage! Now Savannah is heartbroken and miserable, with a baby to raise alone; it’s all my fault!”

“Garcia, that marriage was dead in the water before they said, I do. He married her because he didn’t think he could have you!”

“He told her that he would do whatever it took to be with her! JJ, he said the same thing to me the night he left her! Who’s to say that he won’t leave me when he gets bored, and another woman grabs his attention!”

“He’s not like that, Garcie! Derek loves you; you, only you! He always has and yeah, he made a big mistake getting involved with Savannah. He didn’t know he had a choice...you two, I swear are going to drive me crazy!”

“I’m scared, JJ! I don’t want to get hurt.”

“Is that why you’re with Sam? You’re doing the same thing to Sam that Derek did to Savannah.”

“I can’t talk about this...I can’t.”

Penelope turned back toward her computers and began typing feverishly.

“I’m sorry, Garcia but I love you and I just want you to be happy. If that’s with Sam, then I’ll support you but if it’s not, then you know what you have to do.”

JJ wrapped her friend in a big embrace and held on tight. She was worried about her, and she hated seeing her so miserable and sad. Both Derek and Penelope were miserable, and she felt helpless to make things better for either of them.

Home of Savannah Hayes – Evening

It had been a long day and Savannah was exhausted and hungry. The smells of pot roast and red potatoes greeted her as she let herself into the house that she shared with her toddler son. She smiled at the sounds of Della singing from the nursery as she made her way down the hallway.

Della rocked DJ in her arms as he lost his battle with the sleep angels. She loved him as if he were her own. Savannah had been like a big sister and this family had become her family. Della had been raised in the foster care system and had always dreamed of a family of her own. Savannah had accepted her without question, hired her as her nanny and confidante at a time in her life when she needed a friend. Now, with what Savannah had gone through she owed her, and she wouldn’t rest until Savannah smiled again.

“Twinkle, twinkle little star, how I wonder what you are, up above the world so high, like a diamond in the sky; twinkle, twinkle little star, how I wonder where you are.”

Savannah watched quietly from the doorway; Della had been a godsend and she had come into her and DJ’s life at just the right time. After Derek left, she was lost in so many ways, especially when it came to balancing work and motherhood. Della loved DJ and DJ loved Della; it was like having a little sister and after losing Derek, Savannah needed someone in her life that cared for her and her son. Della was that person and she thanked God for her every day.

Fan Fiction
2

About the Creator

Cynthia Fields

I adore words and I love what happens when we grab them, sleep with them, holler and scream and laugh at them! I love what happens when we throw them in the air and watch them fall magically from our minds onto paper!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Carolyn Chatmanabout a year ago

    Nice way to share that sometimes all a woman needs is time before moving forward in a relationship, because it's not always an either or decision to make.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.