Fiction logo

My Broken Valentine

Chapter 2 (The Derek Morgan Chronicles)

By Cynthia FieldsPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
My Broken Valentine
Photo by Irene Kredenets on Unsplash

Home of Derek Morgan –

Savannah pushed passed him into the house. Closing the door, he followed her to the middle of the room.

“Savannah, I asked you, what are you doing here?”

“I just want to talk.”

“What’s left to say?”

“Do you know what today is?”

“Yes Savannah, I know what today is.”

He saw the tears and he felt a dagger of guilt pierce his chest.

“I’m sorry to bother you, it’s just...” she moved to the couch and sat down, “it’s been hard, you know? It’s been a hard year.”

“Look Savannah, Reid is on his way, and I don’t want him to see you here.”

Savannah slowly got to her feet as if to leave. Then turning towards him a million memories flooded her mind.

“How did we get here, Derek?”

“I’m sorry, Savannah for everything. I blame myself; I do but we’ve got to move on with our lives.”

“Is it that easy for you? Just move on like I never existed; like we never existed? You made some promises to me, Derek, remember? Were they just lies?”

“No, they weren’t lies, Savannah. I loved you...I thought I loved you, I wanted to love you...I just...”

“What, you just what? You couldn’t love me, right? Not as long as you loved Penelope?”

“Please Savannah, this isn’t going to accomplish anything.”

“DJ misses you,” she stopped looking hopefully into his eyes.

“Savannah don’t do that, don’t bring the baby into this.”

“Why Derek? He loves you; he misses you!”

“Savannah, stop! He’s not my son, remember?”

“He is! He was! For a year he was your son, Derek! Is it that easy to just stop loving an innocent child?”

“Savannah, you used that child to trap me! You knew he wasn’t my son, but you kept the truth from me!”

“We were on a break, Derek!”

“We were married, Savannah!”

“I loved you, Derek! You said you loved me too!” Then walking toward the door while struggling with her emotions, she turned to face him, “I’m sorry I came, I don’t know what I was thinking. It’s just that today, this morning has been rough.”

Savannah opened the door and stepped out onto the porch.

“Savannah.”

Teary-eyed, she turned to face him. She felt like a fool for coming and it showed on her face.

“I’m sorry too. I didn’t mean to hurt you and if I were to be honest, I don’t blame you for DJ. I probably drove you to do what you did.”

Without another word, Savannah nodded and headed down the steps toward her car and out of sight. Derek closed the door allowing his body to land against it as he closed his eyes. He’d hurt someone who had done nothing but love him, someone who had trusted and believed him when he had professed his love for her. It was no wonder Penelope wouldn’t commit to him; it made sense now; it made all the sense in the world.

Home of Sam Collier –

Sam had no delusions. He knew Penelope and she wasn’t one to just turn her emotions on and off. She’d ended their relationship almost a year and a half ago and even though she would never admit it, Sam knew it was because she was in love with Derek Morgan. Everyone knew she was in love with Derek and every man that wasn’t Derek was just a placeholder until the agent woke up and saw her. Still, Sam was willing to let her back into his life and into his bed. He felt that he’d won somehow. He had the one thing that Derek Morgan didn’t have. If Sam was honest though, the one thing that Derek would always have was Penelope’s heart.

Sam nervously pulled the teal blue box from his desk drawer. He was ready to be the spontaneous man that she had always wanted him to be. He was taking a risk and he knew it. Derek and his wife had been divorced for a long while and Penelope had not run to Derek as he thought she would. So, Sam prayed that that was good news for him and even though she wasn’t madly in love with him, he knew Penelope would try with all her might to make a life with him and to prove that she was invested in their relationship for the long haul; the ring would seal the deal and if all went well, they would be married by summer. Then sliding the box back into the drawer, Sam picked up his phone and dialed a familiar number; he wanted to see his son, it had been a while since he’d paid the little bundle a visit. So, while putting the phone to his ear, he waited for her to answer.

Savannah pulled into the doctors parking lot and killed the engine. She felt foolish for stopping by Derek’s place and she could only imagine what he was thinking of her. There was nothing more he could say to convince her that he wouldn’t change his mind about them, yet she kept hope alive that he would even a year after their divorce. Then her phone began to rattle in her bag, hurriedly she rummaged through it and pulled out her cellphone. She was disappointed at the sight of his name flashing across her screen.

“Hello, Sam.”

“Wow, don’t sound so disappointed, baby.”

“I asked you not to call me baby, Sam.”

“I don’t remember you complaining when I was making you forget about that ex-husband of yours.”

“What do you want?”

“I want to see my son and we have some things to discuss, Sav.”

“Sam...”

“He’s my son, Savannah and we both have the DNA test results to prove it.”

“Yes, I know he’s your son.”

“I want to see him, Savannah, today! Besides, we have the little manner of getting his name changed on his birth certificate.”

“I’m working late today tomorrow would be better because I’m off all day.”

“Fine, fine, tomorrow it is.”

Savannah ended the call; her heart was beating out of her chest. No one knew who her baby’s father was, not even Derek. She’d refused to tell him when he asked, and Sam had promised to keep it a secret as well. She thought she could trust him especially since he wanted Penelope back and they both knew that if she found out that he had an affair with her, he would never get her back. Now Savannah wasn’t so sure she could trust him; it was something in his voice, something she’d never heard before. Savannah was worried that Sam was going to be problem and the last thing she needed was another problem.

Fan Fiction
Like

About the Creator

Cynthia Fields

I adore words and I love what happens when we grab them, sleep with them, holler and scream and laugh at them! I love what happens when we throw them in the air and watch them fall magically from our minds onto paper!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Great 👍😉I like this ❤️💯✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.