Fiction logo

My Aunt Jackie VI

"What if she is lying somewhere dead?" Mom moans, almost in tears.

By Annelise Lords Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image by Annelise Lords

"Come on, honey," Dad begged. "Call your mother," he advises taking his robe from the foot of his bed. Their bedroom door was open, and I had followed them standing in the hall.

Thirty minutes later, my Grandparents on my mother's side and my two aunts rushed over. None of them heard from my sister as her phone went to voice mail. They called several Hospitals in Manhattan and the Bronx. Then the 27th Precinct nearby.

She had to be missing 48 hours before a missing person's report could be filed.

My Aunt Sandy knew the Captain in charge, she gave him some basic information, and he promised to call her back. Grandma comforted my Mom. Suzie's disappearance caused the world in our apartment to stop.

"What if she is lying somewhere dead?" Mom moans, almost in tears.

"Then she will get to meet James Dean," Aunt Jackie said in excitement.

Everyone stared at her.

" What, you don't have a dead celebrity you can't wait to meet?"

Eyes and raised brows stare her down.

"It's not like you didn't sneak out too," Aunt Jackie continued staring at Mom.

"Do you remember the time you sneak out to meet Robbie Fischer?" Aunt Jackie pulled my Mom back to their teenage years.

"You dated that nerd?" My father asked. "I thought you said you didn't like him?"

"Of course, she didn't," Aunt Jackie quickly notified. "But she liked to ride on his Harley Davison Motor Cycle."

"You told me you weren't dating him?" my father explodes.

"That was over twenty years ago, and I married you didn't I!" Mom screamed.

"I can't believe you two are fighting over something that happened over twenty years ago while my grandchild might be in a Harem somewhere in the Sahara Desert!" Grandma shouted.

"I am sorry," Mom apologized, on the edge of tears, her eyes on my father.

Silence stopped by briefly when my Grandmother broke it, asking, "so it was the Saturday morning when you came down in your sneakers instead of your bedroom slippers?"

"I didn't have enough time to change. You weren't supposed to be up so early," my Mom confessed. "Jackie sneaked out too," Mom rat on my Aunt Jackie.

"Oh," my Grandma said with raised brows.

"Yeah," my Mom continued. "On the night of her sweet sixteen birthday party, it was with Wart. The guy with one eyebrow and a Mohawk!"

"Hey, it was only for one night, and he had forgotten his gift at home, I had to follow him home for it," Aunt Jackie defended herself.

"And it took you all night?" Mom teased.

"You two are grounded." Grandma said.

"Hey," Aunt Sandy stepped in. "We have a missing family member here, and Mom, they are too old to be grounded."

"Sorry girls," Grandma apologized, "but thinking of today's world."

She stops and nods. "At least I had one good teenager," eyeing Aunt Sandy.

"Sandy, Mom?" my mother asked. "She is the worst of us."

"Now, yea, but she was a virgin when she married Steve," Grandma boasted.

Mom and Aunt Jackie burst out laughing, "and so was Mother Theresa until she joined the convent. Sandy sneaked out too, and Steve wasn't her first."

"You are all grounded!" Grandma shouts.

Dad and Grandpa moved to the opposite side, taking the cordless telephone.

"Of course, Steve was my first," Aunt Sandy said.

"And so was Rob, Bobby, Micky, and Mike," my Mom and Aunt Jackie taunts their oldest sister, laughing.

"Hey," I called out.

They gave me a look that tied my tongue.

Dad and Grandpa demanded, "Stay out of it."

"What?" I asked.

"Shut up!" my father yells through his teeth.

"Come to think of it, we had some good times back then," Aunt Jackie said, laughing.

"I am telling you, my sister; those were the good old days," Mom reminisces.

"Yeah," Aunt Sandy agreed. "The days when there weren't so much to worry about. Mom, what would you do in this situation?"

"I am glad I didn't find out that you all sneaked out," my Grandmother revealed. "You all should be glad I didn't because if I did, I would have a Cryobiologist freeze your butts until they find a cure for raging hormones!"

"What's that, Dad?" I asked.

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoyed it.

AdventureHumorMysteryYoung Adultfamily
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.