Fiction logo

My Aunt Jackie Part IV

It was 9: 59 A.M. Mom should be up by then!

By Annelise Lords Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image by Annelise Lords

They fingerprinted me after I was strip-searched. Then threw me into a cell with a female Kramer from Seinfield. RuPaul's female twin, with a beard and five tattoos on her breast. Which was showing. Along with two other ladies-of-the-night, who had more holes on their bodies than the Ozone layer. A jewel in each hole. Someone painted their faces with more colors than a rainbow in the rainforest. I had six hours or less for someone to see my sheet ladder, and I had a feeling Mom would need an IV to swallow this.

The girls were friendly. All I had to do was to tell them about some of my Johns. Who were good and bad, who liked to use whips, chains, and handcuffs. Who wants to be spanked or tied up. Who was naughty, nice or werid. We had a very small window and staring out at the sun rising, I was certain of two things.

One: I think I will join the convent when they let me out. Listening to those ladies-of-the-night talk about sex sounded like a declaration of war. Hitler comes to mind.

Two: I will never disobey my mother as long as I live, and I had a feeling when she found out what happened, I wouldn't have long to live!

The sun came out at 5:57 am. They served breakfast two and a half hours later. The coffee was cold and tasted like prune juice. The two slices of toast were so thin I could see China through them.

"Could I have my phone call now?" I asked, pushing the tray aside.

It was 9: 59 A.M. Mom should be up by then!

Meanwhile, at the Henry Hudson House in Building B Apartment 6H, Jamie Gronberg stirred as the early morning cold air stole into the room through the tiny slot under the barely open window.

Feeling for his blanket, but it wasn't there. He sat up, 'Suzie,' he cried, nodding. 'That sister of mine is always taking my stuff.'

Scanning around his room, he realized that his sheet was gone too.

Getting out of bed, yawning, walking to the door, "She took my sheet too," he cried, stepping out into the hall.

Her door was locked.

Five knocks later, he opened it to a line of sheets going all

the way from the doorknob out the open window. After pulling it up, he turned around, facing his Mom. Her right hand was on her forehead, yawning while standing at the door facing him.

"Honey, what are you doing in there?" she asked, looking around.

"Suzie took my sheets last night," Jamie cried, trying to hide the huge bundle of sheets behind his small ten years old body.

"Where is she?" his mother asked.

Still trying to hide the bundle of sheets behind him, but they were too large.

His mother walked over to him, grabbed the bundle from behind me, looked at it, then at my sister's empty sheetless bed. Then at the window, then back at the sheets in her hand.

"Jack!" she screamed out my father's name. "Your daughter didn't sleep here last night!"

His father rushed into the room wearing clothes that a child shouldn't see.

"What!" he cried in surprise.

"Your daughter used this and sneaked out last night!"

His mother cried out, holding up the bundle of sheets in her hands.

"The Fraternity Party!" they both cried at once.

"Call Jaynie," Dad said.

Mom grabbed the nearest phone on Suzie's night table. She hangs up minutes later.

Jaynie hadn't seen her.

"Oh God!" Mom cried. "Where could your daughter be?"

"My daughter?" my father yells.

"Yes Mr. Ross, your daughter!" Mom yells back.

"How come the good side of her is your daughter and the bad side of her is my daughter?" his father said.

"She looks like you," his mother reminds him.

"If you had let her go to that party, she would be in her room right now. She could have killed herself going down," his father retorted, staring at the sheet ladder Mom was still holding.

"Oh, so it's my fault?" Mom yelled angrily, throwing the bundle of sheets on Suzie's bed.

I think they both forgot I was still in the room.

"No," Dad answered, walking over to her.

She backed away from him.

"Why don't you call your mother, your whole family, the National Guard! Maybe she is in Ukraine right now nursing the wounded, you know how caring she is," my father cried in frustration, walking out and heading to his bedroom. I think he just realized I was here.

"Don't be sarcastic!" Mom shouted, following him.

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoy it and will savor more from some smart writers on this platform.

https://vocal.media/fiction/a-house-of-fallen-leaves

https://vocal.media/fiction/your-move-uajsrq0ykk

https://vocal.media/fiction/nostalgia-is-a-road-that-cannot-be-returned

AdventureClassicalHumorMysteryfamily
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.