Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Murder Hornet

A Story Every Day in 2024 June 10th 163/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 20 days ago 2 min read
Murder Hornet
Photo by USGS on Unsplash

"Have you noticed these hornets?" Christine asked Liz, over coffee.

Liz hadn't. "I've seen people posting about them."

Christine nodded, with a mouthful of cake.

Liz continued: "They look awful, don't they?"

Christine swallowed. "Yes! I'm ever so worried about Harold. He loves to snap at wasps and I'm frightened he'll do it to one of these hornets and it will be the death of him." Harold was the name of Christine's husband and her dachshund. Liz assumed and hoped that she was talking about the dog. It was very confusing.

Christine went on. "We've had a couple. I've hit them with a shoe but you don't want to miss first time. Who knows what will happen if they're angry."

Liz had a surreal image of a green hornet with angry eyebrows and gritted teeth, like Lou Ferrigno as Hulk.

She shuddered, adding, "I hope I don't come across one."

"Just make sure you kill it."

Liz looked at Christine's earnest face and gulped.

*

A couple of days later, Liz was filling bird feeders in her garden. She loved the birds flitting in, pecking with their staccato head movements and then, rocketing out. A blue tit landed on some lavender and she laughed as the stalk bounced with the tiny bird perched on it. It was like Nature's own diddly bopper.

She could hear a loud buzzing and looked for a bumble bee. But it wasn't a bee. She stood still as she spied an enormous wasp hovering by a window.

Suddenly, it careered from there and zoomed directly towards her. She froze. It was huge, loud; an insect-shaped drone. She let out a cry. What could she do?

The decision was taken away from her a cluster of birds, the birds that she fed, dive-bombed the wasp, attacking it and just like they were at the feeder, they relentlessly pecked at the wasp, avoiding its sting until it sank to the ground.

Task done, the birds departed. Liz was shell-shocked: relieved, in disbelief but also surprised at feeling sorry for what was popularly known as a "murder hornet".

She also gained a respectful wariness of birds that day and made sure the feeders were full.

***

366 words

I very much doubt that birds would do this but the idea came to me and I thought I'd go with it. I too had an encounter with a "murder hornet" this week and I'm not ashamed to say that I went "Eek!" and headed into the house, shutting the door firmly. I would have been quite happy had it not purposefully headed towards me. From previous incidents, I can confirm that if you don't have a shoe or insect spray handy, then furniture polish works just as well. Not that I like killing wasps but I don't want to scoop them up either.

And here's Lou Ferrigno, just in case you're not familiar with the reference:

Lou Ferrigno as The Incredible Hulk - "You wouldn't like me when I'm angry!"

Thanks for stopping by. If you do read this, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

162/366

Here are some links to other insect and bird related content, should you be interested:

thrillerShort StoryPsychologicalMysteryMicrofictionHorror

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Donna Fox (HKB)15 days ago

    This was an interesting spin on the legend of "murder hornets"!! Great work Rachel!!

  • Lana V Lynx17 days ago

    This was great, Rachel, especially with the name confusion. Miss your story every day. Hope it's just your internet connection or Vocal holdup in review purgatory and you are OK.

  • Caroline Craven19 days ago

    I knew I was right to feed the birds! Love that Christine’s husband snd dog share the same name! This was great!

  • D.K. Shepard19 days ago

    Haha! “Harold”!🤣 loved the that bit! Good thing she was on the birds’ good side, loved that last line about her new wariness prompting her to keep the feeders full

  • Help, why does her husband and dog have the same name? 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Also, I too would have eeked and ran into my house if I were you hahahahaha

  • D. J. Reddall20 days ago

    Avian familiars flying to your protagonist's aid and then giving her a dose of respectful dread? Most interesting. When will she unleash their wrath upon the local squirrels?

  • John Cox20 days ago

    I loved this and laughed out loud at the end, Rachel. Hitchcock’s The Birds vs Murder Hornets.

  • Gerard DiLeo20 days ago

    Very nice story. Enemy at the gates!

  • Shirley Belk20 days ago

    Rachel, I loved this story, the way it started out made the way it ended so believable. The break in enjoying a beautiful day which turned into an "eek" was perfectly executed. And I loved how the birds (whether they would or not) protected the keeper of their garden.

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.