Fiction logo

Mr. Krabs

Thanks for the side to side dance

By T.R. MAGNO Published about a year ago 6 min read
1
Beautiful island paradise

Such a beautiful day at the beach on this island paradise, I thought. I was content laying on my beach towel. The rays of sunshine felt warm and blanketed me from the cooler breeze coming off the ocean.

What a good idea to come here today! I thought.

Even though others around me had the same idea, I felt comfort in their presence rather than irritation. These strangers, with their families and their sun umbrellas…they were all here for the same reason I was. They were here to be reminded of what was good about life. A recharge, you would say, so they could survive the following week in an office or coping with the demands of some type of bureaucratic system one way or another.

The charade that took up most of their time evaporated in a place like this. The sound of the waves drowned out those intrusive thoughts of dread that seemed to taint a perfectly good weekend held no power over them here.

If there were those here that were happy and free from a stressful lifestyle, it was hard to tell them a part. The beach made everyone equal in their expectation as to why they wanted to spend time at the beach. It all seemed more peaceful and bearable here. Everything else didn’t matter.

I was alone this time at the beach. The kids and my husband were at his parents house. I had asked for some time away. A mom break, so to speak. I chose a day at the beach. It was the best way I felt I could recharge within a short period. And why not? It was close by and the best part was that it was free.

It felt good to only pack for one person too. For myself. The responsibilities of servicing others was put on hold. I was happy that I was free for a few hours. I was able to bring things I could never enjoy otherwise, like a book. I read it while lying stomach down on top of a single beach towel. No sun umbrella. I packed light. If I got sand everywhere, it didn’t matter. I could wash myself off later with both hands free because I wouldn’t be holding and washing a small toddler under a low pressure beach shower when I was done. Nope. Not today.

It was sunny with a few clouds here and there. I heard kids laughing and playing in the water. The rest of the noise around me was drowned out by the sound of the waves crashing on the shore.

I was reading my book when I saw something.

At first, I didn’t know what I saw. But then I saw it again.

Two small, black eyes peeking above the yellow sand. Its body almost looked clear against the hue of the sand around it. Or was it camouflaged? I couldn’t tell through my squinting from the sun reflecting off of the sand.

I dug in my bag for my sunglasses. The sun had gotten brighter.

Darn, where are they?

Holding my hand above my eyes to shield the excess afternoon sun high above my head, I looked at the spot where I had seen those tiny, black eyes floating above the ground.

They were gone.

I looked around to see if the creature had moved. If it had, wow that would’ve been quick. But I didn’t see anything.

I lost interest and went back to my book. Every so often I would look back at the spot to see if it had emerged again.

Nothing.

I ran my fingers through my hair.

Oh, there they are! My sunglasses were on top of my head the whole time!

I put my sunglasses on. I was grateful for them shielding my eyes from the glare of the sun.

I started reading my book again. Until I saw something moving just a few feet in front of me.

It was definitely a small crab. It was the one I saw in the hole peeking out. Now I could see his full body. He was, in fact, camouflaged with the sand. Was his eyes fixated on me? I couldn’t tell. He was facing me and seemed to notice that I noticed him? He was no longer an ‘it’ to me. I decided to address him as a ‘he’, since it seemed like a good idea.

I smiled at him as he walked sideways. He was fast. Really fast. I wasn’t afraid because he seemed skittish and afraid of me too. Or at least untrustworthy. Whatever the case, I was fine with him as long as he didn’t get too close.

I found him fascinating though. I couldn’t stop watching him.

My book had now been dog-eared and put down on the end of my beach towel. I never took my eyes off of him. I didn’t want him to disappear again.

Side to side he walked. Always back and forth. Back and forth. Always facing me.

He was never constant with his side to side stroll back and forth. He would stop for a long while and then, out of nowhere, whoosh!

Then, he vanished back into his hole in the sand again.

You’re a funny guy, I thought.

Should I name him?

Well…why not? A childish game was always a good idea in times like this when there was nothing else to do when stalking a crab.

How about Sebastian? Too cliché?

How about Mr. Krabs?

Yes! The SpongeBob pun is what I’ll choose for this game.

Then, I started talking to him in whispers.

I wanted to encourage him to come out.

I wanted to watch him walk sideways again. It was amusing.

Psst! Mr. Krabs? Will you be in that hole the whole time or will you come out and walk side to side again?

He didn’t come out.

Maybe he didn’t hear me.

The waves were pretty loud and there was a lot of seagulls out. Do seagulls eat crabs? I think they do.

That makes a lot more sense on why he is hiding rather than from a human lady that keeps staring at him.

Misster Krabs….?

I whispered with exaggerated enunciation in a singsong voice. Maybe that’ll tempt him into coming out and he will no longer fear getting eaten by a bunch of seagulls.

Suddenly, I saw a tiny, black dot appear out of the sand.

An eye! He heard me!

I got embarrassingly giddy about that eye appearing. I stopped and looked around to see if anyone noticed.

Nobody noticed.

You can hear me, can’t you? Stop being so cowardly and face your fears! You will be eaten regardless so you might as well enjoy your day in the sun instead of in a hole!

The other eye appeared.

I am the crab whisperer! I wonder if that could be a profession?

Mr. Krabs, I’ll strike a deal with you, I whispered. If you get out of that hole and let me watch you do that side to side dance, I promise I will keep the seagulls from eating you. Sound good?

Both of the small, black eyes disappeared back into the hole.

I scoffed as if it were personal. Does that mean he doesn’t believe me?

Okay, Mr. Krabs. Suit yourself.

I picked up the book as if the action of ignoring him was going to hurt his feelings.

With the book in my hand, I watched the hole through my dark, polarized sunglasses.

I started to wonder if stalking a crab and talking to it were early signs of an upcoming mental breakdown.

Either way, you were a cool crab, Mr. Krabs.

Short StoryHumor
1

About the Creator

T.R. MAGNO

My name is T.R. Magno. I am a writer and I love to travel, spend time with my family, and immerse myself in other cultures. My favorite thing is really good food and laughing. Check out my writing: https://tiffanyrmagno.journoportfolio.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.