Fiction logo

Mother's Recipe

Preparing mothers delicious chocolate cake!

By Matthew KeoghPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Mother's Recipe
Photo by Jordane Mathieu on Unsplash

It’s always one more bloody slice, isn’t it? The velvety smooth deliciousness and I’m not even sure that’s an actual word, but it’s the only one that describes the euphoric taste. The top layer is the frosting. I swear this layer hurts my teeth but how sweet it is on the tongue. The second layer is so fluffy when cooked right. Next layer is always tougher and some people don’t like it that way but I think it is exquisite. I’m not even fussed if there’s a minor burn on the surface. Adds to the taste, doesn’t it? 

Now I have a very strict method when I cook cake. Always fresh ingredients. The Fresher the better, mother always said. Some kind of milk is needed to give it that fluffy texture and also egg but I know how the kids these days have their dietary fads so there are substitutes. I find soya or oat milk can be a suitable alternative. You must really work the ingredients together and work in a good amount of air so the cake is nice and fluffy when it comes out. I like to go with nice dark chocolate. It really compliments the key ingredient of the cake. 

Oh, heavens, I almost forgot! Always preheat the oven. Introducing the mixture to immediate heat really seals in the taste. Try not to add too much sugar to the mixture. When the fats break down, they create a kind of sweetness and sugar just seems artificial compared to it. Well, into the oven for about 30 minutes but monitor it. Like it said, a little burning on the top is fine but anymore and you’ll ruin the whole thing. 

Whilst the mixture is cooking we can make the frosting. I always use mothers buttercream recipe. 33% fat whipped cream is a must. There’s already enough fat from all the ingredients in the mixture. Plus, I am sure my thighs will thank me later. Whipping cream, cream cheese, vanilla extract and just a tad of pure icing sugar. Now I can’t quite describe the effect this has on the cake maybe there’s a taste difference or maybe it’s just the way it makes the colour really pop but I love adding a little colouring to the frosting. Red colouring is best and also leave it out with the lid off for a little while so it thickens slightly. 

Marvelous! The cake is done! Always remember to use oven gloves. Sometimes I get such crazy cravings I just grab the cake with my bare hands! It’s perfect. Just a little burnt on the edge. Got to let it cool slightly, or the frosting coagulates. 

You are going to love this Harry.

I could barely understand the lady who used my name. I felt so drained. I can’t believe one of the last things I am going to do is eat a cake. At this point I’ve given up trying to protest her actions. I guess I’ve come to terms with my fate. No windows and only one door, so there was no hope of escaping. Even if I had my legs. 

There we go Harry. Mother’s recipe. The frosting is all done! You can have a nice big slice for being such a great guest. 

She put the slice in front of me. I chuckled. It looked like it would be a nice cake. If it wasn’t for the fact it wasn’t exactly a chocolate cake. The last thing I felt was a shooting pain where my legs had been just 30 minutes ago and then all went black. 

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.