Fiction logo

Moonsong Forest

The Forest of Wishes

By Mimi Published 10 months ago 12 min read

When you hear of an enchanted forest, what comes to mind? Sparkled shimmers on a forest floor? Lights of fairies and streams of magic? Well, have you heard of the Moonsong Forest? Probably not, but this is the best introduction process for you, as the reader, to experience the unfortunate vision of this forest by the details alone; as it never shows to the same person twice in a lifetime, or so the legend says. This forest has a singular witch for its current ally, nameless and timeless. No one has seen her face, but they would see her by glimpses alone. Her scent is of cedar and lavender, her hair silver and glittering like stars. Her attire was what resembles the galaxy, patterns of gaseous swirls of a multitude of colors, patterns, and lengths to each individual person. The forest is alive and well with magic elongating its lifespan.

The forest is the home of many creatures, those of magic, those of genetics, all organic to the woods of this caliber. It is said that if you are summoned by the witch herself, she will grant you one wish. The intent of your imagination was set upon this wish, but if you sought out the witch for the sake of the wish, she would lead you into a dead end of the magic forest, and you will slowly lose your life. No one knows what the victims see when she leads them there, or where she goes after the dead end is presented. But those who have gotten their wish had conversations with the witch, some ranging to feeling as if she cast a spell to levitate them to the wishing stones, or if it felt like a game.

I have always heard of these stories since I was a child, but I never used to fixate on them. But now that I know the forest actually grants wishes, I would just like to talk to the witch. I don't want the wish, per se, however I do want to ask the witch a few questions. Like for example, how long has she been in the forest? And what brought her there? What made her want to protect or stay in the forest? Was she the only one with this job? There are still so many questions I want to learn. I sit outside in my garden, watching birds prickle the grounds for food and glide past one another to find less scavenged soil. I was letting the soft breeze slide past my face when I heard a woman humming in the distance. I looked forward, and seen a woman. Her face was hidden, with only her lips visible. Her lips looked plump and moisturized well, glossy almost. She then raised her hands up, curling her fingers toward herself in a beckoning way.

I was speechless. Her skin looked absolutely flawless, her copper skin glowing with glints of gold. Silver and gold necklaces matched well with her beautiful tones, her skin glistening like stars. She wore a cotton white fur shawl atop a gorgeous deep green velvet mini dress. Her shoes were very conventional for the city, not for the woods, as they were as white as the shawl, yet not dirty. This had to be the witch, but I was entranced by her humming. Her song was so sweet and calming, almost like the sound was getting me drunk the longer I heard it. The humming made my body tingle and quake, almost like a boat rocking slightly on a calm riverbank.

I was distracted by her beautiful humming coming to an end before I realized I was outside, right next to her. I was startled, but her voice took all my focus. "Are you ready for the journey we share?" she spoke very softly while extending her hand to me. I took her hand, her grip somewhat weak yet firm, soft as silk yet hard like a diamond. Her hips swayed with each step, then she began speaking again. "So I hear you have questions for me, yet do not want the enchanted wish." I looked at her shocked. That thought never left my head, let alone my mouth. I looked at her, as she was casually looking forward still walking at the same pace while upkeeping the conversation, not looking my way once. The conversation went like this:

"What is your name?"

"Moonsong."

"Pretty name."

"Thank you, and you are?"

"Felix. I have some personal questions if you don't mind."

"Ask away'"

"How long have you been in these woods?"

"845 years, and counting with my luck."

"Wow, that is a very long time. How do you keep sane?"

"With the nature and magic in and around me, I have many outlets to live my life as full as I see fit. If I chose to leave, I simply leave."

"What made you want to protect or stay in the forest? What possessed you to stay? Is something forcing you-"

She stopped walking. I instantly froze with her, as she turned to me, fixing her posture to a statue-like pose yet dainty. She giggled a little bit before answering, tilting her head slightly upwards, playfully. "This forest is a part of me. She comforts me, replenishes me, and nurtures me in every pillar I have in my life. I want for nothing, crave for nothing, and the reasons I do not are within this forest alone. I protect her because she is precious to me, and has every right for protection as anywhere else sacred. I love my forest, and she loves me too." She opened her hand slowly, slightly exposing sparks and and lights, dancing to their own beat. As soon as she let the lights fall, the forest floor lit up like an instantaneous reaction, sending luminous shock waves in a ripple effect all around us.

I looked in awe as the forest lit up from the ground and reached towards the roots of the trees, spiking up to the trunks and snaking its way to the leaves as well. it was like it was stright out of a dream. Then, the creatures came out, little ones first. The fireflies danced with the fairies and pixies, swarming into intricate shapes and waves, lifting my hair under my ears and giggling as they passed, tickling my earlobes. I let out some laughs as the tickling got more playful, and they twirled me. when I made the full 360, the other animals of both magic and regular sightings, from deer to wood nymphs, the birds and the water lily golems, all sorts of creatures made their appearance in harmony, all while the witch began to levitate a bit.

She was still holding my hand, and I started to lift with her. All of a sudden, I was weightless, floating alongside her. Floating alongside her while her laughter trembled the very leaves that were aflame with glittering adornments, her hair began to float as if we were in space. Her outfit started to change from the deep green to a sparkly black thigh slit dress, lengthening from her higher portion of her thigh to a length that kissed her ankles. Her shoes were now of a classy ballroom vibe, like a vixen in the halls of Prada. Our environment started to change as we started to fall slowly towards the ground again, the floors now of marble.

The click clack of her shoes hitting the floor while she lead me to her side again, my outfit now changed into alike attire. I was shook to my core, because I remember watching everything with no words, just listening to everything and watching the environment, I never suspected my clothes would change too! My dress was a ruby velvet, thigh length, my legs were adorned with brown mesh stockings, matched with black velvet shoes and my jewelry was a mix of diamonds and pearls. Silver and gold adorned my neck, as I drug my fingers across them slightly, I didn't want to break anything. This felt expensive, yet we still seemed to be in the forest.

"Are you almost ready for your next journey?" Her face now visible. Her face was beautiful, with grey-green eyes, double beauty marks just below her left eye, her skin smooth like copper colored porcelain, her scent of vanilla and peonies. Her hair, lustrous and silver, ran down her shoulders in thick Marley braids, sprinkled with golden accessories. Her necklaces laid gently on her collar bones, her skin glowing from the sun beaming through the high paneled window sills around this throne room. She sat in the cushioned chair in the middle of this massive room, crossing her legs like a lady with the slit side exposed.

"What will your wish be?" the witch asked, softly yet firm, beckoning me to have a seat in front of her. I took my seat with slight hesitation, everything was changing in ways I was not used to, and at an alarming pace that just screamed magic. I sat on the cushioned seat, contemplating what my wish would be. She told me to hold out my hands, and I followed instructions without hesitation. Her hands were soft as cashmere, and warm as a campfire. I looked at her honestly, "I don't have a wish other than to get answers from you directly. I have asked you only a few, but I wish I could ask you new questions whenever they arise, if that isn't too much to ask."

She blinked for a bit, seemingly confused. She looked around, each of the walls melting into the forest again, this time in a clearing, a glowing glade with fireflies hovering near our ankles, my clothes back to normally and the wind, crispy and filled with flower petals. Everything was lit up in such an array of bright and glowing specks, then she tightened her grip on my hand. "It is time to make your wish, darling. You must have something you would wish for?" she tilted her head, almost confused. I looked at our intertwined fingers, then back at her face, her eyes now brown and golden, her appearance changed again, this time as what I would imagine a forest witch would wear: she wore a velvet moss green cloak, dribbled with delicate flowers here and there and draped over her shoulders. Her sundress was knee length and a softer green, a pale sea foam color. Her hair now platinum blonde and straightened, swaying at her lower back as the wind moved her featured adornments. Her shoes were gone, yet her feet looked smooth and well kept, and painted a pretty shade of taupe with the tips melting into a eggshell white.

"I honestly didn't want to wish for anything but a simple conversation to see why you were here, and why you were the sole keeper of such a great thing that could be literally anything," I looked to her for some more answers and she was somewhat shocked by the fact I didn't have an intricate or instant wish. She closed her slightly opened mouth, and looked a bit down at the floor, flourished and tangled moss. She began to answer my questions again. "My main purpose was to make sure the wishes went to a worthy individual that proved they could handle the responsibility of the wish they wanted me to grant. As for the wish being literally anything'," she started to walk towards a stone path, with me in tow.

A breeze blew towards me, and she now smells of lavender and mangoes, and now she has ribbons in her hair, vibrant oranges and reds fluttering as a shin length skirt and a top that shown her belly a bit more, revealing tattoos of beautiful flowers and stars. Then, the forest went completely black. I started to panic a little, until she squeezed my hand for security. Then, it started to rain. Delicate tears from the clear sky, twinkled all around us igniting the floor with multicolored droplets, illuminated when they splashed on the grasses below. The air around us smelled like water lilies and pine. This place was exactly what was rumored: enchanted.

The witch pulled my hand to the table between us, which I was sure was not there previously. The rain fell around us, but stopped hitting us. The atmosphere was warmer now, like a bit of a relaxing sauna. We dried rather quickly somehow, and she inhaled, catching my attention. "My sole purpose is to find those worthy a chance to have their wish granted, but I have seemingly failed in our brief time together. This is the absolute last chance for you to have the wish gifted to you, or to exchange yourself for the wish instead. You have a minute to decide which path you will take." She didn't sound stern, yet I know her time was valuable to her, and she just stated what her purpose was here before I could even ask another question.

"I see you aren't much of a fan for questions, so I will take the wish gifted to me."

"What will your wish be?" she asked, tilting her face upwards, face hidden once again. I didn't even realize her original attire and hair style had returned. I had a time limit of course, mentally deciphering what a useful or selfless wish would consist of. Then I had a brilliant idea. I tilted my head slightly, still looking at her. "I wish to give my wish to you, so yours might be granted."

She was still, and suddenly, everything else flatlined along with her reaction. She tilted her head eerily, sending chills up my spine. She asked me if that was my wish. When I confirmed, she fell silent again, the forest starting to move in slow motion, then faster by the minute. The lights began to grow increasingly brighter than it had been in the previous whirls. Her scent, now smelling of plums and brown sugar, she had granted my wish, and was granted the grace to exit the enchanted forest as I pleased.

To this day, I remember everything she ever smelled like. It has been two years since I had that experience, but I can still remember each and every detail of the interaction as wholly as possible. I really hoped I would see her again, on a whim, but I have yet to see her since. Her scent always changes, but I remember how gentle and kind her voice had sounded. She was very enchanting.

Then it dawned on me about the possibility of exactly why she never needed or wanted for anything. Why she took so many forms the piqued my interest when I got used to a single smell. The fact she said she was the forest herself, and how she kept calling it she. The forest was magical in more ways than one, while also slipping under the radar disguised as a witch, when in fact, she was protecting herself. Her home. Her heart and soul, every branch and leaf. I was never in contact with a witch, but in fact the spirit of the forest herself. I was talking with the Enchanted forest herself. Moonshine Forest, the enchanted forest, was such a marvelous mystery, I had to leave the legendary experience in the spine and covers of a simple diary, beautifully constricted to paint the details of the very important core memories I had obtained with the covers alone.

Reader, I do encourage you to recognize that this beautiful experience does not go by one day without crossing my mind. Less and less each passing day, but never forgotten. It is one of my absolute favorite stories to tell anyone who will listen, but most people don't believe me one bit. I am fine with that as well. I assume I had passed her version of a test by the passage to home was presented. The journey was a wonderful set of live action excitement taking place, and I am still in awe how seemingly easy it was to hide in plain sight.

And even though I never get to see the enchanted forest anymore, I am still enamored by the very beauty of the entirety of this forest spiking my senses in the most beautifully intense way possible. I just wish you would get to see it one day, too.

Fantasy

About the Creator

Mimi

Fantasy stories is my specialty, along with letting my imagination run as wild as the untamed rivers during an unruly storm. I am still fairly new as a writer, but I still enjoy my craft, and I appreciate everyone who takes time to read!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mimi Written by Mimi

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.