Fiction logo

Monologue of a Madman

Soul Exchange Case Files - Issue no. 1

By CyCyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
3
https://cyrlscorner.com/soul-exchange-case-files-monologue-of-a-madman/

Before you scroll through and read the Monologue of a Madman, I want to note several things.

Even though the short stories can be read independently, they are still somewhat tied to the main series: Soul Exchange - House of Trials. You can check out the synopsis and its installations by clicking here.

Secondly, I want to affirm that my stories are fictional and should be treated as so. My short stories can also be triggering to some. So, please discontinue reading if it makes you feel uncomfortable and scared. My goal is to share the stories that dance in my head (or nightmares) and turn it into reading entertainment. If this does not bring/add joy to your life, please don't force yourself to read it.

Other than that, I genuinely thank you for checking me out, and I hope you enjoy my work.

Truly yours,

Cyrl

Monologue of a Madman

https://cyrlscorner.com/soul-exchange-case-files-monologue-of-a-madman/

It’s been a few weeks since we’ve last spoken, but your scent still lingers in my memory. Your smile and the way you fidgeted with your watch when you first spoke to me, still haunt my memory.

You see, I never forgot that day.

I never forgot how your white coat slipped off your shoulders nor how you elegantly tied up your hair, exposing your delicate neck. I never forgot how your mouth moved when you said my name.

And to this day, I still reminisce how soft your hand was when you offered it to mine.

Ah, life is fleeting.

I know that you had been playing with my heart—leaving your windows open at night so I can watch. I know how you sigh in your sleep. I know which drink you take. I know what you care about, your passions, your past.

Watch but don’t touch, they say.

I know all about you.

Though you may not know everything about me, other than what I made you believe.

You see, all this could have been avoided if you listened to me. All this pain and heartbreak could not have happened if you did not betray me so. But when I found you with him, I could not control this madness that overwhelmed my senses.

How dare he take liberties on you when it all should have been me! He did not deserve you so. I did not deserve this so.

So know this, all that I did was because I felt a deep passion for you. For you were the only one that I would go through all this trouble for.

And now I cradle you here in my arms—still and cold, as your deep blue eyes held mine. Know that I did this because you provoked me so. And I would still remember your voice when you screamed my name and how those tears glistened against your cheeks.

Ah, how life is so fragile.

As those white lab coat men take me away again, know that you have been the only one. Those impostors could not compare to you. For you were the only one who listened to me. Who felt the same way I did!

So, know this. You will forevermore live in my memories. As a companion. As a voice of reason. As an extension of me.

Note from me:

Hi! Thank you for checking out Monologue of a Madman - the first issue under my Soul Exchange Case Files (these shorts are published on my website but I will share them here as well!)

You can also connect with me on Twitter & TikTok @cyrls_corner and follow my main series: Soul Exchange House of Trials at https://cyrlscorner.com/short-stories/. Sign up for my Newsletter as well to get the latest updates on my posts. Click here.

I would truly appreciate your support whether it would be subscribing, sharing this page with your friends, or leaving me a tip (so I can get even more caffeinated and pump out more stories).

Anyhow, have a fabulous day!

Horror
3

About the Creator

CyCy

The Chaotic Creator | Writer, Poet, & Blogger | Multi-Genre | Beta-Reader

Fiverr: @cyrls_corner

Twitter: @cyrls_corner

Website: cyrlscorner.com

Sign up for my Newsletter & get updates on my latest posts by clicking here

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • N.J. Gallegos 2 years ago

    I love this! That line, ‘Ah, life is fleeting.” So perfect!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.