Fiction logo

Monday Morning

The Wait

By JBazPublished 14 days ago 5 min read
22
Monday Morning
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Dialing her number, I press the button putting my phone on speaker. Then pour myself a coffee and pop two pieces of rye bread in the toaster, waiting for my daughter to answer. We talk almost every morning since she left home.

I am startled as an unfamiliar voice on the other end answers and say's. "Hello, who am I speaking with?"

It didn't sound like Lily.

Taken back I reply. "I am calling for Lily."

A female voice speaks. "This is constable Millan. May I ask who this is?"

Realizing my mistake, I quickly answer. "Sorry, I must have dialed your number by accident."

Before I disconnect, the person on the other end calls out. "No, do not hang up. You have the correct number. As I mentioned, I am Constable Millan, and I am talking on Lily's phone."

Now I'm confused. "Why do you have her phone?"

"Sir, I was looking through her contacts when you called."

I try to process what is happening. Taking I deep breath I slowly ask. "Where is Lily?"

"Sir, before I can answer any questions I need you to tell me who you are."

Steam rolls off my coffee cup, disappearing into nothing. A clock in the other room ticks away the moments. "I am her father, that should have popped up when the phone rang."

She is quick to answer.

"Sir, my name is Marie, I am a police officer. May I ask you your name."

“Is she under arrest? Don’t tell me she was one of those protesters at the University.”

The voice becomes direct. “Sir, before we continue I need you to confirm your name, please.”

"Mark...Mark Wallen." My heart beats faster, but I am unable to say anything else.

"Mark, I am going to ask you a few questions if that is okay?"

In a daze, my eyes are drawn to particles of dust dancing in a beam of morning sun. "Sure."

"Can you tell me Lily's birthday."

My mind goes blank, how come I can’t remember? It was a bright spring morning... 8:10 a.m.

"May 15th."

"And the year, Mark?"

"2001."

"Thank you Mark, I have a few more questions if..."

Cutting Marie off. "Where is Lily, where is my daughter?"

"Mark, I cannot answer that at this time, can you please confirm your address?"

Anger surges forth. "The hell I will, where is my daughter?"

"Sir, your address please?"

There was something in her voice that makes me realize this isn't a conversation she wishes to have with me, there is empathy. I give her our address.

"Thank you Mark, we just needed the conformation. A car is already on route to your home, they will be there soon."

My mind floods with thoughts, I begin blurting them out. "Is she alright, is Lily hurt, arrested, was she in an accident?"

"Mark, I apologize. I am not at liberty to go into details…."

"Bullshit, let me talk to someone who will tell me something." I yell. "Where is my daughter?"

"Mark, the officers will explain everything when they arrive. “

“Officers? Do I need to call a lawyer?”

Our kitchen over looks our back yard, I glance up when I hear the creak of the screen door and I watch as my wife enters. Smiling, she removes her gardening gloves and tosses them on the table by the door. I stare into her eyes, there is a smudge of dirt on her right cheek from the soil.

She glances at the phone propped up in front of me. "Is that Lily? Tell her I just planted her namesake.” She calls out “Hey lily pad."

I shake my head. She see's my face and knows right away something is wrong. I don't know what to say, then Maries voice breaks the silence. "Mark, is someone there with you?"

I pull a chair out for my wife to sit. "Yes, my wife, Shannon. Lily's mom.”

Marie introduces herself. It only takes seconds for Shannon to realize our life just changed. Our house suddenly seems so small, the walls closer than they were this morning, the ceiling not as high as they once were.

Time stands still, every movement an effort, every action crawls in slow motion. The hollow sound of my breathing echoes within my head. Yet I have this urge to leave the room and jump in my car. Go and find my daughter, but fear I’ll miss an important part of the conversation between Shannon and Marie.

There has to be an answer, yet I cannot make sense of anything.

Glancing over to my wife, tears flow freely down her face, streaking the dirt on her cheek, like smeared mascara. No sound, her eyes stare out the window, I follow her gaze. We see the glow of sunshine upon the newly planted flowers. Bees are already drawn to the pollen, nestling within the soft white petals.

The faraway sounds of the clock ticks away the memories of our life together.

Marie won't tell us anything else and deep down I truly no longer want to know. I stand behind my wife, holding her shoulders. Shannon reaches up and places her hand upon mine. I feel the warmth, in some small way it gives me strength.

Maries voice becomes soft. "The officers tell me they have arrived. I'll have to hang up now. I am… so sorry."

Emptiness covers the room, like a heavy blanket in the dark.

The toaster pops and startles me, I stare in that direction and watch as a tendril of smoke spirals upward. The smell of burnt toast lingers in the air.

In the deep silence, a faint knocking echoes in the distance. I wipe the smudge from Shannon’s cheek and help her rise. Hand in hand we lean against each other and walk to the door.

Thank you,

Jason

This is from an earlier story of mine that has been adapted for the 'Just a Minute' challenge.

Short StoryLove
22

About the Creator

JBaz

I have enjoyed writing for most of my life, never professionally.

I wish to now share my stories with others, lets see where it goes.

Born and raised on the Canadian Prairies, I currently reside on the West Coast. I call both places home.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)2 days ago

    I was going to ask if you republished this but I see that in your author's notes you confirmed it!! This was just as heartbreaking the second time around and such a well chosen entry for the Just a Minute challenge!!

  • L.C. Schäfer11 days ago

    Oh no! I love the way we know without knowing, and, just like the narrator, we want to know, and don't want to know, at the same time ❤️

  • Gerald Holmes12 days ago

    This is heart wrenching. Excellent work as always.

  • Hannah Moore14 days ago

    I was thinking, I'm certain I've read this before! Excellent work though.

  • Mariann Carroll14 days ago

    I thought I read this story of yours before.

  • angela hepworth14 days ago

    So intense and fear inducing! Amazing work here.

  • So happy that you entered this story into the challenge! I enjoyed the reread!

  • Shirley Belk14 days ago

    This is my first read, but I see that there was another? You have such an emotional pull on your audience. Your stories always feel soooo real.

  • Mark Gagnon14 days ago

    Ok, this was intense and every parent's nightmare. Well done, Jason, but I don't think I'll be re-reading it.

  • Heather Hubler14 days ago

    I struggled through this story as it's one of my very worst fears laid out before me. You wrote this so incredibly well, Jason. Details were perfect, pacing and revealing details, so on point. Really well done, my friend :)

  • Lamar Wiggins14 days ago

    I remember this story! Just as suspenseful as the first time! I love the adaptation!

  • Thavien Yliaster14 days ago

    Way to intensify the tension. You never let up on the suspense for a moment. Everything takes its time. Dichotomy is superbly placed. I especially like the scene about the buzzing bees in the sunshine. As the world continues to spin whether or not we're on it. That's an important that hits home when our world is shaken. When my mom almost passed away she told me that she realized that while in her hospital bed, "the world keeps on turning." Sure we all hear it, but how many of us can truly come to terms with that? Not a whole lot, especially if we haven't experienced it before. Nice one, JBaz. Lowkey though, my mind was hoping that Lily had some elaborate ruse as if to make her parents relax after having an emotional Rollercoaster. Like, one girl wrote a letter about running away, pregnant, with a motorcycle boyfriend older than her dad and finished that letter with, "There's worse things than a Letter D on my report card." Like, I hope it's just a prank to get her parents to lighten up.

  • Christy Munson14 days ago

    Devastating story but writing ✍️

  • Cathy holmes14 days ago

    This reads like a winner. Good luck. 👏👏

  • Andrea Corwin 14 days ago

    Oh no, this is frightening and so sad. Good job on this story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.