Fiction logo

Mom, The Boys, And Grandchildren

Also, I shouldn’t forget the girlfriend and the job…

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
4
Mom, The Boys, And Grandchildren
Photo by Emir Saldierna on Unsplash

When I got home, I called mom right away. It was important that I wish her Merry Christmas and that I tell her about my quick trip to see my boy and his family and then to let her know why I went and why it was important to fill her in right away.

I told her that we had plans to spend Christmas Eve together when Danny told me about them losing a baby girl before I even knew that Marie was pregnant. Mom knew that I thought she may be pregnant as I had told her that before. Mom is close to my boys, and she is close to my ex-wife.

She said, “Danny called probably right after he called you. He sounded so sad. I told them that if they want another child, they will have another child. I also told them to remember that they will probably each grieve differently and that they should hold each other close during this time."

Then she said, "Now, tell me about Stephanie? I heard she relapsed and is in treatment.” I said, I wasn’t surprised that she knew as I didn’t ask anyone to keep it secret. She then said, “I was wondering why I wasn’t on your list to call for support? You know I will always be here for you! I decided to wait until you called me.”

I told her I only today figured out that I thought she would lecture me about Stephanie. Like how we may have moved too fast, getting involved with someone in recovery, getting engaged, and planning to be married before we even knew much about each other!

She said, “Is that true? Why ever would I need to tell you all of that if you already know that? I would want to hug and comfort you! I know how difficult your divorce was for you. So, what are your plans now?” I then told her about Stephanie being in treatment in Mexico and not having phone calls or visitors for a few weeks. I told her because I was given the work from home for Mexico, I would be staying with Stephanie's daughter, her husband, and her granddaughter down there for now.

I said that Stephanie and I will find our own place when she is allowed to leave treatment. Then I told mom that she may be in a treatment program for a month to a year. My work from home in Mexico is a trial thing that could end at any time. I expect to have plenty of work to do from Mexico and will keep busy while Stephanie is in treatment.

After that felt over, I proceeded to ask about her plans and if she might visit Mexico this year? I said we probably won’t have a wedding as I thought we might before the relapse happened. Then I told mom it would be nice to see her anytime and if she could make it, please do plan to come. I volunteered that I may be able to help with her plane fare as all my tickets are free now that my youngest boy, Steven is a Steward.

Mom said, “That is great! I am afraid I won't make it anytime soon. I started teaching online and it is ongoing if people continue to register for the class. Then I am still doing a group at a crisis shelter once a week and I expect to get called back to the kids' shelter, once the pandemic dies down again. I will miss seeing you, but I am hoping we can continue our phone visits. I would think we could even have some face time once in a while?”

It was a nice conversation and I felt better. It is funny how a parent is a parent, even when we get old. I would need to get an early start tomorrow to have lunch with Steven and the boys. I still wasn’t sure if he would have the boys or not. I had already ordered their gifts and they may have gotten them already too.

After journaling I was off to sleep, I decided to repeat my gratitude list for tonight, so I could continue with that attitude on my trip tomorrow.

The next morning as I was loading the car, I found I was excited to see my son and his boys. I know that even though he and his ex-wife had a rough divorce, they have been parenting well together for some time. The boys have met Stephanie a few times now and had teased me about having a girlfriend. It was so cute when they did that.

I was bringing pictures of the Tiny house studio in its finished look to show Steven. I’m not sure Steven got the pictures of the finished patio with the firepit and deck. It really is great, and I am hopeful that it will get finished this next year yet.

It was a beautiful, sunny drive and I was so pleased again that I decided to do this. I was disappointed to not see the boys on Christmas Eve but realized it was meant to be and I have been enjoying our time together in spite of the troubles.

When I pull up to the restaurant, I am early, and Steven isn’t here yet. I’m just glad the restaurant is open as I didn’t think to check on it.

I get seated and ask for a table for four when Steven and the boys come in together. Steven apologized and then said, "I had to pick up the boys last minute as I didn’t know if I would get them until the last minute."

I was thrilled and I’m sure I showed it!! The boys decide that they have had plenty of turkey and would like burgers, fries, and malts. I had turkey dinner with asparagus and brussel sprouts, mashed potatoes, gravy, and strawberry rhubarb pie. My favorite pie!

Our meals were great, and our conversation was even better. Steven was happy to have his boys and it sounded as though everything the boys talked about was as new to him as it was to me. We talked about school, presents and yes, they got their gifts very recently. They were excited about their gifts and said it was one of their better Christmases!

I let them know that I still had to pack to go to Mexico tomorrow with their dad. The boys said that they like that their dad is a Steward as at some point they will be able to travel and the oldest said he may want to be a pilot and he can then fly with his dad! I said that is a great idea! His dad looked so proud! When we were all talked out, I paid for the meal, and we took our leave.

On the drive home I was so content. My boys really are men! I am so proud of how they have turned out. What good fathers they are and family men. I am so happy right now and grateful. I can live on this for another year, I thought.

Steven said he may be interested in living at the house, and he could pay me the rent he is paying now. He said MSP is a major hub and I live close to the airport, and he would like it if that helped us out.

I gave him a key! Imagine that. Things are really falling into place for this work from Mexico move. And I feel better knowing that family will be in the house while we are gone.

Short Story
4

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.