Fiction logo

Mo Cuishle

My Pulse (Irish)

By Jessica HarrisPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like
Mo Cuishle
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

The sweet promise of peace was calling to her soul. As the sun sets and the moon makes its appearance. How I wish I was able to greet it this evening. To soak in the familiar feeling of rightness. As I hide out in this termite eaten, old, broken down, dusty barn. I will only allow myself to wish. As the King's warriors still look for me.

At the time it seemed like a wonderful idea, to steal from the King's kitchen. Now I'm just wishing I was a better thief. At the time my thoughts were only for the mother and child. Who needed the food more than that spooled, plump, old King.

Really? How can a King, someone in charge of the people he rules over, eat like it's Thanksgiving everyday; but not provide food or means to get food to his kingdom?

Why do we still let him sit up there in that warm castle? While we work from dusk to dawn, shed our blood, break our bones, and fight off the beasts. Not to mention if you are female you better go ahead and walk your butt into the cave of the Demon Beasts. Its a better fate than being sent into the lotto.

If I was stronger I would've walked into that cave of Demon Beasts. Of course I'm my Daddy's child and have too much pride. Now I get to be sent off to the Lotto and become the wife of the “lucky” winner. Yeah me.

“Why are you sitting in here?” Asks this deep, sexy, smoker's voice.

I don't answer. Scared it's one of the Kings Warriors. I try to see into the darkness, but the sun has now set completely and it seems even the stars and moon are hiding.

“I will ask you, one more time.” Says that sexy voice again, but now closer to me. “Why are you sitting in here? In my home?”

My only answer is a two by four to it`s voice. It's not my fault this HUGE owl head is the owner of that sexy voice. He has amazing speed and strength. Before the board made contact, he reached out with his clawed hand and broke it in two.

I can't tell if I angered him. I curl up into a ball and pray he kills me quickly. Instead he just stands in a strange crouch and laughs. If I wasn't so scared, I would think his laugh was even sexier then his voice. Surprisingly the more he seems like he is laughing at me. The calmer and peaceful I become.

Still laughing he says “ Do you not know who I am?”

I shake my head no, as I'm still too scared to speak.

“I'm King of the Night, Ruler of the Beasts! You can call me Uilliam.” He says.

“Can I call you Liam for short?” I whisper, still too scared the warriors may still be out there.

“Yes" he says with laughter in his voice. "Now can I have your name?” he asks.

“Yes.” I stutter. “It`s Alma.”

“Well, Alma, it's a pleasure to meet you. Now then, since we are now friends. Would you like to come and have a seat at the table? Are you hungry? While we eat you can tell me why you are hiding in my home.” he says in his sexy voice.

As I start to slowly get up from my hiding spot I keep my senses sharp. Letting the night become an extension of me. Looking and feeling for any sign of danger, or of the warriors. I can feel Liam's eyes on me still. Watching me, but letting me do what I need to. Even though I can tell he wants to ask questions. As I walk to the chair he has pulled out for me. I got my first good look at him.

He is an owl and human mix, and he is huge! I'm only 5.2 and 140 lbs, so he's gotta be 6 feet at least. His arms are nothing but muscle with hands that are clawed. You can just look at his legs and see the power of strength in them. Oh, and his wings! OMG! He has this aura around him that is just pulsing with strength, wisdom, kindness, and with a hint of deadly darkness. The Gold and White coloring of his feathers, have an otherworldly beauty. That would look feminina on some, but on him… He looks magnificent.

I sit down in the chair while he pushes my chair to the table. Then he walks into his kitchen. How did I miss this beautifully built kitchen! Everything is hand crafted beautifully built from wood. The details in the wood looks as if whoever did this was carving out scenes from a story book.

While he rummages through the pantry and fridge he asks “ Is soap and crackers Okay? It's been awhile since anyone has just come to visit.”

“Yes” I say. “Thank you” I take a breath to hopefully steady my nerves. “ I was hiding from the King's Warriors. I stole from him and he didn't take too kindly to it.”

After a minute he turns to me and asks“Why would you want to steal from your King? What did you steal?” He asks this as if he already knows my answer and is only curious as to what I'm going to say.

“He's a selfish ruler, who only thinks of himself. That mother and child have been starving for days. I was only trying to help them.” I say with more strength in my voice than how I felt.

As he sets the bowls of soup on the table and two glasses of ice water, he asks. “Why you? Where is her husband? The child's father?”

“The warriors tossed him into the cave to feed the Demon Beasts. He worked harder than any man to take care of his family…. Then we had that sand storm, he was never able to make it to the shelter…. The warriors found him before we did. I could have saved him…….. He was still breathing….. They didn't care. They said he wasn't worth saving, it would cost less to feed him to the Demon Beasts.” I try not to cry, to show weakness, but I can't stop. Not when the gates of this pain finally opens. “ He was my older brother…….. My sister-in-law and nephew will not survive. They have always been sickly, but now it's like they have given up all hope.”

As I cry he comes over to me, lifts me up in his strong arms, and carries me to the couch. Where he sits down with me on his lap while wrapping his wings around me. As to somehow protect me from my memories. It's so sweet and kind that I cry even harder.

“It's okay, Mo Cuishle, you are safe here.” He says it like, he wants to destroy whatever is the reason for my tears.

I should stop crying, I need to stop. I need to leave, but it feels right here. It feels safe and peaceful. Something only the Night and Moon can give me. Why is this? Why does this Owl-Man King, Ruler of the Beasts, feel as if this is where I belong? Where I am able to let my guards down and show weakness?

“Ttthhaannk yyoouu.” I stutter while my tears are finally ending. He just nods his head, but doesn't say anything. He just tightened his hold on me, as if to say I know you're still not okay.

"Why are you, a King and a Ruler, living in this old barn? Why are you not living with your kingdom in a castle?" I ask him. Now I feel warm and safe my bravery has come back. Apparently so has my bold mouth.

He takes a moment before he speaks. "I ran away. Yes, Mo Cuishle, I Ran from my duties."

We both just sit there. After a moment he seems his ready to explain.

"I may be King of the Night, Ruler of the Beasts; but my kind only has one life-mate. When we get older and can't find our other half. We start to go wild. The Beasts are those who never found their Life-Mate. I'm older then I look and have watched many life times go by. The call of the beast has become stronger." he tells me

I can tell there is more he wanted to say, but at that moment we both felt the air go still. Something is wrong. Very wrong. I can tell he senses it to. They found me. I have to leave. I can't let the Warriors find my Night King.... What what? When did I start thinking him of mine? That's insane.

I try to break free of his grasp and run, but he just stands up and pulls me into his wing.

"Hush, Mo Cuishle, I will not let them get to you." he tells me sternly.

"I can protect myself! I am no child!" I tell him

He gives me this dangerous grin and just says "I know, but let me take the pleasure in drawing blood. From those who want to harm what's mine."

That he did.

There were so many of them. It happened way to fast for my eyes to see, at least what I could see from under his wings. He fought them like a mighty warrior. All while never letting me go and keeping me safe. His wings as soft as they look were stronger then any shield made of the strongest metals. Nothing could pierce it. My Night King's anger was growing to the point he didn't care how these warriors ended. That just had to be no more.

When he finally slain the last one, he was still upset. Looking for more blood to shed. I push my way around from under his wing. He lets me. I get my first look at the Barn's first floor. It's bloody, it's a slaughter house.

I stand in front of him, put my right hand on his chest, all while keeping my left hand on his side. He doesn't look at me. "Liam" I say softly. He still doesn't look at me."Ulliam, Look at me." I got his attention. He looks down at me, but doesn't say anything. I wait till I see his eyes focus on me and not still on the scene behind me. "Thank you, I'm safe. Come back to me now. There is nothing more for you to do. Other then well, clean up the mess." I say with a shy grin quietly. He gives me a chuckle, and with one word the bloody scene behind me is gone. The barn is back to his self. Like nothing ever happened.

"Hhooww??" I stutter

"The magic of the Beast, and did you forget?? I'm King of the Night, Ruler of the Beasts." he says with a sexy chuckle.

by: fav.pen_dungeons and dragons

Fable
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Harris

I`m a stay-at-home mother of two boys and 2 girls. A wife to an amazing husband. I love reading and writing from facts to fiction, romance, history, travel. and more. This is all new to me. I have never made my writings public till now/.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.