Fiction logo

Mission To Pluto

Chapter One: The Guardian

By Leona ValentinePublished 2 years ago 16 min read
Like

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. I have been hearing these blood-curdling screams so many times now. I hear them when I go to sleep at night. I hear them when I meditate during the day. I hear them when I simply close my eyes for only a minute. A minute. These screams have been haunting me for days now, and I cannot understand why. It is driving me insane. Who are the ones screaming? The people who disappeared? I must be living in one big nightmare – that I may never wake up from.

I wish someone can hear me screaming as this seven-foot-tall lizard thing is chasing me in the center of Philadelphia. I want at least one person to hear me in trouble. But I doubt it is possible considering the fact that I seem to be the only human left on this planet. This predicament is even scarier while the sun is setting. I cannot help but look back as I am sprinting for my life. I have to see how close the lizard is getting. Why is this freak wearing clothes and carrying a spear anyway? So many questions need to be answered. Starting with - where the hell is everyone?

Suddenly, I hear this thunderous grunt and tumble behind me. I turn around and see the same towering lizard on the ground. The dude actually tripped over a large pothole. Stupid. I am not going to stop and catch my breath even though the predator was down. This is my opportunity to go further and find a good hiding spot. Then, I will catch my breath.

I make a right turn and continue to run on this one-way street. I wish I could drive off in one of these parked cars. Unfortunately, I have not had any luck starting a vehicle for the past few days. However, there is this dark blue 2019 Chrysler Pacifica Hybrid minivan parked a few yards ahead of me. I immediately recognize the year and model because my uncle, who raised me, drove the same thing except his was burgundy. Please let this Pacifica be unlocked. I hurry to the vehicle to pull the door handle, and sure enough, it is a miracle. I quickly enter the Pacifica before getting caught to lock myself inside. Driving away would be out of the question. I do not see the keys anyway. Hiding in the back is the next best thing.

That was not the first time I was being chased. And that may not be the last. Two days ago, there were five of them chasing me. Yes, five. They almost caught me too. Who knows how many of them are out there looking for me? Out of the five who were chasing me, one of them had this weird pistol. This pistol reminded me of one of those Theragun massagers, and the darn thing was shooting out bright green lasers. What the hell? Luckily, the lizard was not a good shooter. The laser ended up piercing my jacket. I was able to lose them – and the busted jacket. The cold never bothered me anyway.

“CHARON FOSTER! YOU CAN NOT HIDE FROM US!” A lizard screams ferociously.

How in the hell do they know my name anyway? What do they want from me other than the death part? Now, I have to sink deeper into the back of this minivan, hoping I do not get caught. I tilt my head up and carefully peek through the window. One is slowly walking past the minivan. Another one is following its friend. Great, there are two. Nope, I stand corrected. Another lizard is creeping right after the second one. Now, there are three of them nearby, and they are hunting for me. I am praying that they do not find me here. I wonder if one of them was chasing me earlier today. Or is he still back there on the ground? I mean how can you miss that big-ass pothole? I guess that creature was so focused on capturing me that he did not pay attention.

“We will find you, Charon Foster,” the second lizard declares.

Why do these guys have to say my full name anyway? Is there another Charon they are looking for or what?

“I think she ran down there,” the third lizard speaks up.

The first lizard suggests, “Then, we should search there.”

The sound of their presence subsides. I cannot hear them anymore. Also, I am fortunate enough to not smell them anymore. I now know it is safe for me to sit up and look outside. Nope. Not one freak show. If I am unable to start this minivan and drive away, I want so badly to get out and keep walking. However, it is probably not the right time. I should probably wait a few minutes before doing that. But I am starving. I ran out of Snickers. I still have my bottle of water though.

It has been eight days since I have been drifting alone. Why? Because the people around me vanished. They completely vanished. They magically disappeared within a second. I do not know what the hell happened to them. It was early morning, and I remember having my iced Chai latte and roasted red peppers egg bites at Starbucks in Manhattan. I was frantically trying to finish my Physics paper on my Acer laptop before winter break as the fairly new barista was hitting on me. The guy was kind of cute. If I knew that was the last day everyone was going to be on Earth, I would have slept with him on the first day he spoke to me. The guy – I think his name was Andrew – was bragging about his new Ford Mustang, and suddenly, he stopped. I was relieved. Then, I found out why he was silent. He was gone – along with the rest of the people in Manhattan. I could not wrap my head around this bizarre, unreal situation. It was not just Manhattan. It was the rest of the country. It was the rest of the world.

For days, I have been contemplating. Initially, I thought that what happened was a rapture. If I am not mistaken, a rapture is when it’s the end of the world, and all the Christians go to heaven – or something like that. Then, it actually dawned on me. Would sinners and nonbelievers be left behind as well? So, this cannot be a rapture. Right? Maybe I am actually sleeping, and I am locked in a long-ass dream. Or maybe I died, and this is my hell. If I am wrong about these things, then something big is happening, and I need to know what.

AFTER SUNRISE

I wake up in the backseat of the Pacifica, and I notice that it is early morning. I cannot believe that I slept that long. I was extremely exhausted after all of that running yesterday anyway. There seem to be no tall lizards lurking around, so now would probably be the perfect time to find something to eat. My stomach abruptly growls, not wanting me to waste any more time.

“Damn, I could go for some pancakes and a cheese omelet.” I place my hands on my belly.

This tempting idea has me thinking.

ONE HOUR LATER

Finding a vacant residence in a nearby apartment was super easy. Now, finding a vacant residence with pancakes and eggs in the kitchen was a little bit more challenging, but I was able to find one within thirty minutes. It has been weeks since I ate a big meal. I guess I can finally get a break from being chased. Besides, it would be nice to chill in this elegant apartment. This tenant must have paid at least four grand a month.

As I am devouring a full stack of blueberry pancakes, an omelet, and three links of thick Italian hot sausage in the living room, I wonder if there are other survivors out there. Maybe I am not alone. Maybe I am not the only human on this planet, and I have to keep looking. Or maybe there are other crazy-ass species wanting to kill me. I chug a tall glass of orange soda only to release repugnant eructation. It is not like a fetching, wealthy guy is around to hear me anyway.

I pick up the remote control, hoping I can mentally evade the misfortune in my existing reality. Here is the thing. I know that the television is never going to activate. Dagnabbit, I am mad as a hatter. Imagination is my escape. With this new world in utter calamity, I have no shame in that.

Suddenly, I hear the sound of footsteps outside of the unit. I want to believe that it was all in my head. I am having this wishful thinking that maybe the sound is coming from the real world and that maybe I am on the verge of waking up from this horrific dream world. It is making me nervous that the sound in the hallway is getting louder, and my heart is beating faster. I wonder if one of the creatures heard my burp.

“Damn, I can’t even enjoy my pancakes,” I whisper to myself. I was planning to meditate after this delicious meal too. Scratch that idea.

I know I do not have sufficient time to finish the rest of my food, so I instantaneously grab the remaining sausage link. I dash to the coat closet which was conveniently near the couch. While hiding inside, I peek through the vented closet door to see how many tall lizards I need to dodge this time. I take a big bite of the sausage and wait.

“Let’s get this over with, freaks.”

The front door swings open and an odd figure enters. There is something unusual about this entity. It is not a giant lizard. I wish I could say that it is human – but it is evidently not. In fact, I am actually witnessing some kind of silver robot without a face. This thing is a little over six feet tall and built like the Terminator. It is definitely human-like. But the left hand is in a form of a cannon barrel. I do not even want to imagine the outcome of its target. I am not going to lie. I am more intimidated by this machine than the lizards.

“You have got to be kidding me,” I irritably mutter and aggressively wolf down what is left of the sausage quickly afterward.

Sure, I am terrified to see this huge robot. But at the same time, I am furious. I have to deal with the lizards AND the Terminator coming after me? Seriously? When you are trying to survive in an empty world that is no longer yours and you have these predators not giving you a break, it is FRUSTRATING. I am outnumbered, and there is no way I can defeat any of these guys. How many of these robots are out there anyway? Well… at least this robot is not wearing any clothes like the lizards, so he does not look that weird, I guess.

Unexpectedly, I hear something coming from the hallway. As the sounds are getting louder, I realize that they are footsteps. Great, more visitors. I notice that the footsteps are not bothering the robot. No reaction at all. It could be possible that the robot is deaf. Or maybe it is expecting a teammate. This should be fun. As the mystery partner is approaching, the robot cautiously enters one of the bedrooms.

I murmur, “Nope, I’m not in there. Try again.”

I turn my attention to the front doorway, and I see one of the lizards walking in. Wait, what? Is that death machine in cahoots with the lizards? This makes me want to give up hope to live to see the next day. Maybe I can join the screams throughout the galaxy.

The lizard boldly speaks, “I know you are here, Charon Foster.”

Again, with the full name.

“We will find you one way or another.”

The lizard starts sniffing determinedly with his nose pointing up. This gesture is making me very nervous. I fear that he will pick up my scent. Instead, he faces the kitchen and approaches the refrigerator. He opens the refrigerator door to find a variety of food stored in containers. He opens the containers to viciously gobble up the food. All I can see is the back of the beast as he feasts. At that point, I had an intention.

“You can do this, girl,” I whisper.

The door is still open. The robot is still in the bedroom. That tall freak is too busy stuffing his face. As long as I remain quiet, of course, I can leave the apartment without them knowing.

“Here goes.”

After taking a deep breath, I carefully exit the closet. As I am only a few feet away from the doorway, I unexpectedly break wind thanks to the Italian hot sausages I chose to guzzle earlier. This unpredictable occurrence captures the lizard’s attention. It looks like it is over for me. Here I am. Face to face with the monster. He aims his pistol at me. However, instead of me becoming past tense, bright red flames cover the lizard, and his body instantly explodes. A mixed color of red, green, and black guts and blood splatter all over the kitchen and even on me. Gross.

Wait a minute. That means one thing. The robot is behind me, isn’t he? I turn carefully around to face the robot. So, I see this death machine has its cannon arm facing in my direction. I guess the lizards and this thing are not in cahoots. Looks like there is a war between them and this dude. Like Freddy versus Jason. Or Alien versus Predator. Fighting over who will get the victim.

“I don’t know why you want me dead. Just get this over with.” I now accept my fate.

Strangely, the robot lowers his cannon arm. He uses his right hand to telekinetically close and lock the front door.

“I am not here to kill you, Charon Foster,” the robot responds. “I am here to protect you.”

This has me dumbfound. “Who are you? And what is going on here?”

“I am Deimos. I am your guardian.”

I start to chuckle in front of him. “You can’t be serious.” It may not be a smart move to do considering this guy has to be at least three hundred pounds, and he can probably rip my head off effortlessly with his right hand. But I cannot help it. Having a robot as your guardian? Come on. You don’t hear that every day.

“It is the truth, Charon Foster. I have proven that when I annihilated the Reptilian for you.”

“Is that what those things are called? And why is everyone calling me by my full name anyway? That feels weird.”

“What would you rather be called?”

“Charon is good.”

“Then, I will call you Charon from now on.”

As I am having a feeling of relief that I am being protected, I approach the couch to sit down. I disregard the fact that I am covered with the insides of - what I now know - a Reptilian. Relaxation is what I need.

Deimos stands only a few feet in front of me. “You want to know what is going on. I will tell you. Charon, you are the only human who is left on the planet Earth.”

I scoff. “Clearly.”

A cyan translucent screen projects out of Deimos’s chest right before my eyes. On the screen, I see what appears to be the planet Mars in space. Near Mars is a colossal spaceship. When I say COLOSSAL, I mean almost the size of Mars. My new robot friend continues to explain to me what I am dealing with. “The Reptilians teleported the human species to this spacecraft, and we have to save them.” The screen retracts into his chest.

What the hell did he just say? “Save them? You mean we have to go on that big-ass spaceship?”

“That is part of the plan. Before we can save them, it is important that we go to Pluto.”

“Go to Pluto? What do you mean by that?” This robot must have malfunctioned.

“It will all make sense when Triton sees you. He will tell you everything.”

“Why can’t you?”

“I do not have enough information stored. Therefore, I am unable to disclose the answers you need to hear. Please understand. My job is to protect you and take you to Triton.”

“Okay, fine. Can you at least answer me this?”

“I will try, Charon.”

“Why do the Reptilians want me dead? Are you able to answer that question?”

“Yes, I am able to answer that question, Charon. Here is the truth. You are half Plutonian. Your father is from Pluto. There is a history between Pluto and the Reptilians. That is all I am able to reveal to you.”

I am having difficulty processing the revelation. I want so badly to make myself a drink after what I heard. I have been at the drinking age for two months now – so why not? “That is far-fetched, Deimos.”

“Charon, it is understandable that you do not believe this. When you meet Triton, he will explain everything in full detail.”

“Okay, okay, okay. Where is this Triton?”

“He is waiting for you in Florida.”

I sigh at the thought of traveling all the way down to Florida. “So, we have to travel from Philadelphia to Florida just to see Triton? I doubt that this will be safe for me to go out there. Who knows how many Reptilians are waiting for me? It’s only two of us against them, and I don’t even have a weapon.”

“I am fully aware that the journey will not be easy, Charon. I can assure you that I am highly resilient and exceedingly proficient in my combative skills. I vow to protect you during our mission.”

I am slowly beginning to have confidence in Deimos, and I do mean slowly. “Where are you from, anyway? How long have you been here on Earth?”

“I am actually from Mars. I was built by the Zetas. They are a different alien race. I arrived three days ago, looking for you. This morning, I saw you entering this building while I was miles away.”

“Miles away? You can see that far back?”

“I was built to have a strong vision.”

The stench of the blood and guts on me is beginning to nauseate me. I take another look at the gory appearance on my attires. “I should probably take a shower.”

“We will stay here for the rest of the day and travel to Florida tomorrow morning.”

“Sounds like a plan” – I stand up from the couch – “as long as you keep those monsters away from me. I’m starting to feel a little better now that I have protection.”

“You can trust me, Charon.”

“I really hope so, Deimos. I don’t easily trust anyone. Just one more question before I shower. Maybe you can answer this one.”

“I will try.”

“What happens if I die? What happens if you fail to protect me?”

“The most horrendous, unimaginable event will happen. You may find it disturbing when Triton tells you. This is why it is very important that I go above and beyond to protect you, Charon.”

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Leona Valentine

Hi. I have been writing since I was a kid. After college, I published a poem called "Dark Heaven" in a book titled The Colors of Life. I love writing short stories, poems and more. I enjoy parenting, art, meditation, and martial arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.