Fiction logo

mispLACEd

a short story

By Cathy holmesPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 6 min read
21
created with Dall-E

How could you forget me, Janice? Of all things to leave behind, you forget me. Not your keys. Not your coat. Not even your phone, but me. How do you not even notice that I’m missing? Can’t you feel my absence?

How could you leave me here all night? You just let me sit in this bitter cold all by myself the entire evening. I’m freezing, Janice. And I’m lonely. Don’t you realize how worthless I feel without you? Do you not know that we meant to be together?

I know you were in a hurry to get home. I know you were even later than you anticipated being. But it’s not your fault, right? Nobody could blame you for getting a flat. Nobody could blame you for having to wait for help because you never bothered to learn how to change a tire.

When you called Jack, he did offer to come and change it himself, but you assured him that CAA would arrive faster than he could get there. He’s a good man, Janice. And we both know you don’t deserve him.

We both also know you lied. There was no flat tire, there was no waiting for help. There was just you, and your co-worker Mike, who you offered a ride home.

And you sure gave him a ride, didn’t you Janice? Right here in your car, where you carelessly tossed me aside and forced me to witness your depravity. All that grunting and moaning and bouncing like you were riding a mechanical bull. You might have to buy your own mechanical toy after Jack finds out what you... never mind. You know what I mean. You know what you did.

Yeah, good old Mike from Accounts. I wonder if he thinks he’s the only one you’re screwing. Well, we both know that he’d be mistaken, don’t we? Poor sod will be lucky if he didn’t pick something up from you after you tore me off. That’s his problem though, isn’t it? At least he enjoyed himself.

He has no idea you’re screwing every Tom, Dick, and Harry you can get your legs wrapped around. Or I should say every Mike, Paul, and Everett, and whoever else in the office is willing.

And do you know who else doesn’t know what you’re doing, Janice? Your husband, Jack. At least you don’t believe he knows. But he’s not a stupid man, and he knows you. He knows what you were like before he met you, and he is keenly aware that you have no excuse for some of those late arrivals. I’m fairly sure he’s already suspicious.

You tried to plan your uh, excursions well. You’d make dates when you knew Jack was busy in executive meetings, or out visiting customers or whatnot. You got lucky a couple of times when he came home early, and you made it just before him.

But what about that last time with Everett? You showed up late and had no excuse except to say that you were in a meeting. A meeting that your husband, the owner of the company, knew nothing about. Of course, Everett backed you up. Still, I can’t believe Jack fell for that.

Why did you do it Janice? What did Jack do to deserve your infidelity? He’s a good man. He took care of you when no one else wanted anything to do with you. Even your own parents threw you out on the street. They were sick at looking at you and your walk of shame all those mornings.

Oh, I know. You were a single woman back then. You weren’t doing anything wrong. But your parents didn’t see it that way. You embarrassed them with all your partying and staying out all night with different boyfriends every week.

And you continued on that path for years after you left home. You even quit college because you were too busy gallivanting to care. Yeah, I know I wasn’t there, but the stories about you were passed down from the generations before me. My mama knows what you were like, and my grandmother too. You were quite the little tart, weren’t you Janice?

But it started to take a toll on you. You got tired of all the partying and just wanted to settle down and find someone to love you for real.

And you did. You found Jack, and he fell in love with you, just like you wanted. He believed in you. He helped you to believe in yourself and made you feel worthy of his love. He married you and fathered your children. He even gave you that job in his office, once the kids were in school.

And this is how you repay him, by running around like you’re a single woman again. You know you’re not, right Janice? You sure are behaving like it though.

I don’t know why I feel sorry for you. God knows, I shouldn’t, but I do, a little. I can’t help but wonder if you’re having some sort of breakdown. Or maybe it’s a mid-life crisis. Or maybe you’re just still the same skank you always were. Either way, you certainly seem to be enjoying yourself lately. And you don't seem to be giving any thought to all you're about to throw away.

I am confident you won’t enjoy it much when Jack comes out to move your car so he can get his out. What do you think he’s going to see, Janice? I mean, it’s not like I don’t stand out like a cotton-candy pink, lace and satin peacock. Me, in all my innocent glory, just laying there on the back seat of your car, shimmering in the morning sun against the dark leather interior.

Ha. Innocent my ass! Or I guess I should say your ass. Afterall that’s what I’m usually hugging.

I could use a warm hug right now, Janice. Come and get me, please. Everything will be okay if you just come and get me. I’ll forgive you for leaving me alone in the cold all night. Jack will never have to know anything if you’ll just come. I won’t tell him, I promise.

Uh oh! I think it may already be too late, Janice. Nothing can help you now. Jack is walking down the driveway toward me.

I’ll pray for you, Janice. Well, I would if I had hands to join in formation, or a mouth to utter the words, or a heart to actually care.

CONTENT WARNINGShort Story
21

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    Ah, there's no better time spent than with an author that uses 'skank' in the storytelling. I freaking loved this!!! Although Janice is a skank, lol.

  • This was so well done, Cathy...Great job as always. You sure kept us guessing, with a bomb at the end

  • Stephanie Hoogstad3 months ago

    Well, Janice's panties certainly have a lot to say--and that's before they're even discovered. I love the line about the panties' mother and grandmother and the tales they told about Janice; it was absolute gold. You have really brought this object to life, as well as Janice and her lifetime of promiscuity. Incredible job.

  • I saw the capitalised LACE in your title and I thought this was gonna be a story of a Misplaced shoelace. Poor innocent me was in for a shock! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Then I saw your cover pic and thought it was the car. Then I thought a car is too big to be misplaced. Then when she said she tore it off, I thought it was a condom! Only when you said it was hugging her ass did I realise it was her panties, lol! Way to keep the reading guessing and second guessing! Also, GOSH! Janice is such a MFing slut!! Oh I really hope Jack kicks her to the curb! Ungrateful b*tch! As you already know, I don't tolerate cheaters! God I wish I can throw hands on her! I also loved how you went with Mike and Paul for names 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • How does one not notice you're not wearing underwear when you leave the car or enter the house or sit down at the table or use the bathroom or get ready for bed? I understand some do, but I have to admit that's way out of my wheelhouse, lol. Beyond that, what are the chances he's not going to notice that the tire has not been changed, that it doesn't match the other three either because it's brand spanking new or because it's the spare (which rarely matches the others)? Reminds me of the four kids who missed school, blaming it on a flat tire. One of the teachers said, "That's fine. You just missed a pop quiz you'll need to make up right now." Setting them down far apart from one another she continued, "Just one question: Which tire?"

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I thought it was her bra, right up to the end there! I love that you also have a "Mike in Accounts" 😁

  • Brin J.3 months ago

    Nah, she deserved to get caught. Those panties were basically flagging down Jack to see her disloyalty. At least the pink lace is faithful.😒 (Also, the mechanical bull part had me rolling🤣 )

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    Ahhh knickers!! You are going to get your karma Janice! This is clever and fun. Very you and nicely done! ❤️

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Bravo!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Hope Martin3 months ago

    Oh noooo... Janice... you made bad choices... Good job Cathy! I love this story. I love that you were able to convey this kind of emotion with a story like this.

  • A great slow unwrapping , and an excellent challenge entry

  • J3 months ago

    The way the objects' tone fluctuates makes it sound almost as if they're going through various stages of grief. Reproach, condemnation, desperation and finally detachment... almost like a jealous partner (we see what you did there). Very unique, and seamlessly witty. Cheeky, even ;)

  • This comment has been deleted

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Oh Janice. You are about to get what you deserve. A comedic way of writing about a serious topic. Well done.

  • Kodah3 months ago

    Great story Cathy!! ❤️

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    I figured out what the item was almost immediately, but I loved how you took us to the reveal. Great story!

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    I like this one!

  • Clyde E. Dawkins3 months ago

    Beautiful!!! Janice is in deep deep trouble! Amazing story!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.