Fiction logo

Miser in the jungle

A farmer had a loyal servant who worked hard for him for three years without paying his servant any wages.

By QaboosPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

Miser in the jungle

A farmer had a loyal servant who worked hard for him for three years, and he did not pay the servant any wages. At last the servant made up his mind that if the farmer did not pay him any more wages, he would not continue. The farmer was an extremely stingy miser, and he knew that the servant's mind was very simple, so he only gave him threepence, which was a penny a year. The poor servant thought it was a lot of money, and said to himself, "Why should I work so hard here and stay in such a poor place? I can now go out and play in the vast world and find my own happiness! "After speaking, he put the money in his wallet, left the farm, and started his roaming journey.

One day, as he was walking over the mountains, singing and dancing alone in a field, he met a dwarf. The dwarf asked him what made him so happy and happy, and he replied, "I am in good health, and I have a lot of wages that I have saved for three years in my pocket. What is there to worry about?" The dwarf said: "How much money is there?" The servant replied: "A full threepence." The dwarf tempted: "I am so poor, I wish you could give me that money." The servant was very kind-hearted. Seeing that he was so short and indeed poor, he felt sorry for him and gave him all his money. In return, the dwarf said to him, "You have such a kind heart, I will grant you three wishes, and you can choose whatever you like." The servant was very happy that he had made good luck and said, "I like a lot of things, but not money. First, I want a bow, with which anything I aim will fall; second, I want a violin, and when I play, everyone who hears it will dance; third, I hope everyone will meet my demands. "The dwarf said he would have what he wanted, and when he finished speaking, he conjured up a bow and arrow and a violin and gave it to him, and then disappeared.

The honest servant went on his way with surprise and excitement. Soon he met an old miser, and there was a tree where they met, and on the twig of the tree stood a bird, and the bird was chirping happily. The miser said, "Yo! What a beautiful bird! I would pay as much as I could for such a bird." When the servant heard this, he raised his bow, looked up and aimed, and the bird immediately fell and fell into the bushes under the tree. When the miser saw it, he didn't talk about money, and immediately climbed into the bushes to find the birds, but when he had just climbed inside, the servant picked up the violin and played it. As the sound of the piano came out, the miser began to dance. He jumped up and down the bushes, jumping higher and higher, and the thorns in the bushes soon hooked his clothes, and his body was scratched, scarred and dripping with blood. The miser cried: "For God's sake! Please stop playing the violin, what have I done to suffer this sin?" The servant said, "You are stingy and stingy, and you have exploited many poor people. This is just your retribution." After speaking, he played another piece. The miser finally promised to give the servant the whole hundred gold coins in the purse, all of which he had just squeezed from the poor. When the servant saw so much money, he put away the violin and happily embarked on the journey again.

As soon as the servant left, the miser slowly crawled out of the bushes. He was naked and miserable, and he couldn't help but feel resentful, and began to think about how to take revenge. Finally he ran to the judge and charged that a villain had forced him to make a deal and defrauded him into robbing him of his money. The guy had a bow hanging from his back and a violin around his neck. The judge listened and sent patrolmen around to look for him. The patrolmen soon caught the servant and took him to court to try him.

The miser said the servant cheated and robbed him of his money. The servant argued: "No, the truth is that I was paid by you after playing a piece for you." But the judge rejected the servant's defense, sentenced him to hang, and hastily closed the case.

The servant was taken out, but when he stood on the gallows stand, he said, "Your Honor, please grant me one last wish." The Dharma Palace replied, "As long as your request is not to pardon you, I can do it." "I just want to ask you to allow me to play the violin one last time." The judge said: "Let him play, he will finish it soon."

At this moment, the miser cried: "Tie me up, tie me up! I don't want to suffer this kind of pain again." But the servant had already taken the violin and began to play the tune. When the violin gave its first tone, the judge, the clerk and the custodian, and all the people began to swing, and no one could tie the miser at this point. The second tone came, and the executioner released the servant and jumped up. By the time he finished the first bar of the piece, all the people - the judge, the court governor, and the miser, including all the bystanders - danced together, and at first they danced very fast and excited, but soon they were exhausted. The playing didn't stop, and they couldn't stop dancing. They started shouting and begging him not to play the violin again, but he turned a deaf ear to their begging and didn't stop for a moment, until the judge not only pardoned him of the death penalty, but also promised to return the hundred gold coins to him, and he put down the violin.

Then he called to the miser and said, "Now tell everyone, where did you get these gold coins? Otherwise, I will only use you for entertainment." After saying that, he picked up the violin again. The miser was terrified and had to admit in front of everyone: "I embezzled it, and I admit that it was all looted." The servant put down the violin and walked down the gallows, and the miser was pushed up and took the servant's place.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Qaboos

I'm Qaboos and I speak for myself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.