Fiction logo

Midnight Dancing

Everyone says that it's normal. It's perfectly safe and wonderful. Yet, I'm not too sure.

By Raphael FontenellePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Midnight Dancing
Photo by Filip Baotić on Unsplash

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky. I can't remember a time where this hadn't happened. Or can imagine a night where it didn't. But my Da said he vaguely remembered a time where it hadn't. He said he could somewhat recall a night where it hadn't. Though the memory was pretty hazy as he was a little child when it started. And he couldn't entirely place when it had started to be like this.

Or how it even started as well.

Though he could recall when things started getting weird after. There were these strange men that came along with it. Though, he didn't think that they caused the sky. They just seemingly happened to be around when it had started. And it wasn't the only weird thing that happened. Dogs started to act really strange. Some were able to become human at their own whim. A few cats did as well. Though they weren't as well known.

Birds started to breathe fire and grew scales.

Then there were were the changes with the continents. Going from being separate to being connected. Da said that it cost a lot of money in the past to go anywhere. Fly anywhere you needed. Whatever that means. I ain't too sure about any of what he talks about that. Or anything that he recalled from his childhood. As his memories are spotty at best and practically non-existent at worst. It kind of makes him really sad to talk about it. Sometimes Da gets angry as well.

I never pressed Da about it after he talks about something. As it clearly spoils his mood. Anyway, I've been admiring our strange sky. Still not sure what to make of it as I lean on my elbows. This is something I wanted to know about for so many years. Wishing that I could figure out what makes it like this. What really makes it look like this. Maybe I can when I'm a little bit older. Just maybe when I get a few years older I will.

As of riht now, all I can really do is look at it. Wondering why it happens at all. And why for ten minutes only. There's so much I want to know about our world. At school, we've been learning about it. Or at least some version of it. Though I'm not too sure if I can believe it. The teachers had been telling us that it is perfectly natural occurrence. And that it wasn't anything to really be concerned about. Along with telling us that it had happened since the beginning.

I ain't entirely sure about this.

Not, just because of what my Da recalls. Or just sorta does. But, because it just didn't sound true. Nor did it feel right, either. There's just this weird feeling I get from it. Telling me that it was something to keep an eye on. Even if I ain't altogether sure of why. Ma tells me to not dwell on it for too long. And as of late, Da has been telling me too.

I just can't, though. No matter what I try, I can't get it out of my head. This nagging through just crops up every so often. And, again Ma tells me to not overthink it. That a girl my age should be thinking of other things. I'm eleven. I can make time for 'normal' kid stuff later. Right now, I just wished I had some answers to my questions.

Just one.

Maybe then I could understand why I feel the way that I do. Or why when this happens I feel so weak. Why my head feels so swimmy when I watch it. Then I won't worry about this possibly hurting me. Maybe even killing me. I hope that it isn't. I'm really wishing that it isn't. Otherwise Ma and Da are going to be really sad.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.