Fiction logo

Metropolis Chapter 3

2 Days Left

By Crystal Green StinnettPublished 3 years ago 27 min read
Like
Metropolis Chapter 3
Photo by Amanda Dalbjörn on Unsplash

ATTN!! There is a Prologue and Chapter 1 published before this chapter.

Chapter 2

Two Days Left

I look in the broken mirror to see what kind of a mess I will look like today. I stand about 5’3” and 110 lbs. with long straight brown hair and curvy hips that offset my extremely small upper frame; I am a true pear shape. My eyes are about the only thing I like about my physical features. They are hazel with light blue fog inside a darker blue rim, highlighted with speckles of gold, brown and green. My eyes even change color with my mood or what I am wearing. Today I am wearing a baby blue T-Shirt with a pair of khaki shorts, so the blue is eminent today. I have a deep line that runs horizontally across my chin and a short nose that is not too big or too little for my face. I am nothing much to look at in comparison to Chloe or any other girl for that matter, but I learned not to care long ago. I have no interest in falling in love or marrying anyone. I am good at being a loner and have very few people I choose to spend my spare time with. Even though the war is over and there is a new government in place, you can never be too careful about people.

Father has generously given me these last couple days off from working the fields, since I will be leaving for Metropolis in just two days. Being given time off is a huge hardship considering this is the time we start preparing for fall/winter crops that will be planted in just a few weeks.

With my newfound freedom, I have planned time to spend with my best-friend, Chloe, today and tonight with my family. Tomorrow I will just be packing until it’s time to leave for the annual upcoming citizens bonfire. The bonfire is like a holiday around here. Every August 31st a different farm will volunteer to host the annual bonfire which includes food, music, and dancing. It’s also a way for friends to say goodbye before heading out the next morning to start their journey to Metropolis.

Today’s agenda starts with breakfast with mama. After breakfast, Chloe and I are going to walk to the library. We do not steal the books, but we do borrow a book or 2 at a time and return them when we are done and I have a couple books that I need to return before I leave. Our library is the only intact building I have seen, but it is thickly masked with a massive overgrowth around its walls. We found a way into the library through a broken window that you can barely see through the overgrowth of vines on the east side of the building.

I think Chloe and I are the biggest nerds ever to live because if we could spend all our free time with our nose in a book, that is what we would do. I love imagining I am a main character in some story that has me engrossed in a world that is anything but my own reality. I cherish my family and friends, but our lives are hard and uncertain. When I read, I can be anybody I want to be and that is my happy place.

I sit down at the modest breakfast table located in our kitchen. Mama has made eggs and toast and I marry the two together to make an egg sandwich. I only eat one and then begin bustling around the kitchen washing the dishes and making lunch packs for Chloe and me. Today for lunch we will have cheese, bread and some grapes I stole from the Cumming’s vineyard on my walk last night. I have also packed us some water in old Yeti cups. I love these cups because of the ability to keep the water cold during a day out. I pack the blue Yeti for myself because my eyes are in a blue mood and the red Yeti for Chloe since it’s her favorite color.

I grab my purple and black, Pink Floyd bag that is beginning to go thread bare and put our lunches inside with the Yeti’s nestled in the side pockets. My mama got this bag for me on my birthday 2 years ago. She said this was the greatest band of all time. Really what she did was she paid a runner to go and find me a new bag, because my old one was wearing thin. I only know this because the runner she asked to find me a new bag is named Bruce. Bruce and are I good friends and he told me about my mom sending him out but would not tell me what for. Runners can leave the stations and go out into the unknown to find other towns or houses and get supplies. I have always thought that if I could pick the job I wanted, I would want to be a runner. I think this was probably the first non-pink bag Bruce found because my mother has never mentioned this band before or since and she knows I hate pink. Regardless, it was the thought that counted. I go through bags like crazy carrying heavy books in them back and forth from the library and thought I may get a new bag for my 18th birthday, but instead I got a locket with a picture of my mom and dad inside. Mama said this was so I could keep them close to my heart always; referencing my upcoming departure to become a citizen.

I make my way to my bedroom to gather the 2 books I borrowed last from the library. I find the first book by my bed called, “Empires of Light: Edison, Tesla, Westinghouse, and the Race to Electrify the World,” by Jill Jones. I have a fascination with how electricity used to illuminate homes without the sun. I believe we could eventually get back to a world where we could have light in the darkest hours of the night. Currently we use coals, candles or light from our fireplace, but this offers minimal vision at night. Grandpa Smalls told me about the days of electricity before the war and I have been intrigued ever since so I read as much as possible on the subject. Next, I grab my favorite book and one that I have borrowed from the library on more than one occasion, “Pride and Prejudice,” by Jane Austin. I am going to miss this book and hope I can find a library once I’m settled so I can read it again. I probably have the pages memorized by now, I think as I laugh at myself, looking at the deteriorating binder.

“Hey girly!” I hear Chloe say slyly as she looks around the doorframe into my room before entering. “You left in such a hurry last time I saw you; I didn’t get a chance to tell you Bruce is coming with us to the library. He is looking for a book about pregnancy. Macey Phillips just found out she is pregnant and since her mother passed, she’s kinda all alone and doesn’t really know what she is going to experience.” I hear Bruce downstairs talking to my mother. My father is already in the fields, so I know the male voice I am hearing must be Bruce. I sigh heavily.

“Chloe, no one is supposed to know we go to the library. It’s against the law which is why we are supposed to keep it a secret.”

Chloe shakes her head saying, “…but this is Bruce. We are all friends, and he has caught us on the roads before. He can be trusted.”

I think a moment. “We have 2 days until we transport to Metropolis. I don’t want to ruin any chances of getting a good placement.” Chloe is begging me with her green eyes without saying a word. “Like you said, Bruce is a friend and sort of already knew but if he told anyone…”

“He didn’t!” Chloe exclaimed. “I made sure to threaten his life if he told a soul.”

Begrudgingly I put the books into my bag and say, “Okay then, let’s head out. We have a long day ahead of us.”

As I turn the corner into the kitchen, I see mama laughing about something Bruce had said. Mama catches my hand and says to me, “You have to hear this joke, Rainey. What are the most beautiful crops in the world?” My mother is tickled already.

“Ummm, I don’t know mama, what is the most beautiful crop in the world?” It’s already mid-morning and it’s a good 2 and a half hour walk to the library. We really need to get going, but after tomorrow I won’t see my mama again so, I swallow my irritation and patiently wait for the answer.

“It’s pumpkins,” she beamingly exclaims, “because they are gourd-eous!” Mama is laughing so hard she is wiping tears away from her eyes. Chloe and I look at each other knowing that was the most absurd and ridiculously stupid joke ever, but mama’s laughter is so catching in her high squeal tone that Chloe and I both break out into hysterics listening to her.

We head out on the road and Bruce starts telling us how distraught Macey Phillips is. “Macey has been begging me to find her a book she can read that will tell her what happens during pregnancy and…ummm…you know after,” Bruce informs us while giggling. “I don’t understand what the big deal is. We have doctors she can go and talk to and all her neighboring farms have children,” he continues while laughing like it’s not one of the most trying, difficult and terrifying times of a woman’s’ life. I don’t ever want to be pregnant. I don’t want to get fat and I sure as heck don’t want to push a watermelon out of a pea size hole. No thanks!

“Bruce, she is just scared,” Chloe pleads. “It’s 9 months of your body changing and growing. She is going to get fat and be tired and there are lots of things that can go wrong before and after birth. In the end, the bliss only comes after a lot of pain and then you need to know how to take care of the baby. It’s a scary ordeal,” Chloe continues.

“Yeah, and have you ever seen a horse give birth?” I ask. “My father had to help our horse, Moonlight, give birth to her baby, Star. Star apparently was turned around and wouldn’t come out the right way. Father had his arm elbow deep trying to pull that calf out. There was so much blood and Moonlight was so scared and neighing in pain.”

Bruce got quiet but then after a few moments he said, “I knew birthing could be painful, but I didn’t realize there was more to it than that. Doesn’t nature just make it right when the baby is supposed to be born”

“What century have you been living in?” Chloe teases.

Bruce laughs, “Well, how am I supposed to know. I have never even had a girlfriend, let alone a wife?” We all laugh simultaneously, and Chloe and I give each other that look that she and I both know oh so well. It’s the same look we give each other when her brother, Paul says something ridiculous. Boys are dumb.

Bruce, Chloe, and I get to the library just around noon. We stop in the atrium to eat our packed lunches. I share some of my bread with Bruce since he only brought some apples and water. After lunch, I start to return my books, placing them in the right sections and in alphabetical order by authors last name. I hear Bruce start singing at the top of his lungs, “I hope you dance!!!!” I recognize the song by Lee Ann Womack that my mama taught me when I was a little girl. I start to giggle because not only is Bruce soooo country, but he is also soooo tone deaf.

“Hey! Knock it off. I would like to be able to hear the Council talk to me when they tell me where I am going to be stationed.” Bruce continues to sing, only he increases his volume making his keys even more off than they were before. Chloe starts laughing, and when I look over at Bruce it appears, he is singing to Chloe directly. I’ve always thought Bruce had a thing for Chloe. Bruce is 20 years old, 5’8” and broad shouldered. Even though he is short for a man, he is extraordinarily strong and can bench press Chloe above his head. Bruce has already received his station papers, so unless Chloe is re-stationed to Atlanta, they will never see each other again; I will never see him again. Chloe has never said anything about being interested in Bruce, but something in the way he looks at her and is constantly trying to make her laugh makes me feel like he would like to be more than just friends. Relationships are strictly forbidden before becoming a citizen. If you are discovered having a relationship before becoming a citizen, it leads to being eradicated from your station with no chance of citizenship. This is reason enough for Bruce not to let on how he feels about Chloe, but I think he is fearful of rejection and loss too.

Just as we are about to leave, I ask Bruce, “Hey, I got this gold key in my packet from Metropolis a few weeks ago. What is the key for?” I ask because Bruce has already been through this process and any information, he can give me and Chloe to prepare for what is about to come will help us settle our nerves.

Bruce gets very still. His eyes become wide. “I can’t tell you anything about Metropolis. It’s against the rules and I could get banished for even mentioning Metropolis or the cropping process. Don’t ask any questions, Rainey. Just follow their orders, get to your station and do your job. Follow the rules, and there are no consequences.” He says this like he is scared and is trying to warn us to be careful. We are friends. We are breaking the rules now. We trusted him to go on this trip with us. Why can’t he trust us?

I look at Bruce who is giving Chloe a good look over while she is not looking. I don’t press any more questions, but Chloe chimes in, “I got a key as well, but my key is green …and very heavy!” she exclaims. “I wonder why our keys are different colors,” she muses. I contemplate this new information and wonder how many people have gold versus other color keys. Has the Council already decided on what station we will be matched to? Do the colors go to certain stations or jobs? I contemplate the different theories surrounding the keys when Bruce chirps up.

“I found a book called, “What to Expect When You are Expecting, by Heidi Murkoff and Sharon Mazel!” Bruce exclaims excitedly, like he has just won the lottery. Bruce starts flipping through the pages and screeches, “EEEWWWW! What the heck is a mucus plug?” Chloe and I look at each other with disgusted looks on our faces and we all bust out laughing.

“I’m not sure what that is but that doesn’t sound like anything Moonlight had,” I say with my mouth still etched in pure disgust. I have never read any books on pregnancy, marriage, children, or any other relationship style books. I like learning how the world was before the war, how electricity offered a world of doorways and experiences I will never have, and I like to read about plant life and how plants really build a wonderful dynamic for human beings. As much as I love learning about the world before the war, I equally love Jane Austen because her female characters are always heroines who don’t back down without a fight. Austen’s characters stand for what they believe is right while also winning the love of a lifetime. This is about as close to romance as I will ever get, I think critically to myself.

The three of us pack our things and prepare to leave the library, climbing through the broken window we have come through a million times before. I am the last to crawl out when my shorts catch on a shard of glass making me roll out of the window and cutting my thigh. “Owww!” I cry out.

“What are you doing! You know you are not allowed to wander off from your station! I should report the three of you!” I recognize the voice as Corporal Smith and I’m aghast at how he even knew where we were.

“Did you follow us? We are not supposed to leave until morning after tomorrow, why are you here already?” I ask dumbfounded while holding my leg. The bleeding is bad enough that blood is now running down my leg, over my hand, and staining my shorts.

“That’s none of your business! And you will do well Ms. Smalls to keep your mouth shut!” he screams so loud that a vein is pulsing out his forehead. I can literally count the pumps of blood running through it…..1, 2, 3, 4. “You sir, would be banished and lose your citizenship and the 2 of you ladies would stand for judgement before the Council!” he continues yelling at us….5, 6, 7, 8. By the time I reach 20 blood pump counts in Corporal Smith’s forehead he has finally calmed down enough to check on my leg.

The bleeding is slowing but the cut is deep. “I’m fine,” I say as he mumbles something under his breath. “Hey, I get it. We were wrong. You are right. You hold the rest of our lives in your hands all because we love to read, but you can calm your pecs down and treat us like human beings!” I yell back at him. My temper has never gotten the best of me, but I’m seriously already tired of Corporal Smith and his know it all, be all, and I’ll show you attitude. “Now, be a gentleman,” I say holding my hand up for him to help me stand. I hear him rip something and then tie a black cloth around my thigh making and tunicate. “Thanks,” I half-heartedly say under my breath. Corporal Smith looks down at me and it looks like he is struggling with emotions. I can tell he is mad, but there is something else there. Maybe regret? He doesn’t say anything but helps me stand to my feet. Just then a wave of light-headedness overcomes me as I try to regain my balance and I fall into his chest. Pecs was an understatement; this man has a chest hard as steel, I think to myself as the world suddenly grows dark.

I open my eyes and realize I apparently blacked out and we are more than halfway back to my house. Bruce and Chloe are quiet and walking behind Corporal Smith and I, with their heads hanging low and talking in whispered voices. Corporal Smith has me in his arms carrying me like I’m some damsel in distress. I start to wiggle so he will set me down and he complies without saying a word. “I’m sorry,” I say quietly, as I limp to keep up with his long strides. I have been going to that library for years and nothing has ever happened. I didn’t mean to make you upset and…,”

Corporal Smith holds up his hand. “You are young and naïve at the world and how dangerous what you did could have been. I will not report you or your friends only because you are leaving for Metropolis, and I’m responsible for what happens to you. Just be glad I was there,” he states matter of a fact.

“Why were you there?” I ask, trying not to push too hard. He never takes his eyes off the road, but I can tell in the profile of his face, I am starting to get on his nerves.

“You have been assigned to me for the transport. I was coming to your house to tell you where to meet me on the morning of departure, but I saw you walking the road with your friends. I followed you to see what you were up to.” I look at him blankly. I’m not sure what to say. “Don’t get all girly on me. I’m supposed to watch your actions and put them in my report for the next couple of days and during our transport. It helps to guide the Council on what type of person you are and where your qualities lie,” he explains with no emotion.

“What are you going to write in your report today?” I ask since he is not going to report my misbehavior.

“I saw you be kind to someone and give them part of your lunch. I also noted that you are meticulous at keeping things in order, and you know a lot about birthing a calf” he says sarcastically without taking his eyes from the road. “I will also be noting that you are a risk taker, you are squeamish at the sight of blood and ask way too many questions,” he says gruffly.

We stay in silence, most of the way back. I see Sunflower Fields in the distance, and I can’t hold back any longer. “If I am assigned to you, then is Chloe also assigned to you, or does everyone have their own officer?” I ask innocently, looking back at Chloe. Chloe moves up a little closer to better hear his response.

“You are assigned to me. Chloe is assigned to Corporal Hayes.” He says with no further detail. I wait a few moments. “One more question,” I push not knowing how many more questions I can ask before he starts yelling at me again and I am reintroduced to his forehead vein I have decided to name Pipeline.

“Where is Corporal Hayes? Will you tell her about where we were today?” Corporal Smith sighs expressively letting me know this is the end of our conversation.

“If I see Corporal Hayes, I will tell her Chloe was with you all afternoon and nothing more.” I smile with content that no one will be in danger of getting lashings, the ranks, or smelly dungeons, I think sarcastically.

We arrive at Sunflower Fields, and I say goodbye to Chloe and Bruce. Bruce has assured me he will see Chloe home safely. “See you guys at the bonfire tomorrow!” I yell out to them, waving goodbye and turning back to Corporal Smith. The sun is already sitting towards the west and mama will have supper on soon. “Would you like to stay for dinner?” I ask determinedly. I really don’t want the next couple of days to be H.E. double hockey sticks with Mr. Pissypants and Pipeline vein. I want, no I need this man to like me so we can get along and the departure can be bearable. “I know father and mama would like to meet you, and it will give us chance to get to know one another before spending 2 days on the train together,” I continue. Corporal Smith looks down at me almost with a half-smile and half grimace on his face. I find it is ridiculously hard to read his facial expressions, well…except for pipeline.

“It’s not proper for military to socialize on the job and especially with a ward or their families,” he says coldly and very official like.

“First off, I’m not a ward. I’m an upcoming citizen. Secondly, you are not socializing. We all must eat. I know my family would feel more comfortable getting to know who will be overseeing my safety after I leave home. Besides, mama is making all my favorites tonight since we will be eating at the bonfire tomorrow night. This is my last at home cooked meal and you can make all kinds of notes for the Council,” I say sardonically. For the first time Corporal Smith smiles with a little giggle, but he quickly recomposes himself and accepts my offer. “Good. Mama is making roasted squirrel, seasoned potatoes, and cherry pie for dessert,” I blurt out as I begin to head to the house.

Mama is thrilled to discover we will be having company and Corporal Smith thanks mama for allowing him the opportunity to meet her and father. Grandpa Smalls rarely comes to the main house for meals, but since this is my last meal at home, he will be joining us as well.

“What happened to your leg, honey?” Mama ask trying to look at my injured thigh.

“It’s fine mama,” I say looking at Corporal Smith through my peripheral. I don’t want mama to meet Pipeline nor do I want Corporal Smith to get his underwear out of whack again.

Mama notices that she is clearly embarrassing me by babying me in front of company so she recedes saying, “Well, you will need to clean that up before bed.” Thank the good Lord I have a mother who knows me well enough to know when to just let me be. I don’t look directly, but Corporal Smith seems to be fighting back a smile, poorly at that.

After dinner we all sit around the table and continue to talk about life on the farm. Grandpa Smalls doesn’t say much, but when he speaks everyone is quiet. He is a small man who sits in a wheelchair a runner got for us from a hospital close by. He has white hair with a balding spot in the back of his head and he is permanently hunched over. Grandpa may be old and stuck in a chair, but he has beautiful hazel eyes as well. I am proud to say I got my coloring from him. Grandpa Smalls waves his hand at me to come closer to him and mama scoots down the bench so I can sit as close as possible to Grandpa.

“I want you to know how beautiful, intelligent, and strong you are. You have made this family proud.” Grandpa is looking me eye to eye, and I can see this is a struggle for him physically since his humpback keeps him bent over so drastically. “I want to send you off with something to remember us by,” he says in a meek voice that would be hard to hear if I were any further away from him. Grandpa pulls out a small bag that has a sunflower painted on the front. He hands are shaking when he holds the bag out for me to grab. I open the small fabric by pulling the tie and inside I find harvested and ready to plant sunflower seeds. “When you get to where you are going, you can plant these and have a part of home with you,” Grandpa says shakily as a single tear falls down his cheek.

“Oh Grandpa!” I lean over to give him a hug and whisper in his ear, “This is the best gift I have ever received. Thank you!” Grandpa nods his head while hugging me back. I have never seen him cry before.

He looks back at my father and says, “Benton, take me back now, I need to rest.” My father gets up and wheels my Grandpa out of sight and I can already feel the homesickness creeping into my soul.

Corporal Smith declares it is time for him to head back. He still has a couple miles to walk and I offer to walk him a bit of the way. “I usually go for walks at night. It helps me to clear my head and get tired enough to fall asleep when I get home,” I shyly explain as Corporal Smith gives me an unsure puzzled look.

Corporal Smith shakes my fathers’ hand, and my mother reaches out and gives him a hug. “Take care of my little girl,” she whispers in his ear.

“Will do, ma’am,” Corporal Smith states.

Walking up the road Corporal Smith says longingly, “You are very blessed to have grown up with a family who loves you. The life that you have here is truly amazing. There are stations that don’t hold onto family values and love like your family does. I can imagine it will be hard to leave them.”

I sigh and think a moment before I respond. “It will be difficult to leave, but I know I have a duty as well.” I wait a moment and ask, “Was it hard for you to leave your family?” Even in the moonlight I can see him clench his jaw before responding.

“Let’s just say my home life wasn’t quite the same as yours.” I don’t press the subject.

About a mile up the road, it’s time to say goodnight to Corporal Smith. “You know, you don’t have to secretly follow me. If you need to learn as much about me as you can for your report, you can just knock on the door. I will be home packing until the bonfire tomorrow night.”

Corporal Smith smiles while nodding. “Ms. Smalls,” “Rainey, I interject.” “Rainey, I lost my temper back at the library and I feel I owe you an apology. I’m being held personally responsible for your transport and that assignment began the moment I stepped off the transport cars. I overreacted to the situation of your leg injury, but you did break the law. Regardless, you seem like a sweet person and I’m sorry if I was overbearing. I was simply worried for your own safety. If the cabinet found out that you broke the law and wandered off to a building not approved by the council, you could have your option to become a citizen revoked. I don’t want to see that happen to you.” He looked down at me and his eyes seemed to be pleading for me to understand.

“Thank you, Corporal Smith. I really appreciate your apology, and yes, I also know how important it is to obey the laws. I will work harder at staying line and not wander off in unapproved areas.” And just like that, Corporal Smith turns to continue his walk back. It’s going to be a good trip if we can just stay on the page of kindness and respect, Corporal Smith, I think to myself as I also turn to walk back home.

As I come up to the house, I notice the gate to the sunflower field is open. That’s curious, I think to myself. Father never leaves any of the gates open. I walk down to the field to lock up the gate and catch a glimpse of someone nearing the back of the fields. “Hello,” I call out. The figure does not stop but keeps moving briskly. I follow the path as best I can with just the light from the moon to guide me. When I reach my oak tree, I can no longer see anyone. “Kohl?” I call out. There is no response. “Kohl?” I cry out louder. Again, I hear nothing but the chirping of grasshoppers and the water flowing in the creek.

I am officially losing my mind; I think as I head back to the house. I was just calling out to my imaginary friend from 10 years ago in the middle of the night. I am exhausted from the day, the emotional evening, and my longer than normal walk. I just need a good night’s sleep. I close the gate, lock it and head up to my room. Examining my leg, I clean it with some water and notice the cut is not as deep as I thought now that the bleeding has stopped. I have never fainted from seeing blood before and I’m not really sure why I had that reaction. It could have been something I ate at lunch that made me lightheaded, I think to myself. Fluffing my pillow and saying my prayers, I lay in bed and close my eyes and dream of my childhood.

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Crystal Green Stinnett

I am currently working on a YA Dystopia novel and a Fiction Christian novel. I love to read most genres and my writing is the same. I tend to write what I am feeling at the moment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.