Fiction logo

Messenger Goblin 3

This new term made me raise my eyebrows in confusion

By Stephane PerezPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

This new term made me raise my eyebrows in confusion. So the next thing I learned was a lot of new knowledge about how they are treated on their trips. Given that postcards are their means of transportation to the world, the conditions of travel depend on the emotional messages contained in the letters. No one wants to send a letter with false sentiment because it's like riding in a stinky, stuffy car that's bumpy and suffocating all the way. If it is a good relationship between family and friends of the letter, the treatment will naturally be much better. As for catching a warm love letter, it is really good luck to hit the jackpot. I stared at the thin card and said I didn't understand how this thing alone could provide the little messengers with an "imperial privilege". The little guy threw a blank stare: "You wouldn't understand if I told you." But soon it sighed again, saying that according to the descriptions of the seniors, there used to be quite a lot of opportunities for first class, but now the whole industry is in the doldrums, and good cabins are becoming less and less available, not to mention love letters, even ordinary cabins are not easy to get, and any job opportunities should be cherished. "So even after starving for so long, I still earned it." It said this with a cockeyed smile. I looked at the words on the postcard and tried to squeeze out a smile. But it seemed a little difficult. *** The next morning I woke up on time according to my long-established biological clock and was almost scared off my bed when I found the little messenger crouched on the bedside table, staring at me with burning eyes. His eyes were a little too bright in the dark. "Good morning!" It looks like this guy has completely recovered from the exhaustion of the previous trip and shouted with full vigor. And I could only change and wash with a black face. I do not know if it is my illusion, this guy's attitude as if ...... a little flattering? Sure enough, while we were guarding the desk together and eating cookies, it couldn't help itself and asked me periodically when I intended to write a reply letter. "Letters sent with anticipation are automatically brought with a return reservation." It pointed to the postcard on the desk and explained with a smirk. Ha? How dare this little guy think he has a return ticket? It's a shame I have to be cruel and shatter its unrealistic fantasies. "I don't like to write letters." I crunched the last cookie and replied dryly. Immediately his face changed, angry, but not the kind of anger that comes from being rejected, but the kind of anger that comes from being lied to. The little one waved his hand and pointed to the big dusty cardboard box on the stand in the corner: "You lied! You wrote back all the postcards in the cardboard box! I checked last night, every single one of them was marked with a reply!" Faced with such a straightforward revelation, I was embarrassed and didn't know how to answer, and finally I could only use the excuse that I was late for work and fled. When closing the door, I didn't even dare to look back at it. I'm afraid it will chase me again and ask the reason for not returning the letter. ***This whole day was not as routine as usual, because I interrupted the rhythm I was used to and spent a lot of time rehearsing a convincing reason. But by the end of the day, I was dismayed to find that the time spent was not only futile, but ridiculous. Making up a lie ten times more complicated to cover up a common fact is not even a good idea to think on your knees. Today I came back to the apartment from work at the same time as usual, and the process was the same: check the mailbox, unlock the door, change shoes, and tell myself welcome back. The only difference is that the little one is still there. Just like when I left this morning, he still has that stinky face like I owe him a lot of money. --It would have been more convincing if he hadn't eaten the fried rice I made. I couldn't stand to see the pathetic way he wanted to ask questions but had to keep it up, so I put the bowl down and told him why he wasn't answering his letter.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Stephane Perez

I hope you like my story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.