Fiction logo

Message From Your Driver

I've Arrived

By Matthew FrommPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
11
Message From Your Driver
Photo by Humphrey Muleba on Unsplash

“Matthew?”

“Thanks. I hope you're wrapping up. This blizzard is supposed to start soon.”

“Some good Chicago weather, Mr. Matthew! I’m not too far from your drop-off.”

“That works out then! I was worried I’d need a new flight tomorrow with this snow… Whereabouts you from?

“Well, if my keffiyeh didn’t give it away, not here. But I’m living with my brother over by that stadium.”

“Nice, very familiar. I worked there for five years.”

“Like for the team?”

“Yessir. It was my first job. You a footie fan?”

“Big Ronaldo guy.”

“Awkward–I’m a Messi man.”

“I’m following Yemen qualifying closely too, right now. They’re making me proud.”

“I saw they won.”

“Yeah, it’s nice to see some news that isn’t bombs. Some good, you know? We’re from far from all that.”

“Your family still there?”

“Wife, son, parents…I call them every night and send them my tips. Just my brother and me stateside. You from here?”

“Yeah, my whole life. This DC trip was work.”

“Man, I hope you saw our Rep. I’ve been hounding him for six years over their visas. It’s always the same – do this form, do that form, do that one again, over and over. After this fall…who knows…

“I can’t imagine. What’s your son’s name?”

“Ahmad. Same as my dad’s.”

“A wonderful name. He’s got a good dad.”

“It’s also mine, but Faris gets me fewer ‘cancels’ than Ahmad. Anyway, we’re here. I enjoyed our talk.”

“Same. Drive safe, Faris – the snow’s picking up."

MicrofictionStream of ConsciousnessShort StoryExcerpt
11

About the Creator

Matthew Fromm

Full-time nerd, history enthusiast, and proprietor of random knowledge. The best way to find your perfect story is to write it yourself.

Here there be dragons, and knights, and castles, and quests for entities not wishing to be found.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • J4 months ago

    Very crisp

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Faris gets me fewer cancels. Says a huge amount in one line, doesn't it.

  • Jazzy 4 months ago

    Oh I loved the tone and how real it felt

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    Great story Matthew. I liked how it shed light on some very real social issues affecting us today. Well done

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Nice! I got a good sense of who Faris/Ahmad is. I wanted the conversation to keep going. Damn word limit! So thanks for the author’s note.

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Well done, Matthew. I've been considering one based on a true personal story, too. The word certainly makes it challenging.

  • This is based on a true story! It was difficult to abridge it down so there may be an unabridged version in the future.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.