Fiction logo

MEGAN - Movie Review

What do you think about AI?

By Havi NagpalPublished about a year ago 4 min read
2

Introduction

All right it was the first movie of 2023 and I'm not gonna posture I'm not gonna front I was going into this movie like oh okay great I rated PG-13 Blum House horror film in January let's do that with everything that comes with that but however.

Plot

So "M3GEN"..hmm what's up with replacing the letters with numbers really messes with the search algorithm no one's searching for M3GEN they're all searching for Megan whatever so Megan's a film about this little girl who loses her parents in a car accident and her aunt gets custody of her and her aunt works at this tech company and she's like hey we've developed this AI companion doll this AI friend yeah it's like my buddy kid's sister y'all remember you don't doesn't matter that meets AI there you go now she has a friend and from there it's pretty much the plot it's like this movie is a remake of the Child's Play remake that came out a couple of years ago however unlike in the case of Child's Play where Brad duriff's voice is inseparable from the character if you don't have Brad Dura voicing Chucky you don't really have the spirit of Child's Play.

Megan is new Megan can be whatever she wants and this movie was actually really good at having the audience feel about Megan how they should probably feel about their phones always watching always listening everyone in the room should be terrified of that fact and they actually played that up well and I got to say if this is a movie where you're like all right sweet little AI doll robots gonna kill a lot of people and that's gonna be fun this really isn't that kind of movie maybe it's because the movie's PG-13 I do feel like the movie was probably if I found out this movie was filmed to be rated R, I wouldn't be the least bit surprised there are a couple of moments where you read the lips of someone you're like that that is not what they said they probably said something that would bring this a little closer to our couple moments like that couple of audio edits where you're like those feel like two different sentences that have been stitched together or someone cut a word out but it's January we gotta get more asses in the states so PG-13 let's cut it back would not be shock if that were the case however if that was the case I'd love to see a director's cut if the rated R cut that maybe might have been filmed that long-winded tangent brings me back around to my original point is this movie really isn't the whole AI doll kills a lot of people bloodbath that you might think it is it ends up happening at the end it is fun when it happens but it's not the point of the movie.

Premise

I feel is when this movie was at its strongest it's when it starts elevating its premise this movie he actually has an incredible message to its core about human connection the dangers of using technology as a parental crutch the emotional developmental skills for a child to get lost in that execution that's something that's far scarier than AI killing people that we may or may not have to deal with in the year 20 50 something because that's something that's very real now I was actually really impressed this film dealt with such heavy subject matter you're actually pretty invested with the emotional state of this child and how Megan's actually bad for the kid on an emotional level the kid thinks Megan is great but kids would think that cake and ice cream for every meal of the day is great so there's that and the last act happens and at times it is silly, I mean the movie actually is silly I'm not just talking about the fact that Megan stole my dance moves this movie actually does have we'll say some tonal conflict you just want to line up everybody the cast members will be like all right raise your hand who here thinks they're in a comedy who here thinks they're in a serious horror film who here thinks they're in an emotional film about family and human connection yep those are all those are all different hands and something like that doesn't have to feel like it's in three movies just did in this one it just didn't feel like it flowed smoothly also I feel like this movie could have been 15 minutes shorter thereabouts but in the end Megan I had a surprisingly good time with I was getting ready man I was like all right let's go to Megan let's watch a bad PG-13 hover wow I actually enjoyed that for completely different reasons than I thought I would it wasn't the horror it wasn't the death it wasn't any Slaughter you see some frankenstitching from other films and their premise but it's a testament that you can do that you can borrow you can actually have the premise of a movie that came out a couple years ago but to your core you can build something that does feel unique I think if they play their cards right this could become a franchise I'd actually like to see a Megan 2 what would the title of that look like "M3GEN 2" but this is the last we saw of Megan the character I'd really be bummed out.

Conclusion

In the end, I shockingly had a good time with this one no alcohol was required all right so Megan's first horror film of the year have you seen it just came out I doubt it but have you seen it or been searching for this review did you type in M3GEN or Megan tell me how that search algorithm of google is working out and whatever you think comment below, let me know!.

If you do not understand this "M3GEN" just look for the poster of the movie bro.

Fan FictionShort StorySci FiHorror
2

About the Creator

Havi Nagpal

Hey there, I'm Havi! I'm a passionate movie lover and an avid writer of movie reviews.

My writing style is pretty casual and light-hearted, and I try to inject humor into my reviews wherever possible to make them more engaging.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.