Fiction logo

Plane - Movie Review

A 90s Film in 2023?

By Havi NagpalPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1

Introduction

Are we seeing the return of the 90s action genre I really hope so and now we talk about the plan before the trains in the automobile not really relevant for this review but I can't help but think of that when I see the poster or the title of this movie.

Plot

So planes is a 90s action film through back that has been dumbed in jan 2023, stars Gerard Butler is this airline pilot Mike Coulter of Luke Cage Fame has a criminal being transported on this airliner then the plane goes down on an island that's run by militia and now the captain and the inmate on his flight have to team up to get out of this sticky situation need to save some passengers and Gerard Butler he was great in this movie but he's also great doing this total 90s action throwback film been 10 years at this point but Olympus Has Fallen yeah that's what he did there and he was great in there too Gerard Butler's just good at these 90s action Throwbacks and I really do mean that I know I've said that a few times already in this review but that's that's what this movie is no there are movies coming out now and they've been delayed for about two and a half years or so this is a movie that feels like it was delayed by about two and a half decades or so but I mean that in a good way it sounds like an insult but it's not it was either delayed by two and a half decades or someone just found the script blew the dust off and they were like oh yeah this well let's make that now let's not change it at all.

Major Points

There are two points here they sound like conflicting information but both are correct I totally get why this movie was put in January of 2023 however if this movie had come out in the 90s this would have been a summer release easily.

Arnold would be the pilot you know the cast: "this is your captain speaking hold on to your ass Arnold Schwarzenegger Wesley Snipes plain coming summer in 1997."

And what I like is everyone really has their role you know Gerard Butler's The Good Pilot like he's just a good dude he's the guy you want to be the pilot on the next flight you're on there was a bit of turbulence actually not a bit it's pretty intense turbulence he comes out of the captain's cabin like is everyone okay ma'am oh no you dropped that baby's bottle there you go is everyone all right I've been on some flights with some pretty intense turbulence Captain just acts like homelander oh that was a big one but Gerard Butler is badass when it comes to hand-to-hand combat Firearms but he's not the MVP badass that is Mike coulter's character but it's it's balanced and allocated in a way that character should be you got Gerard Butler he's the captain he's the leader of the group did you think what I just thought transformed from the norm by the nuclear group was that the right I did I thought that he's there to keep everyone feeling secure feeling safe he's a good leader Mike coulter's character is the total covert Ops guy finding his Redemption through this situation then you even got another dude who's trying to fix the electronics on the plane you know like everyone has their role in this movie it's not like another Ninja Turtle reference coming at you it's not like the NES Ninja Turtles game where it's just Donatello and his three meat Shields and no one else matters I'll say the passengers don't have their role as much they're just there to be scared they're there to be hostages which makes sense when they were bored in the plane in the movie I was like 18 passengers that is the lightest flight I've ever heard of or been on but you can't have a movie like this with 200 passengers and have any of the passengers stand out just doesn't work not for a two-hour film anyway.

Villian

however in those movies their 80s and 90s action movies this movie's clearly throwing back to those movies that had memorable villains not this one the militia coming after them very scary very real threat when you're watching the film that stands out as an entity but there is a guy who runs this militia and this dude is just he's the Baddie he's just bad guy you got your Alpha bad guy and your beta bad guy and then the militia that follow them and that's that don't look for Hans Gruber or Cyrus the virus in this movie that's not the vibe there's no villain that stands out so I got a point in cinema making memorable villain just stopped being a priority it was like all right I guess we don't have to do that always nice when it happens but I consider it a surprise when a villain does stand out this is not one of the surprises just kind of goes down how you think it will and there were a couple of moments where I was like well that just got fast tracked it was like all right this is really oh okay that's over but in the end plane I want to say it's what you would think an action movie in January in 2023 would be but I feel like that's cutting it short it's not inaccurate it's not like this movie's trying to be Macbeth or anything but it leans into its cheese and its premise enough to give you some of that flavor of 80s action movie and 90s action movie some of the flavor that's been gone for too long maybe we want a little bit of it back it scratches an itch that modern Cinema doesn't generally try to do it's very Niche thing it's a sub-genre among the modern action movie genre it's one that's very self-aware if you like 90s action movie Throwbacks I want to check this one out I had myself a good time no alcohol required.

Conclusion

I also want to mention the NES Ninja Turtles game to give you PTSD flashbacks of swimming in the water looking for those bombs with barely enough time to do it seaweed is all shocking the hell out of you I'm just saying any anxiety people folks from my generation have now I'm pretty convinced it started with that game and that level all right so plane have you seen it what did you think about it your favorite 90s action movie throwback whatever it is whatever you think comment below to let me know.

Sci FiHistoricalClassicalAdventure
1

About the Creator

Havi Nagpal

Hey there, I'm Havi! I'm a passionate movie lover and an avid writer of movie reviews.

My writing style is pretty casual and light-hearted, and I try to inject humor into my reviews wherever possible to make them more engaging.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.