Fiction logo

Maya's Flight

Prompt: Use "You can't run forever" in a story.

By S.N. EvansPublished 2 months ago 5 min read
1
Maya's Flight
Photo by Diogo Nunes on Unsplash

The ballroom was filled with dapper suits dancing in splendorous gowns. They whirled across the dance floor like the shifting innards of a kaleidoscope. The music dictated their speed, and the dancers' proficiency dictated their rhythm. It was enough to make one dizzy, and Maya felt dizzy as she watched from the balcony above. The company she was expected to keep was wearing thin on her patience. So many suitors asked her to dance, a problem that many would not see as a problem, but Maya was already in love; he just had not noticed her yet. She was sure that once he caught her, the stars would align, and they could be together.

Maya knew she was a hopeless romantic, but it did little to temper her yearning. She sighed; he wasn’t attending this ball, so she couldn't care less who asked for her interest; she had none for them. Her mother insisted that she could not run forever. Eventually, she had to find a husband and settle for the kingdom's good. Maya was the only living heir to her father, the King; it was Maya’s duty to marry into a good political match. But, she had no such wish.

Squeezing through the crowd, she slipped down one of the servant's corridors that led far away from the ballroom. Sighing with relief, she slowed her pace. She took her time as she peeked into each room the corridor led past, more for curiosity’s sake than anything else. There were revelers in every room she passed; some were drinking and smoking, and others were having hushed conversations over tea. She assumed the servants had been burning the midnight oil to make sure this party went off without a hitch.

The idea of inconveniencing the servants hit Maya with guilt; they had never shown her less than kindness at every turn. Chewing her lip, she debated returning and enjoying the party they had labored to create. In her indecision, she turned from one way to another and yelped in fright as she realized she was not alone.

“Don’t be afraid, it’s just me.” Dolan, her knight, stated a smile, tugging at the edge of his mouth.

“You scared the life out of me!” Maya admonished him.

“You did not die, my lady.” He could not help but chuckle at the sour look on her face.

“I know I didn’t.”

“Running from the fray again?” He questioned cocking his head to the side, “Running from battle doesn’t seem like the Maya I know.”

“I’m not running from babble; I’m merely tactically retreating to gain more ground.” She responded, “I’m not interested in any of those pompous lords anyway.”

“And who are you interested in, princess?” he asked. If you tell me, I will bring them to you.

“Oh, Dolan, I’m suffering because I am in love with a man who may never be my husband,” she sighs without a shred of drama. My parents expect me to choose a suitor and make a good match, but all I want is love.” She sighed, pacing the small space, ignoring the couple of servants who hurried past them as if they were not there.

“You have your duty, lass.” He sighed, scrubbing his hand through his hair, “There are some things even I cannot help you with, “But you should return to the party.”

“You’ve been sent to retrieve me.”

“Yes,” He cleared his throat, “Your parents noticed your absence, and I would not be doing my job if I didn’t know where you were at all times.”

Maya nodded, “Return to battle.”

“Indeed,” he cleared his throat. If you don’t mind me asking, what boy do you have your eyes on?”

Fidgeting uncomfortably, Maya shook her head and blushed behind her hand, “Amon, the boy at the stable who makes sure Bela is taken care of.”

“Have you spoken to him?”

“Many times, but not about my feelings.”

“That is probably for the best; you should focus on finding a good match for the good of the country.”

“All the men I’ve met so far have zero substance. They are all worried about what they can provide me and my pretty face.” She huffed.

“But you are very pretty, my lady, and I cannot blame any of them for losing themselves.” He chuckled, “Give them some time; they’ll loosen up.” His voice was one of experience. He had raised a few young men of his own back in the day.

“It’s not just them. I’m awkward, too. I cannot flirt with them as I was taught. It makes me sick.”

“Most of the ladies get through hit by treating it like a game,” he offered as he led her back toward the ballroom hallway.

Sighing, Maya knew he was right. She picked up where she had left off and approached one of the young men in a dapper suit. It looked expensive, and she attempted not to wrinkle her nose or fidget in the dress, which had chiffon and tule fabric that itched.

”So, what is it like in your country?” She questioned as they set out for the dance floor.

”Much like it is here,” He muttered, not looking her in the eyes.

“It’s alright not to dance with me.” She whispered, “You don’t have to speak to me if you don’t want to.”

He met her eyes, and she regretted not remembering his name. He had the thickest lashes she had ever seen on a man. When she felt like she had stared too long, she delicately cleared her throat. He swept her out onto the dance floor and immediately fell in step with the waltz.

“I mean it as no offense to you, but I’m not sure I remember your name.”

“Maya,” She chuckled, “I don’t think I recall yours either.

“Issac,” He chuckled, “I hate these parties.”

“Me too,” she said. They want me to find a husband, but I would settle for finding a friend.”

“Then you may have one, Ms. Maya.”

“And you as well.” She smiled.

The pair were inseparable for the rest of the party as their parents looked on, giving each other encouraging looks.

Short StoryFantasyAdventure
1

About the Creator

S.N. Evans

Christian, Writer of Fiction and Fantasy; human. I have been turning Caffeine into Words since 2007. If you enjoy my work, please consider liking, following, reposting on Social Media, or tipping. <3

God Bless!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.