Fiction logo

Match Point

Fantasy Adventure

By Arshad MecciPublished 12 days ago 3 min read
Like

Set point. The moment hung in the balance, a critical juncture that could determine the entire match. The first set slipped through my fingers; I couldn't afford to lose this one too. Across the net, Alex stood poised, eyes locked onto me. In that instant, the world around me faded, and I entered a state of Zen-like focus. Time seemed to slow as I analyzed every nuance of his stance, predicting his next move.

His high ball toss, the deep knee dip, the coiled trunk and shoulders—it was all there. He was going for the slice. With lightning reflexes, I lunged to the right, anticipating his shot. But just as I prepared to intercept the ball, he pronated his racket, changing the angle at the last second. The ball shot down the T, leaving me rooted to the spot.

Alex grinned triumphantly. "It's all fun and games, right?"

Fun and games? Tennis was never just a game for me; it was a legacy. My father had taught me the sport when I was in second grade, instilling in me the belief that a racket was a weapon meant to draw blood. Even though my signature slap-cross-court-forehand failed me today, it was hard to hold a grudge against my best friend.

As we bantered across the net between points, the camaraderie between us was evident.

"I'll go easier on you this last set," he teased.

"Don't even think about it, old man," I shot back, reminding him that he was just nineteen days older.

Our competitive spirit had always driven us. In high school, I was the number one player, and he was number four. But roles reversed after graduation, with Alex outperforming me during college tryouts. Yet, our love for the game and the thrill of competition remained unchanged.

As we battled it out on the court, the momentum shifted back and forth between us. I managed to break his serve twice, taking the lead. But Alex wasn't about to go down without a fight. A powerful two-fisted backhand caught me off guard, hitting me square in the forehead and sending me sprawling.

Brushing off the impact, I acknowledged his skill. "Nice return, Alex!"

"You okay?"

"Yeah, you're not getting off that easy," I replied, determined to maintain my lead.

As the match progressed, our banter continued, filled with playful jabs and shared memories. Our competitive spirit drove us to hit harder, push each other's limits, and strive for victory.

In the end, I managed to clinch the fourth and fifth sets, leaving Alex frustrated but gracious in defeat.

"Alright, I'm done. You played like a younger man today, Max," he conceded.

"I am younger. Maybe your reign is over," I teased.

We shared a laugh, and I offered to buy him a smoothie to celebrate our spirited match. But he declined, mentioning errands he had to run.

As I packed up my gear and reflected on the match, a voice interrupted my thoughts. A teenage girl and boy stood at the court gate, waiting to play.

"Excuse me, sir?" the girl asked.

I chuckled at being called 'sir.' "I'm not that much older than you," I said, trying to lighten the mood.

As I was leaving, the boy approached me with an old wooden tennis racket. "Is this yours?"

I examined the racket, a Dunlop Maxply Fort. Memories flooded back as I saw my father's name etched into the frame.

"A relic," I whispered, realizing the significance of the find.

The boy looked at me quizzically, and I explained, "This racket belonged to my father. It's a piece of my past."

With a grateful smile, I accepted the racket from him. Holding it in my hands, I felt a connection to my father and the legacy of tennis he had passed down to me.

As I walked away from the court that day, I carried with me not just a victory but also a cherished piece of my family's history. Tennis had always been more than a game—it was a bond that connected generations, and today, that bond felt stronger than ever.

thrillerFantasyAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Arshad Mecci

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.