Fiction logo

Marky-Mark the Smiling Shark

Children's Story

By Cassandra GrimesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Marky-Mark the Smiling Shark
Photo by Anton Chernyavskiy on Unsplash

“Hi Marky-Mark! What brings you in today?”

“Hi Dr. Fin. Thank you for seeing me. I just feel really sad and down in the dumps.”

“It’s okay, Marky. We all have bad days sometimes. Why don’t you Just take a deep gulp in and start from the beginning.”

Marky-Mark swallowed the water slowly and began. “Well, Dr. Fin, I don’t think anyone likes me.”

“What on sea would ever make you think that Marky?”

“Well, I’ve been having some crazy encounters lately with other fish. I don’t know if you can even call them “encounters”. It was like they couldn’t get away from me fast enough.”

“Oh, Marky, I think it’s all just in your head. I think you’re making up some stories again, my dear shark friend.”

“But Dr. Fin, I most certainly am not. Let me tell you about my day. I think you’ll see that it’s not just me.”

Dr. Fin deeply sighed and smirked. “Alright Marky-Mark. Please, tell me about your day.”

“Okay, so it was a beautiful start to my day. I was merrily swimming along my happy little way. The sunrays on the rippling water made the ocean bed glow. The sea weeds were peacefully swaying in the flowing current. I couldn’t help but smile.”

“That sounds very nice, Marky. What’s the problem then?”

“Well, that’s when it started. I was smiling and I looked up to see a stingray. I widen my smile. I really wanted to make a new friend, and then I said, ‘Hi!’ and that stingray tried to stab me with his butt-sword! At first, I was in complete and total shock! How dare they?! I just wanted to make a new friend. I tried to shrug it off and just swim away.”

“I see how that can be upsetting. Maybe you scared the stingray. Maybe he just didn’t know you were there.”

“Yeah, I guess that’s possible, but then it happened again. Well, not the same, but sort of. I started to swim in the same direction I was going, but I happened to look down because something caught my eye. I saw a beautiful star. I thought maybe it fell from the night sky. I put on my best smile and said, ‘Hey little buddy! Did you fall from the sky last night?’ The star went poof! It was vanished in a cloud of sand. Again, I was alone.”

“Well, maybe the star has magical powers?”

“Hmm… I never thought about that, but my day didn’t end there. After searching for the star for a few more minutes I carried on my journey. Up ahead I saw a jelly! I had never saw a jelly before, and I had a burning question that I just had to ask. I put on my best smile and swam on over. I said, ‘Hey! Is it true that peanut butter taste good with jelly?’ The jelly didn’t say a word. It simply lifted its tentacle. I thought it wanted a high-five, but when I went to give the jelly a nice smack, it stung me and darted away! I was almost in tears by now. This is where I started to think maybe it’s not them, but it’s me.”

Tears started to weld up in Marky-Mark’s eyes.

“There! There! It’s okay, Marky. Pull yourself together.”

“Oh, but Dr. Fin, it still doesn’t end there. So, I swam along yet again, this time not so happily, but then I saw a creature with eight legs. Eight legs! I just had to know what this creature was. I put on my biggest smile yet, and then I swam on over to this strange looking thing. Before I could even open my mouth to say a single word, this odd-looking creature inks all over me and then it glides away. Who does that?!”

“Marky, I think I may be catching on to the problem here,” Dr. Fin said with a kind smile.

“What’s that Dr. Finn?”

Before Dr. Fin could answer, a large black shadow casted upon them. Nervously, both sharks looked up to see a big, no, not big, a huge, nope, not huge either, but a ginormous whale! It was at least the size of a bus!

Dr. Finn and Marky-Mark started to shiver and shake. The whale started to widen its smile. It had huge, white, sharp teeth, but before it could say a single word, Dr. Fin and Marky-Mark each let out a terrified scream as they disappeared into the sea.

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Cassandra Grimes

(: I'm a wife, mother, student, and children's author :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.