Fiction logo

Many Many Pieces of Chocolate Cake

Darkness Chocolate

By Gary LougheedPublished 3 years ago Updated 9 months ago 8 min read
1
A Darkness Chocolate Story by just another baker....

Strands of Christmas lights hung eternally across Art Town. Christmas everyday-land guided the people of Art Town, lights illuminating their gifts, brightening their nightfall, and crisping their outdoor patios. It was important to believe in Christmas everyday-land, because it was better than believing in no-never-cake land.

Our bakery was named “Darkness Chocolate” Dim and I’s’ultimate creation, centuries of disguise allowed us to study the human digestion mechanism, two tablespoons of this, four cups of that, and eight cups of you’ll never guess. Our business was worked into one glimpse of time, a moment that placed us at the ripe age of chocolate madness. We had gone chocolate mad long before the proper time, but rules were rules, and darkness meant darkness….

Smells from the bakery twisted throughout the air, streams of cinnamon would glance a nose, then vanilla would trickle it with a tickle, a finishing storm would blitz sensations of coffee and chocolate, sniff, sniff, and more unguessable smells would occur.

The bakery's doors were always nearly sealed shut. We, I mean Dim and I, genuinely didn’t like customers and Dim borderline hated them... Therefore! We attempted to keep the smell from street-leaking. Yes, street-leaking.

“ The store's leaking smell again! “ Dim said.

The cinnamon was escaping, the vanilla went missing, and a silly girl customer entered the store. Her outfit was a demonstration of personality, her wearings included a fuzzy raccoon hat and a big poofy jacket with black yoga leggings.

“ Mwahahaha “ I produced a sinister laugh, it was a quiet laugh that was meant to alert Dim.

“ Should we make an ominous tone as she approaches? “

“ No no no, it’ll give it away. “ I finished the gentle joke.

Her nose wiggled, crinkled, and sneezed.

“ Wow, what are these smells! “ She recovered from the eruption.

“ Darkness chocolate, the type that is so tasty it takes the taste away. The lumps of it would smoosh around a girl’s mouth... causing the taste to bring the tongue to amnesia. " I, the mad baker, whispered all these things to myself.

Then I slammed both hands down onto the cashier counter.

" I hella hate muffins. " I wisped like a whisper.

" Excuse me? What are you whispering? " the girl with the newly surprised nose politely asked.

“He gets like that, our apologies. That’s how good the chocolate is here. “ A cute-boy chef wobbled out of the kitchen door carrying a five-foot-tall cake. His legs struggled, he could not step backward but had to move forward, and with a right swing and a left plump the cake's gravity would bend the chef's knee. There was a chef tunnel hat that had stayed slightly bent and hung without disruption from his capped head. Then Dim kicked me in the calf on his way to the back counter and said, “ Shhh, kitchen whisperer. “ Air and cake batter gusted out as he dropped the cake safely onto the countertop.

Looking past Dim the girl could see a dynamic and sort of eccentric cake building process. Cake materium was routed from bowls of chocolate goop to the oven, then to the plate, then hopefully to the girl's mouth. She would gobble every slice the two bakers were to cook. A darker piece from myself, and then another slice of lighter milk chocolate cake from Dim. She would be smart enough to say, “ No Sirs, I would like to only have one more slice. '' But Dim and I’s nature was to playfully convince our delightfully well-adjusted girl to eat more and more cake. She was after all there to deliver us her voice and mouth. With a hellish fervor we baked and baked and baked....

Ovens lit with monstrous roars, ceramic bricks with bits of Dim’s flesh molted onto them from the times he would bump into the oven’s exasperated heat. I’d always tip my stylish cute cool boy cap at him when he would get hurt in the kitchen. Dim and I shared the same nightmare, but it was time for us both to settle down.

The young girl completed her approach to the glass display case. A sliver of the window was the only barrier between a slippery art town hand and our small cakerations, otherwise known as cake creations, the kind we felt overly confident about. Chocolate strawberries were gathered alongside many desserts within the chilling glass chamber. The type of strawberries that had white enriched chocolate drizzled in cursive writting upon them. Lastly, there was a shelf, just a normal shelf… except it was lined with one hundred identical double fist-sized Chocolate Cakes.

This particular girl raised a few warm polite words.

“Excuse me, but I heard that there are three rules here? But I don’t see any? And I do not know what that even means.” The bake-cakery remained silent for a few more moments.

“ There! “ Dim and I shouted and pointed to the farthest wall.

“ That really small note by the Portrait? “ she squiented then finished.

We shuffled our silence around, moving the bakery around, then continued to ignore her, we were basically shrugging her away.

When the young girl reached the note, she began to read the note as another person entered the Darkness Chocolate parlor. A ringing, a beauty-sound ricochetted around and with squinted eyes the young girl read the incredibly small letters written in cursive.

1. There will be no using your fingers to eat the chocolate cake. It’s just gross.

2. There must be a way to eat the whole slice in one bite, or else, it isn’t cool enough. Dim and I demand coolness.

3. There must be no crying around the chocolate. It’s upsetting.

There, those are the three there rules, please follow them

Thank you,

Sincerely,

Dim and I

P.S. All rule-breakers must report to the ovens for extra cake slice baking.

“ Excuse me again, but what’s your name!? “ she shouted across the warm-lit bakery.

“ He doesn’t have a name, lady! “ Dim shouted back towards the young girl.

So I replied, “ What’s yours? “ she was midway back to the glass casing, she was returning from her rule reading.

“ Stacy. '' she hrrumphed.

“ Here’s your slice of Darkness. Stacy“

The cake slice slid across the counter.

“ Enjoy. “ Dim said with a sinister smile.

“ Mwahahhaha “ I continued.

She had raised the darkness to eye level, “ Uuumm, is this safe to eat? “ a concern had risen from the girl.

“ Oh yes, Stacy, very safe. “ Dim continued with evil finger motions.

“ Well, alright I guess I’ll go sit down now. “ Stacy walked away.

She sat alone at a table with a white tablecloth in a very empty, very big, and very nearly empty bakery.

Three broken rules later…

“ I’m sorry! I can’t follow any of these rules! “ Stacy’s fingers were covered in chocolate, it looked like a toddlers' disaster. Only half the cake slice was fitted into her mouth, and her blossom(blouse) was covered in the darkness…

In a fit of tears, she rushed for the door, but the door was locked shut.

In unison, my friend Dim and I spoke…

“ We told you to follow the rules, Stacy. “

“ Yeah, we even said Sincerely. “

Dim and I finished the haunting.

“ Please, I can’t help you make another cake slice! I’m so embarrassed… “ She broke down at the door and folded her chocolate cake hands over her river streams, caking her face with delicious cream.

“ Well, I can always hold you upside down aaaaaaand.... Dim could feed you more cake.” I paused while she started to cry some giggles of tearful confusion.

“ Whaa… What? Upside down? “

“ Yeah, you're right she doesn’t look full at all. “ Dim concluded with eagerness for the proposed trial.

I crouched down by Stacy and began to pat her back, “ There there, no need to cry.“

“ There's supposed to be three theres! '' Dim shouted at my teasing attempt to calm her down.

“ Look, there is one rule you broke. “ I grabbed her hands and started to wipe the cake off with a nice fancy napkin.

“ No using the fancy towels! “ Dim infuriated his yell over the glass counter.

“ There is the second rule you broke. “ I gently pushed some more cake into her mouth with two fingers. My fingers were tickled by her soft lips, she could’ve snapped her teeth down.

“Hheeeyyy,,,,!!” Her cheeks expanded as the cake whirled into the blushing bubbles. Her mouth absorbed a salty taste made from friendly fingers and a unique stir made that cake twist.

“ See now that's more like one bite. “ I smiled while continuing to wipe the chocolate cake off her fingers.

“ Now, do you want me to hold you upside down? Or do you want to help us bake another cake?”

“ She broke all three rules! She’s not allowed near the oven! “ Dim snapped the cutting board across the counter. WHAP!!!

Dim sighed, “ I broke another one… “

“ Stacy! “ Dim yelled and started to walk out from around the counter.

“ Please no! No! Dim! I’m so sorry! “

Dim sighed… looking disappointed… “ Stacy, do you want a job here? “

“ What a job? “ Stacy was still confused and drenched in a half clean-up.

“ Yup you already have a job here. “ I chirped.

“ You're right, I think she’s been working here for a hundred years. “ Dim continued.

“ Yeah Stacy! You can start today! “

“ I… I… guess… “

“ Great! But you still can’t stand near the ovens. “

“ Kay, let's get you upside down. “

“ Uuummm… “

“ Just do it already! “ Dim said while now being bored.

Just like that Stacy was flipped upside down and dangling by my two hands. I was like a magician removing a tablecloth from a fancy table, successfully not breaking any dishes or a Stacy.

“ Just don’t break the rules again, Stacy.” Dim walked away

“ And Mr. Colossus... mind bringing her over to the ovens. “ Dim added.

“ But I thought I wasn’t allowed near the ovens? “ Stacy was cleaned up and any remaining crumbs dripped small droplets off of her, she was swaying back and forth.

“ No no. Dim said, ‘no’ standing near them, Stacy. You will be dangling near them, completely different. “

We walked behind the counter, broken cutting board fragments were still on the ground.

“ Kay, throw her in. “ Dim was ready to witness the darkness...

“ No please don’t! “

I then threw Stacy into the oven…. Just kidding... I would never throw Stacy into an oven...

A Darkness Chocolate Story by just another baker

Humor
1

About the Creator

Gary Lougheed

If you enjoy my tales, please show your support by leaving a comment, clicking the heart, or even a tip! Thank you for reading more!

"While I thought that I was learning how to live, I have been learning how to die." - Leonardo da Vinci

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.