Fiction logo

Mama told Me not to come

How different things were

By Gillian Lesley ScottPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
5
Annie Pratt Unsplash

Mama told me not to come

Look I know you will judge me. But I feel you always knew that I wasn’t a shy shrinking violet, well actually I kinda was; but only because I didn’t know what I was doing. And it was incredibly important that I KNEW exactly what I was doing. I had to be good.

It’ll probably seem strange to the younger people nowadays, but it’s something I need to convey to them and to you, Mama. I need them to know how different the times were, I need you to know I didn’t behave like a strumpet as papa would say… but to get good at anything, you have to practice. He’s say that too.

I think you understood ..that’s why you always tried to make sure I had a friend with me, I know you didn’t want to control me or stop me living my life. I guess you took the view that you’d ask me no questions so I would never have to tell you lies.

But you knew. you knew that these times were I can’t think of a better way of putting it, steeped in sex, sex as enjoyment as a “sport” if you will. . .

From the magazines on the top shelf, to the leering “comedy” programmes on tv the women’s magazines ensuring that you know the important stuff like “how to please your man” and “orgasm: the ultimate how to guide”. You think I’m joking? Mama probably you wouldn’t have read this stuff, but you knew.

I know people today won’t get it but I was late in getting a boyfriend, yes back in the 70s 15 was late. Of course we all knew how to snog that had been happening since primary school. Remember that school trip to France? Ever single person paired up and snogged all the way home on the bus, except me, there was no one who wanted me. Except Pongo… lacking in self belief as I was I was still had some pride, and I needed a spark … so, no I sat by myself and waited, that’s not to say I didn’t want to join in.

Mistletoe at Christmas was my way in. A kiss, quite a passionate one was not a big deal in those days… but like all of that stuff I had to be good, the best… people would say “ she looks like nothing but I’ve heard she kisses like you are the last boy on earth..with an enthusiasm that is hard to match”.And with the right spark, that was certainly true.

Anyway I’m getting off the point Mama. I just never told you how I felt I wasn’t good at anything…

so surely I could be good at sex, pleasing myself and them….

I had to know what to do and somewhere along the line. I forgot about it being an emotional deal… an energetic exchange of such power it could make you behave in ways that were crazy … that made no sense at all.

It could be destructive, it could be fun it could lead one to regret, to get hurtful …to be hurt, to mess up. To leave even when leaving looked insane from the outside looking in.

I don’t know what past life burdens I was carrying, or why this was so important to me.

I’m just so glad that my now elderly invisibility means that it does not matter, it probably never did. But to me for a while it really did.

The male gaze is not for me anymore and I’m grateful that I still have you mama.

You tried to tell me not to go there but I did ….with a vengeance. You told me not to go to the parties and gatherings or go with the intention of staying in the background. I didn’t listen to you but it was the times…. it was supposed to be freedom but was it? I’m done. I’m over it all

And now I’m truly free.

Short Story
5

About the Creator

Gillian Lesley Scott

Scots born Australian. Tales of being human. Despite aiming for the highest good of all, not always successful

https://www.instagram.com//gillesleyscott//

https://www.facebook.com/gillian.l.scott

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments

Gillian Lesley Scott is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.