Fiction logo

Making Waves

Eli meets Ren

By Kelly BelmontPublished about a year ago 15 min read
1

Sweat was already pooling under his collar as Eli adjusted his tie.

15 minutes late, he thought looking at his watch. And this after the airline had lost his suitcase. This trip was not off to a good start.

This was the fourth resort the director had sent him to scout out for the company retreat and each trip proved to be worse than the last. Plumbing problems, bed bugs, there had even been crime scene tape across the entrance of the last place. In three visits, Eli hadn’t made it past check-in.

Resort number four had seemed more promising: verified reviews on their website and independent travel sites, updated pictures, and prompt communications from the resort’s manager. They even offered complimentary airport pick-up service. But now it was 20 minutes past his scheduled pick-up time and Eli was drenched in sweat with only his carry-on.

Just as he pulls out his phone to call the resort, a rusty Jeep sped up to the curb. It was teal or had been once, before sea breeze, rust and time had dulled it.

“Sorry I’m late,” a voice boomed over the rattling motor. “The regular shuttle van wouldn’t start, so I figured since it was just one guest, I’d use my Jeep.”

Before Eli could respond, the man behind the wheel jumped out of the vehicle. He was a full head taller than Eli, his tan skin making his wide smile shine that much brighter.

“Let me get your bags,” he said looking around to see only the carry-on and briefcase in Eli’s hand. “No luggage?”

“Airline lost it,” he huffed.

"Oh, bummer. Hopefully, it's just delayed, but I can run you into town if you want to pick up a few things until it gets here.

Eli shook his head. “I’m fine. Let’s just get to the resort.”

“Sure thing.” The muscular man held open the passenger-side door, then closed it once Eli had climbed into the cracked leather seat.

Eli squinted his eyes against the wind and sun as they drove. “I have some shades you can use if you want.” The larger man said pointing to the dash. “They’re in the glove compartment in front of you.”

“I’m fine.”

“You sure? These roads can kick up a lot of dust. I’d hate for you to get something in your eye.”

“I said I’m fine,” he snapped.

Eli crossed his arms over his chest, resting his briefcase on his knees. He knew the driver was just offering good customer service, but he wasn’t in any mood to be schmoozed. When they reached the resort, Eli’s eyes watered to the brink of tears. They felt gritty and dry despite the moisture collecting on his dark lashes.

Unexpectedly, a bandana appeared before him. His eyes wandered from the tanned hand that offered it to the still-smiling face of the driver.

“Go ahead,” he beamed. “It’s clean, I promise.” Eli snatched it quickly and patted his eyes before shoving it back to the man. “Keep it. I’ve got more,” he said pulling an elastic band from his wrist to secure his light brown hair in a loose bun at the base of his neck. “Let’s get you settled in. I’m sure you’re ready to relax.”

“I’m not here to relax,” Eli said forcing his gaze away from the man’s muscular arms with a blush. “I’m here to work. I’m supposed to assess this place for our company retreat.”

“Oh, I know,” the man said leading the way to the entrance. “I just figured you’d relax a little while you were at it. I mean, this is a tropical resort.”

“I’ll relax when my work is done. Work comes first.”

“Haven’t you heard? All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.” The man chuckled.

“Well,” Eli said with a huff. “All work and no play makes Eli a VP before 40. I’ll have you know that at 38 I’m the youngest VP in the history of U.K.E.”

“Hmmm, look at that. We’re the same age.”

"See, a little less play and you could be a manager instead of a shuttle driver."

The man chuckles again.

Eli felt his face flush with heat and couldn’t decide if it was frustration or…

“What’s so funny?”

“Manager, huh? Me?”

“You’d be surprised. Anything is possible if you put your mind to it.” He wasn’t sure why he felt the need to give the man career and life advice. He wasn’t sure why he felt compelled to talk this much at all. “Speaking of which,” Eli said returning to his task. “I’m supposed to meet with the manager. Will you let Mr. Anders know I’m here?”

"Oh, he knows." There was the chuckle again.

“He knows?”

"Yep. Knew the second you walked into the building. Before that actually."

A realization washed over Eli suddenly as he sheepishly met the man’s gaze. “Lawrence Anders,” he asked.

“You can call me Ren.” He shrugged. “Everyone does.”

From their many emails, Eli had imagined Lawrence Anders as a middle-aged balding man in a suit, maybe a golf shirt and khakis. He'd been so prompt and professional with his correspondences, more so than any of the other resort managers he'd dealt with. So how could this mountain of muscle in flip flops, cargo shorts, and a hideous brightly patterned shirt be the same man he'd spoken with?

“And you’re Eli York,” he continued unaware of Eli’s internal confusion. “It’s nice to finally put a face with the name. I have to say, I was expecting someone older.”

“So was I!” Eli practically shouted.

There was that damn chuckle again. "It's the name, right? I've never met a guy my age named Lawrence. It was my granddad's name." Ren moved behind the desk and started to type. "Here is your key," he said finally. "As requested, I have you in one of our standard rooms. All of the rooms for your company retreat will be identical to this one. If you’re ready, I’ll show you to your room.”

“You,” Eli questioned. “Do you do everything around here? Don’t you have a bellhop or concierge or something?”

"Usually," Ren said leading the way to the elevator. "You're catching us at the end of tourist season. Starting in Autumn, we cut our staff size to save cost. Since you were the only guest checking in today, I gave the rest of the crew the morning off. They’ll be here in time to get lunch ready. And we’ll bring in the full staff for your company retreat.”

As the elevator slowly climbed, Eli’s eyes were once again drawn to the man. His horrible, brightly patterned shirt stretched across his broad shoulders. One exaggerated movement and it would probably be ripped at the seams. A few wispy curls had wrestled free from his bun and hung to frame his chiseled, tan face. Eli felt a tiny flutter in his chest before the ding of the elevator snapped him back into the moment.

“I put you in a beach view room,” Ren said leading him down the hall. “Just be sure to close the blackout curtains when you go to bed, or else you’ll wake up with a face full of sun the next morning.”

“I’m usually up before sunrise anyway.”

“Even on vacation?” Eli started to protest. “I know. I know. Not a vacation. Still,” he pled as they reached the end of the hall, “try to enjoy yourself a little while you’re here. I’m pretty sure it makes me a failure as host if you don’t.”

“I’ll try.”

“That’s all I ask,” Ren said smiling. “Well, I’ll leave you to get settled. Lunch will be set up in the dining area from noon to 3 pm. If you need anything, let me know.” He pulled a worn, misshaped business card out of his pocket. "My cell’s written on the back, call or text me anytime. I can even show you around later if you want.”

Eli stood in stunned silence as the door closed behind him. He stared at the card in his hand. Ren had given him his number, his personal number. The butterflies in his stomach felt more like pterodactyls and he didn’t need to look in the mirror to know that his pale skin was flushed pink up to his ears.

Calm down, he told himself. It’s totally professional. It’s just good customer service. “Get it together, Eli. Now is not the time for a stupid crush!”

He tried to calm himself as he looked around the room. It was just as nice as the pictures, but still, he set his overnight bag and briefcase on the bathroom floor before checking the bed. Fifteen minutes later, Eli had scanned the whole room for pests and other issues. He was pleasantly surprised to find it in near-perfect condition. It only took a moment to unpack his overnight bag. Though he was thankful he had all his toiletries, he hoped the airline would deliver his luggage soon.

Freshened up and settled in, Eli eyed the business card on the nightstand. He’d spent the last hour thinking about Ren’s offer. He probably should get a tour of the resort for his evaluation, but it still felt too forward to use the man’s personal number. The thought made his heart race and his stomach twist. He reached for the card, then hesitated. Running his hands through his neat black hair, he took a deep breath. Eventually, he decided to head down for lunch in hopes of seeing him on the way.

"If you're not busy later," he practiced in the empty elevator, "how about that tour? No that sounds like a pick-up line. Gotta keep it professional.”

The doors opened to reveal a scene different from before. The lobby was still mostly empty, but a dull murmur of voices and silverware on plates filled the room. The smell of food hit him as soon as he stepped off the elevator. Eli hadn’t realized how hungry he was until his mouth started to water at the smell.

The dining area was a large open room with a buffet on one side, a wall of storm shutters currently opened to a massive patio on the other side, and dozens of tables peppered in between. People gathered all around the room. A family with small children squealed at one table, playing more than eating. A group of twenty-somethings, all in sunglasses, sat silently slumped over their plates holding their heads as they ate. The most common site, however, was the half a dozen or so couples around the room. Some were more secluded and more entangled than others, but most all radiated a simple bliss that Eli couldn’t help but envy.

His brown eyes scanned the room for Ren, but he was nowhere to be found. More disappointed than he wanted to admit, Eli made his way to the buffet. Everything looked so good. A spread of freshly caught seafood, chicken, beef, and an array of vibrant fruits and vegetables. If every meal was like this, he and his coworkers would be leaving the retreat a few pounds heavier.

He ate in silence, eyes constantly searching for that hideous shirt. By the time he’d finished, he still hadn’t seen Ren.

He tipped the young woman who cleared his plate from the table as he stood. She thanked him with a wide smile and a nod of her head. “Ma’am,” he said suddenly, “is Mr. Anders around?”

“Mr. Anders?” She looked confused for a moment. “Oh! You mean Ren! He ran to town for a bit, but he should be back soon. Want me to let him know you were looking for him?”

“No…no!” He stammered. “It’s fine. I just…he’d mentioned something about showing me around earlier, I was going to see if the offer still stood.”

“I’m sure it does. Ren loves to show off the place. I’ll let him know you were looking for him, Mr…..”

"York," he answered. "Eli. But really, don't bother. I'm sure he's busy. I'll just wander around a little on my own."

The woman smiled. “Well, if you need anything just ask, any of the staff will be glad to help.”

The patio to the back of the dining area was huge. There were a dozen or more tables, these with large shade umbrellas. It was flanked on one side by a crystal blue pool surrounded by cabanas and a boardwalk that Eli assumed led to the resort's private beach. He could already hear the crash of waves in the distance.

Eying the crowd at the pool, he decided to check out the beach. Only a short walk away, the beach was outfitted with its own cabanas, lounge chairs, umbrellas, and even volleyball pits. The sand was white as snow and looked just as soft. It darkened only slightly at the shore where teal blue waters crashed against it.

The cool sea breeze felt good against his skin. For not the first time today, Eli regrated wearing a suit. He'd removed his tie in the room, but he still felt his black suit jacket baking under the afternoon sun. Mindlessly, he pulls something out of his pocket to wipe his face and flinches as he realizes it's Ren's bandana. He tried not to blush as he shoved the red cloth back into his pocket.

He walked a little further down the beach until he reached the end of the private section. Beyond the barrier, the public beach bustled with activity despite the late season. Eli noted how, despite the only slight distance, the beach looked so different. The sand looked coarse, and trash littered the shore. The roar of people and blaring music drowned out the sound of the waves. It only took a moment for Eli to decide he liked the private beach much more. Someone on the beach shot off a string of firecrackers as if signaling to him that it was time to go back to the peace and tranquility of the resort.

His head swam as he made his way back up the beach. His jacket was drenched in sweat. Even if he took it off at this point, he’d already sweated through his shirt. He shamelessly pulled out Ren’s bandana and wiped his brow. Not far now, he told himself as he passed the volleyball pits. His breath became labored. He needed a cold drink. He needed shade.

“Eli!” A voice called ahead of him. He looked up to see Ren jogging toward him, his signature smile missing. “Are you okay? You’re all red. Why would you come out with that jacket still on!?”

“Airline lost my luggage, remember?”

"I told you we could get you some clothes in town. Come on, get this jacket off."

“I’m fine,” he insisted, despite the sway in his steps.

“You’re not fine.” He reached out to steady him. “Your face is beet red. You’re sweating buckets. You’re gonna drop dead of heatstroke!”

“I’m fine.” He said pulling his shoulder free from Ren’s grip. “I just need to get inside and have a drink of water.”

Ren said something. Eli could hear it; he just couldn't understand it. The sound muffled like his head had been dunked underwater. A moment later, the world tilted, then went black.

He woke to the whirr of a fan and the feeling of it blowing across his face. His eyes felt heavy, but he finally forced them open and found himself staring at a wooden ceiling. He tried to remember where he was and why, but nothing came to him. As he slowly sat up, a damp washcloth fell from his forehead.

“You’re awake!”

He hadn’t known Ren for long, but Eli never wanted to hear his voice like that ever again. It was heavy with fear and worry. He didn’t dare look at his face, afraid of not seeing that smile. He swallowed, throat and mouth impossibly dry. As if he’d read his mind, Ren hurried over with a glass of water. Eli downed it at once.

“Easy! You’ll make yourself sick.” He poured another glass from a pitcher next to the bed. “Sip this one slowly.”

Eli took a sip, lubricating his still dry throat. “Where am I? What happened?”

“You fainted. I told you that you’d get heatstroke in that jacket. Your shirt was sopping wet.”

Eli looked down at the mention of his clothes and saw for the first time that the clothes he had on weren’t his.

“What the!?” He shot up straight in the bed.

“Calm down. It was quicker to bring you to my place than to try and get you all the way back to your room. Mine may be a little big, but you needed to cool down.”

A neon green shirt hung over Eli like a tent. The black shorts would have been just as loose if it weren’t for the drawstring waist. Panicked Eli pulled back the waistband to see his own boxer briefs.

“I left those,” Ren reassured him. “I’m not some kind of weirdo.”

“I…You….” Eli blushed. “I know you’re not.” He finally managed. “Thank you. I’m sorry to be so much trouble.”

"It's no trouble," he said, the smile slowly returning to his face.

“Aren’t you going to be in trouble with your boss? I don’t want you to lose your job because of me.”

“Don’t worry about that.”

“No really. I can go back to my room and rest. You need to get back to work.”

“I said it’s fine. Don’t worry.”

“But your boss…”

“I’m the boss,” Ren interrupted.

“What do you mean you’re the boss? You’re the manager, right?”

“Manager…and owner. I own the resort.”

Eli blinked in confusion. “You…own…the resort? The whole thing? You?”

Ren nodded. “Surprise. So, you see, you don’t need to worry about me getting in trouble with my boss,” he smirked, “cause I don’t have one.”

“Oh,” Eli said in shock. “that’s…that’s good. But still, I don’t want to take you away from your work. I know you’re probably busy.”

“I have staff to take care of things, my priority right now is you. How are you feeling?”

“Thirsty.” He said honestly. “And my head hurts.”

Ren handed him a couple of Tylenol. “The headache can hang around for a few hours, but this should help.” He downed the pills and drained the rest of the glass of water before sitting it on the bedside table. “You know,” Ren chuckled, “you’re kinda small for a guy who works for a fitness company.”

“What?”

“U.K.E., it’s a fitness company, right? Universal Kinetic Enterprise? I googled it when you first started emailing about the retreat.”

“Yeah, and?”

“Well, I just figured someone who worked for a fitness company would be more…fit.”

Eli stammered. “I…I…I work in operations.” He folded his arms across his chest, pink spreading down his neck and to the tips of his ears.

“I’m kidding,” He chuckled. “You’re not that small.”

“Says the man whose t-shirt hangs on me like a circus tent.”

Ren shrugged. “Everyone’s built differently. I've had a wide frame since I was a kid. Looked weird to be that broad with no muscle, so I bulked up. You're lean and slender. It suits you." Despite the thinly veiled complement, the pout remained on Eli's face. "Come on. I was joking.” He chuckled. “Besides, it’s kind of cute seeing how big my clothes are on you.”

Eli’s throat went dry again for a whole new reason. Ren had just called him cute. Or had he? Technically he said seeing him in his big shirt was cute, but that meant he was cute, right? His mind swirled with hope and doubt. He couldn’t hear anything but his heart pounding in his ears. And he didn’t notice Ren leaning in until his lips brushed his cheek.

“I can see the wheels turning in your head." He said leaning in further. "I'll put it plainly, so you don’t misunderstand. I think you’re cute and I’d like to get to know you better…if that’s okay with you.”

“That…I…”

Ren retreated slightly. “I mean I know we only just met. You’re only here for a few days and you’ve got work today. And I know you said work comes first but…”

This time Eli’s lips pressed against Ren’s.

“I’d love to,” he said. “Get to know you, I mean.”

Ren’s smiled wider than Eli had ever seen. “Really?”

“Really,” Eli said. “Once I finish my work, of course.

“Of course,” Ren chuckled. “Work comes first.”

Two months later the resort buzzed with activity as it welcomed the employees of U.K.E for their annual company retreat. Eli stood on the patio watching people wander toward the beach. Suddenly a pair of large arms wrapped around his waist and a chin retested on top of his head.

"You look comfy," Ren said tenderly.

“Yeah. I figured after last time a suit would be a bad idea.” He turned and faced Ren, showing off his khaki shorts and light blue linen shirt. “You like it?”

Ren nodded. “You fit right in.”

“Good. Can’t have your new manager sticking out like a sore thumb, can we?”

“No,” he said placing a kiss on Eli’s forehead. “No, we can’t.”

Short StoryLove
1

About the Creator

Kelly Belmont

I have been writing for more than 20 years. Fantasy, Mystery, Romance, Children's, YA, Adult. I've dabbled in a bit of everything. My daily life is spent as a wife and training coordinator for a finacial institution.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.