Fiction logo

Magic Mirror on the Wall

A short story

By John DodgePublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Magic Mirror on the Wall
Photo by Tuva Mathilde Løland on Unsplash

The Mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. Of course, it doesn't do that no matter how many times I look. All the mirror ever shows me is her.

It's been months since I sent that petulant Huntsman to make some sport out of her, and all I have to show for it is two hearts that aren't hers. I had hoped that he would have fun with it all, or at least return with what I sent him to retrieve. NO. He came back sniveling and whinging about her still being a child.

I made it clear from the start that she was a young woman of a certain age who posed a threat to the throne, and that if he valued his Queen's reign he would be right to do what was asked. That if he was an honorable man he would accept the task as it were without question. That he would be forever in the good graces of the most esteemed woman across this fabled land. And he was quick to agree.

So off he went into the woods and here I stayed in my rightful place, and in two weeks' time he returned with the lovely vessel I had so generously provided. But what did I find when I opened the vessel to gaze upon the prize I had spent so much time and money on acquiring? Why nothing less than the desiccated heart of what was no doubt an equally desiccated fawn.

And so I had to wrench out his heart and stuff it into the vessel as well.

Then there was the next one. He was better. He at least understood the severity of the situation. He was willing to do what needed to be done. And yet when he reached his quarry, that same gusto with which he accepted my offer melted away. Something about her being truly innocent or some other nonsense. It seemed as if he would never stop mewling as much no matter how hard I carve into his chest.

I really didn't want to have to get the army involved, but there are things that must be done if the throne is to be secure. This the General understood. He proved as much when he set about carving a path through the forest with his men. Fifty of the kingdom's finest, all there to ensure that none of them would return should they wane in their service to their majesty. All there to ensure that this time my vessel returned safe and sound and filled with exactly what I have wanted ever since she stepped into the place where my reflection ought to be.

I couldn't believe it when the General returned after nary a week, vessel in hand, no less. But then he showed me that it was empty. He asked me to look to the horizon. He implored me to gaze upon the plumes of smoke rising from the flames that were set when his men turned on one another. He begged me to let him take three hundred more to quell them before the entire forest was consumed.

He choked on some other vapid request as my hand made its way through his ribcage.

Now that I can see how far the flames have spread, however, it crosses my mind that maybe I was too harsh on the General. Certainly, the farmers won't be happy, nor will whoever is set to take up the General's place now that he is so dearly departed. Yet my kingdom will flourish once the flames have been quenched, and quenched they will be all in due time.

Even if the Mirror still only shows me her reflection, the flames have been upon her for some time already. I can see it in her face. Little kisses of hot, burning death glinting off what is left of her burning flesh. Soon enough, the Mirror will declare that once again I am the fairest. The people will be able to rejoice knowing their Queen is exactly who they need me to be.

They will know that all of this was for them.

Horror
1

About the Creator

John Dodge

He/Him/Dad. Writing for CBR daily. Follow me on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram for assorted pop culture nonsense. Posting the comic book panels I fall in love with daily over here. Click here if you want to try Vocal+ for yourself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.