Fiction logo

Lucy's keeper

Sometimes a package can turn into a prison.

By S.R.BPublished about a year ago 10 min read
Like
Lucy's keeper
Photo by TheMIS Photography on Unsplash

Is this the life I thought I would be living?

No, absolutely not.

And before you get the wrong idea, this is not a fairytale. My life didn't turn out for the better. I may be partial however, I expect most people would agree this is the worst outcome for anyone.

I remember it all, the last day I felt free, holding on so, I don't lose hope of one day escaping this living hell. It was mid-summer. The sun was beating down hard on my shoulders yet, a breeze was hitting just perfectly. I sat in our old hayfield that overlooked the farmhouse and the barns, twisting loose pieces of hay between my fingers…

It had been 3 months since my grandpa passed, leaving the farm in my hands. I was hiding from the house phone. Luke, my older brother, left a voicemail…again, reminding me of how much I was a failure and a disappointment to the family. His voice echoed in my head:

Lucy, you're a girl, barely an adult. You have no right to the farm.

Look at it, you're just letting it crumble. Grandpa would be rolling over in his grave.

If you just sign it over to me, no one will think of you as a failure. We all agree grandpa wasn't in his right mind when he signed it to you.

He was so damn righteous. As though it was my fault our grandpa wanted me to have to farm. Hell, he probably blames me for his passing. Like I controlled who he thought deserved it. I’m not going to apologize, I was here when things got hard. I didn’t see Luke anywhere. Was he here begging to help with the work or the repairs?

No. He was off living his life. Yet, he can’t admit to his own downfalls.

“It’s not that bad…just needs a good paint job and some…slight repairs.” I said to myself as I squinted down at the house with wood falling off the side, a barn about to collapse. I shuddered at the thought of watching it all fall down.

Pulling me from my thoughts, a white object flew past my head.

“Holy shit!”

My eyes darted back and forth trying to relocate where the random flying object went, when I spotted it, a drone swooping towards my front steps. I took off running down the hill trying to catch it before it flew off and failed miserably.

Out of breath, I finally reached the front steps and stared, puzzled at the package, a wooden crate about the size of a box of shoes.

“Is the post office suddenly too old-fashioned for people nowadays?” I examined the wooden crate but found no label. Nothing identifying who it was from.

I began to pry open the crate and paused, “What do they say? Curiosity killed the cat?” I paused for a second weighing my odds and shrugged it off as I resumed opening it. “I swear Luke if this is from you, I will drive the four hours to…What the hell…”

As I lifted the lid, I saw a picture of me, mid-laugh. It was from the other day when I was at the diner. I stared puzzling at the photo, confusion spreading across my face.

Who sends someone a picture of themselves?

I peered over my shoulder, having a haunting feeling that someone was watching. Not seeing anyone, I brushed off the feeling and turned my attention back to the crate.

I turned the photo over trying to see if it held any hints at who was behind this. A folded-up white piece of paper laid in the crate, where the photo once sat. I quickly grabbed it and unfolded it:

Dearest Lucy Lowley,

I think of you daily.

The way your green eyes glisten like wet grass and your hair moves like a burning fire.

Mostly, I dream of the day I hear your laugh and the way you use your hand to muffle it.

Until then sweetest...

"No signature? This is some sick joke." I tossed the crate and its contents off to the side and went inside to get a drink of water finding myself parched after the run down the hill.

I quickly found myself at the phone, returning the one phone call I never thought I would...Luke's.

"Well well well, look who finally came to their senses. So, little sis, ready to sign over the farm?" Luke gloated through the phone.

Ugh, instant regret.

"You are clever, you know? Hell of a way to get someone to talk to. I sure hope you don't use that tactic on the ladies."

The silence spoke more than his words. "What the hell are you getting at?" Luke's finally blurted out. "You really have lost your head, didn't you? Leaving a voicemail is pretty normal Lucy."

I debated my next words. Did he really have no idea about the package? Or was he playing dumb?

"You're saying you didn't send me something? Perhaps by a...drone?" I tapped my fingers on the counter impatiently waiting for his response.

"A drone? I hardly think that I could control a drone from four hours away. Additionally, why would I send you anything?"

Right, far be it for him to ever send me anything. How could I forget, I should be showering him with gifts or perhaps just the deed to this place and hope for his forgiveness.

As I was about to respond I heard a light tap on the front door. I jerked my head in the direction of the noise as my heart sank into my chest.

Luke wasn't playing some sick joke on me? He couldn't be at the front door now, seeing as I was on the phone with him...his house number. Who the hell sent me that package and who was here now?

"Lucy? Everything alright? Seriously, take me up on my offer, I think it would be best."

"Thanks for the concern big brother, but I have it handled." I hung up the phone with a loud clang before he could bother with another speech. I'll let him leave those on the machine.

I slowly made my way back to the front door and peered out through the glass. As I moved the curtain I came face to face with the drone. I let out a yelp and jumped back, almost losing my balance as I caught myself on the wall.

"Jesus!" I whipped the door open only to find nothing or so I thought. There, taped on the door, was another folded paper. I tore it off and slammed the door behind me, locking it.

Safely inside, I unfolded the paper to read:

Dearest Lucy Lowley,

I was most upset to see that you did not love my gift as I love you. However, I am willing to forgive the ungratefulness, understanding that you are confused as to who I am.

So let me help ease that. To answer some of your burning questions - We've met many times, always at the same spot in town. While we never spoke a word to each other we often are close by. I watch over you as a guardian angel that you so desperately need.

Do you remember me yet?

Until then my sweetest..

My heart beat rapidly in my chest. I was frozen in my place and panic froze my body.

"What kind of sick joke is someone playing?" I tore off back to the kitchen.

There is no way this isn't Luke. Even if he isn't behind it physically, he would be the only one with a sick enough mind to pull this off. His need to have this farm has gone too far, trying to scare me off. I tore the phone off its holder and dialed Luke's number.

Within seconds Luke picked up, "Two calls in one day, my my what have I done to be so lucky." Luke's voice held no amusement.

Good. We were in the same boat.

"Enough is enough Luke. I'm not giving the farm to you, Grandpa left it to me so, enough of this sick prank you're pulling. It won't work. You can't scare me off."

"Lucy, I really wish I knew what you were talking about, but as I told you before, I have no idea what you're referring to. I haven't done more than call you."

Frustration tore through me as he continued to deny it. "Rot in hell, Luke." I slammed the phone back down. I was just going to have to hold my ground. He would get tired of it eventually, right?

The house felt massive, standing alone. "I really should have gotten a dog..." I stalked off towards the fridge hoping some food would help calm my nerves.

I grabbed a plate of leftover lasagna and slumped onto the couch. Quickly after finishing the food, I dozed off.

When I woke, my blood went cold. Sitting on the coffee table in front of me was a folded piece of paper. I slowly reached for it to read its contents:

Dearest Lucy Lowley,

I was hoping by now you would figure out who I am. Perhaps even come to me. I was wrong, which angers me.

Am I so unmemorable to you? Let me ask you this:

If you never physically met someone, does that mean they are a stranger?

I would think not.

If you brushed past them, know their name, hobbies, and where they reside - does that make you close?

I think so. Yet, it appears you do not feel the same.

My patience has grown thin. I think it's time we meet again.

Until then my sweetest.

"Time we meet...again? How did they get this in my house?" I stared around as acceptance suddenly hit me, this was not Luke. This was not a joke someone was playing on me. This was real and I needed to go.

I jumped off the couch and ran towards the door. As I made my way down the hallway and out the front door, a large object hit me in the head. As I laid in the middle of the driveway, I stared up at the sky, catching a glimpse of the drone before my vision went black.

I don't remember much after the drone knocked me out. One minute I was laying in the driveway and the next I was racing down the road, tied to the passenger seat.

"Lucy, I really didn't want it to be this way. But first, you disregard my notes and then you try to run when I come to meet you?" His voice was dark and hoarse as though all the soul was ripped from him. Again, maybe I'm biased. Yet he continued, "I knew you needed a guardian angel. Look at you so...careless. I'll be that for you, you'll always be safe my sweet Lucy."

I groaned, going in and out of conciseness as we continued down the road.

****

I never got to return to the farm. It’s been 20 years now. I accepted no one is looking for me. Once he drove me past it, to see how it looked now that it was painted and thriving. I try to hold on to that, that my grandpa would be proud if he could see it. Yet, he would be heartbroken to learn of my fate.

Oh, your wondering who took me?

He never showed me his face but he calls himself Lucy’s keeper.

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

S.R.B

Hi! Glad your here. I’m just sharing what I love - my writing. Hope you enjoy ☺️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.